Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 25th June 2012, 01:17 AM
Speeddymon Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 18
linuxfirefox
No CPU governors available??

Hello,

I was looking into setting up collectd and was reading over the documentation for the cpufreq plugin. In trying to verify the cpufreq setup, I followed the steps here: https://docs.fedoraproject.org/en-US...req_setup.html

I just updated to kernel 3.4.2-1.fc16.x86_64 and tried 'find /lib/modules -iname "*cpu*" ' which should have returned me a list of modules (among other things) that I could install related to the CPU governors. Instead, I got the following output:

Code:
[root@tspear-linux ~]# find /lib/modules -iname "*cpu*"
/lib/modules/3.3.8-1.fc16.x86_64/kernel/drivers/cpufreq
/lib/modules/3.3.8-1.fc16.x86_64/kernel/drivers/cpufreq/cpufreq_stats.ko
/lib/modules/3.3.8-1.fc16.x86_64/kernel/drivers/hwmon/via-cputemp.ko
/lib/modules/3.3.8-1.fc16.x86_64/kernel/net/netfilter/xt_cpu.ko
/lib/modules/3.3.7-1.fc16.x86_64/kernel/drivers/cpufreq
/lib/modules/3.3.7-1.fc16.x86_64/kernel/drivers/cpufreq/cpufreq_stats.ko
/lib/modules/3.3.7-1.fc16.x86_64/kernel/drivers/hwmon/via-cputemp.ko
/lib/modules/3.3.7-1.fc16.x86_64/kernel/net/netfilter/xt_cpu.ko
/lib/modules/3.4.2-1.fc16.x86_64.debug/kernel/drivers/cpufreq
/lib/modules/3.4.2-1.fc16.x86_64.debug/kernel/drivers/cpufreq/cpufreq_stats.ko
/lib/modules/3.4.2-1.fc16.x86_64.debug/kernel/drivers/hwmon/via-cputemp.ko
/lib/modules/3.4.2-1.fc16.x86_64.debug/kernel/lib/cpu-notifier-error-inject.ko
/lib/modules/3.4.2-1.fc16.x86_64.debug/kernel/net/netfilter/xt_cpu.ko
/lib/modules/3.4.2-1.fc16.x86_64/kernel/drivers/cpufreq
/lib/modules/3.4.2-1.fc16.x86_64/kernel/drivers/cpufreq/cpufreq_stats.ko
/lib/modules/3.4.2-1.fc16.x86_64/kernel/drivers/hwmon/via-cputemp.ko
/lib/modules/3.4.2-1.fc16.x86_64/kernel/net/netfilter/xt_cpu.ko
I've installed kernel-tools, which obsoletes cpufrequtils:

Code:
Package cpufrequtils-008-5.fc16.x86_64 is obsoleted by kernel-tools-3.4.2-1.fc16.x86_64 which is already installed
Code:
cpufrequtils.i686 : CPU Frequency changing related utilities
cpufrequtils.x86_64 : CPU Frequency changing related utilities
cpufrequtils-devel.i686 : CPU frequency changing utilities development files
cpufrequtils-devel.x86_64 : CPU frequency changing utilities development files
Code:
kernel-tools.i686 : Assortment of tools for the Linux kernel
kernel-tools.x86_64 : Assortment of tools for the Linux kernel
I also do not have the following directories:

/lib/modules/[kernel version]/kernel/arch/
/sys/devices/system/cpu/[cpu ID]/cpufreq/

Moreover, I can modprobe cpufreq_ondemand and cpufreq_performance without error, but they do not show up in lsmod, and I get an error when I try to modprobe cpufreq_interactive. I assume performance and ondemand are built into the kernel but interactive is not.

Additionally, I found this in the kernel config which does indicate that governers are built in. Looks like interactive governor is deprecated, as its not even in the list:

Code:
#
# CPU Frequency scaling
#
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_TABLE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_STAT=m
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_STAT_DETAILS=y
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_PERFORMANCE is not set
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_USERSPACE is not set
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_ONDEMAND=y
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_CONSERVATIVE is not set
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_PERFORMANCE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_POWERSAVE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_USERSPACE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_ONDEMAND=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_CONSERVATIVE=y

#
# x86 CPU frequency scaling drivers
#
CONFIG_X86_PCC_CPUFREQ=y
CONFIG_X86_ACPI_CPUFREQ=y
CONFIG_X86_POWERNOW_K8=y
# CONFIG_X86_SPEEDSTEP_CENTRINO is not set
CONFIG_X86_P4_CLOCKMOD=y
Also, the directory /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpufreq exists but is an empty directory on my system.

