Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 6th August 2012, 03:34 PM
sarahslagstedt Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Helsingborg, Sweden
Posts: 48
linuxfedorafirefox
xfcs fc17 workspace switcher problems

On my Acer Aspire the workspace ****fter stops functioning after some days/weeks/months. I can't change windows. Also I can't change number of workspaces in the preferences. I can change to any number but the screen still showes 4.

When trying to to control applications (when open) by selecting from menu some applications closes the scroll menu.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 6th August 2012, 11:56 PM
ozjd Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sydney Australia
Age: 59
Posts: 2,372
linuxchrome
Re: xfcs fc17 workspace switcher problems

Try deleting the cache in ~/.cache/xfce4/
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 7th August 2012, 08:46 AM
sarahslagstedt Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Helsingborg, Sweden
Posts: 48
linuxfirefox
Re: xfcs fc17 workspace switcher problems

There is no such file or library
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 7th August 2012, 09:08 AM
ozjd Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sydney Australia
Age: 59
Posts: 2,372
linuxchrome
Re: xfcs fc17 workspace switcher problems

~/.cache/ is a hidden directory (that's what the period before the directory name means), you won't see it unless you select the Hidden files option. In Thunar go to View and select it there.

Might be a good idea to remove ~/.cache/sessions too.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 7th August 2012, 12:18 PM
sarahslagstedt Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Helsingborg, Sweden
Posts: 48
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: xfcs fc17 workspace switcher problems

I still use Nautilus by the way. Still no such file but ~/.cache/sessions now removed. Problem remains

---------- Post added at 03:18 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:44 AM ----------

Oh and there are more problems. Not possible to change size of open window and no ending an application by clicking in the right to corner 'x'.
This problem has occured at least 5 times and I have found no way out of it butto reinstall. Not a very professional way. I use the computer for navigation and I hate it when I loose my sea chart.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12th August 2012, 06:16 AM
nirik Offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Broomfield, CO
Posts: 436
macosmidori
Re: xfcs fc17 workspace switcher problems

Sounds like xfwm4 died, so you have no window manager.

If you do a 'xfwm4 --replace &' in a terminal does it come back?

Or as suggested, logout and remove the cache file and login, does it work then?

Does the problem only happen after running Nautilus?
At least in the past it used to take over the desktop when run under Xfce and caused a lot of problems like you are seeing.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2nd September 2012, 07:14 PM
sarahslagstedt Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Helsingborg, Sweden
Posts: 48
linuxfirefox
Re: xfcs fc17 workspace switcher problems

Yes it came back with 'xfwm4 --replace &'. Guess I will have to use Thunar instead of Nautilus in the future. That's a pity though as I have used Nautilus for so many years and got used to it. Thanks a lot
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2nd September 2012, 11:52 PM
secipolla Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 700
linuxfirefox
Re: xfcs fc17 workspace switcher problems

I don't use nautilus but in the past it used to have a --no-desktop option that would make it not manage the desktop (that was before GNOME 3, I think). Maybe you have to use that?

Also you may ask for tips on using nautilus on Xfce at forum.xfce.org or at the xfce mailing list https://mail.xfce.org/mailman/listinfo/xfce
But I read that next nautilus will have some basic functionality removed so you might want to look for alternatives anyway.

Last edited by secipolla; 2nd September 2012 at 11:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2nd September 2012, 11:24 PM
ozjd Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sydney Australia
Age: 59
Posts: 2,372
linuxchrome
Re: xfcs fc17 workspace switcher problems

You may be able to use Nautilus. I remember seeing a comment on the Xfce forum that it has nodesktop option or something similar. Sorry I don't use it so can't give the exact name.

Update - the command is 'nautilus --no-desktop'. A read through this might interest you - http://forum.xfce.org/viewtopic.php?id=7077

Last edited by ozjd; 2nd September 2012 at 11:29 PM. Reason: additional info
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2nd September 2012, 11:30 PM
jpollard Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Waldorf, Maryland
Posts: 6,865
linuxfirefox
Re: xfcs fc17 workspace switcher problems

There are several bugs in there.

The configuration xfce has the option to replace thunar with whatever you want... but it doesn't work.

If you enable Nautilus it will run... but be covered up by thunar. If you go into settings>session and startup>Session, and abort xfdesktop, that will abort thunar - and allow Nautilus to show.

The next bug is harder to locate - a number of processes get left over when you logout. They continue running even though they no longer have access to the display. I have had these fill up the process table to the point that new processes cannot be started.

Kill them and the problem goes away.

BTW, the problem with xfwm4 is not that a window manager isn't running - it is, but it is stuck on a semaphore somewhere. Just running xfwm4 from a terminal (give it a few seconds) and aborting it will unlock the window manager already running.

Last edited by jpollard; 2nd September 2012 at 11:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fc17, problems, switcher, workspace, xfcs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Workspace Switcher does not work in KDE bluelupo F16 Development 5 14th October 2011 03:20 AM
xbmc and workspace switcher xenotrax Using Fedora 1 3rd June 2011 12:38 PM
F8 Workspace switcher? shafted Using Fedora 3 25th October 2007 07:57 AM


Current GMT-time: 02:20 (Thursday, 23-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Huancavelica - Taylorsville Photos on Instagram - Mubi Photos