Finally, the kernel-tools package, seems to have installed a daemon called cpupower. It has config in /etc/sysconfig/cpupower:

Code:
[root@tspear-linux ~]# cat /etc/sysconfig/cpupower 
# See 'cpupower help' and cpupower(1) for more info
CPUPOWER_START_OPTS="frequency-set -g interactive"
CPUPOWER_STOP_OPTS="frequency-set -g ondemand"
I tried to start it with systemctl, but it dies and gives the following errors in /var/log/messages:

Code:
Jun 24 17:21:24 tspear-linux cpupower[1934]: Setting cpu: 0
Jun 24 17:21:24 tspear-linux cpupower[1934]: Error setting new values. Common errors:
Jun 24 17:21:24 tspear-linux cpupower[1934]: - Do you have proper administration rights? (super-user?)
Jun 24 17:21:24 tspear-linux cpupower[1934]: - Is the governor you requested available and modprobed?
Jun 24 17:21:24 tspear-linux cpupower[1934]: - Trying to set an invalid policy?
Jun 24 17:21:24 tspear-linux cpupower[1934]: - Trying to set a specific frequency, but userspace governor is not available,
Jun 24 17:21:24 tspear-linux cpupower[1934]: for example because of hardware which cannot be set to a specific frequency
Jun 24 17:21:24 tspear-linux cpupower[1934]: or because the userspace governor isn't loaded?
Jun 24 17:21:24 tspear-linux systemd[1]: cpupower.service: main process exited, code=exited, status=237
Jun 24 17:21:24 tspear-linux systemd[1]: Unit cpupower.service entered failed state.
What I would like to know is how to actually utilize the governors when they are built in, and especially, determine which governor is active, or failing that, I suppose that my CPU doesn't support frequency scaling, and that may be why I'm getting the errors.

Code:
[root@tspear-linux ~]# cpupower frequency-set -g ondemand
Setting cpu: 0
Error setting new values. Common errors:
- Do you have proper administration rights? (super-user?)
- Is the governor you requested available and modprobed?
- Trying to set an invalid policy?
- Trying to set a specific frequency, but userspace governor is not available,
   for example because of hardware which cannot be set to a specific frequency
   or because the userspace governor isn't loaded?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25th June 2012, 01:50 AM
marko Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Laurel, MD USA
Posts: 6,062
linuxfirefox
Re: No CPU governors available??

post what this shows:
Quote:
cpupower frequency-info
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25th June 2012, 02:18 AM
Speeddymon Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 18
linuxfirefox
Re: No CPU governors available??

Hello, thanks, sorry I forgot to include that before. Here it is:

Code:
[root@tspear-linux ~]# cpupower frequency-info
analyzing CPU 0:
  no or unknown cpufreq driver is active on this CPU
  boost state support:
    Supported: no
    Active: no
As I said, I've modprobe'd several things though they don't show up in lsmod presumably since they are built into the kernel. I wonder why I do not have a driver active and how I can get one active?

I just checked the cpupower manpage again and its sub-pages (cpupower-monitor, cpupower-info, etc) but nothing listed for getting a driver loaded.

Also found these in the kernel config:

CONFIG_X86_ACPI_CPUFREQ=y
CONFIG_X86_P4_CLOCKMOD=y

So those drivers are built in as well, and dmesg confirms p4-clockmod does load at least for a bit:

Code:
[root@tspear-linux ~]# dmesg |grep cpufreq
[    3.128411] p4-clockmod: Warning: EST-capable CPU detected. The acpi-cpufreq module offers voltage scaling in addition to frequency scaling. You should use that instead of p4-clockmod, if possible.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25th June 2012, 03:42 AM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,320
linuxfirefox
Re: No CPU governors available??

You are loading the p4-clockmod governor.

You probably have EIST (intel speedstep) disabled in your BIOS. If you disable EIST in the BIOS, then the p4-clockmod governor is loaded.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25th June 2012, 03:52 AM
Speeddymon Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 18
windows_7chrome
Re: No CPU governors available??

Correct, EIST was disabled. I've enabled it now. The BIOS said it was disabled by default. Wonder why Dell would do that? =/
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cpu, cpufreq, governors

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to extend battery life by automatically changing cpu governors. dd_wizard Guides & Solutions (No Questions) 2 3rd April 2013 06:54 PM
How to properly switch between cpupower governors? duffman128 Using Fedora 1 25th June 2012 01:28 AM
klaptop governors and centrino cpu holr Hardware & Laptops 4 19th July 2005 09:56 AM


Current GMT-time: 03:13 (Wednesday, 22-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Acajete Photos on Instagram - Makakilo Travel Photos on Instagram - Chone Photos on Instagram