Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 25th May 2012, 03:15 AM
BinaryBandit Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: 90 Mile Beach, South East Coast, Australia
Posts: 98
linuxchrome
GNOME3 stopped functioning

G'day folks,
my friend GOOGLE has not helped me today
I installed a second monitor, when I restarted X there was a brief message about incompatibility, both screens worked as intended but in what appeared to be the old classic gnome desktop (most likely fall back mode for gnome shell).
I tried several things to get it back to normal, including removing the second monitor and returning to default monitor settings, however without any success.
Any help will be appreciated.

Fedora 16
EN 250GTS
C2D E6750
Asus P5G41

Thanks,
The Bandit
__________________
Where's the Any key?
Intel i7 3770K
Intel HD 4000 Graphics
Fedora 17 x86_64 Beefy Miracle on 2x1tb Seagate Sata3 HDD
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25th May 2012, 11:54 AM
pjfg
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
linuxopera
Re: GNOME3 stopped functioning

Was the second monitor a replacement or supplementary to the first? What do you have attached now and what state is the system in at this point? Is it still fallback gnome or no X server at all?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 6th August 2012, 05:17 AM
BinaryBandit Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: 90 Mile Beach, South East Coast, Australia
Posts: 98
linuxchrome
Re: GNOME3 stopped functioning

Thanks for the reply,
The second monitor is a supplement to the first.
When Gnome3 crashed it reverted to 'Fallback mode'
I was able to resolve the issue by replacing the Nouveau driver with the Nvidia driver.
I'm not sure what the issue was with the Nouveau driver, I had successfully run two monitors
on FC15 with Gnome3 and I don't remember having any issues.
I have built a new system since my last post and have installed FC17 on it,
It runs two monitors without any problem using the in built Intel HD4000 graphics.

Cheers,
The Bandit.
__________________
Where's the Any key?
Intel i7 3770K
Intel HD 4000 Graphics
Fedora 17 x86_64 Beefy Miracle on 2x1tb Seagate Sata3 HDD

Last edited by BinaryBandit; 8th August 2012 at 07:12 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 6th August 2012, 08:05 AM
MauserM98 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Norway
Posts: 134
linuxchrome
Re: GNOME3 stopped functioning

I gave up 2 monitors on Gnome 3 since it did absolutely not work when Gnome 3 first came. After that I have tried it in Fedora 16 to with the same result.
Solution : switch to KDE.
Code :
yum install @kde-desktop

Be amazed how good 2 monitors is with KDE.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
functioning, gnome3, stopped

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kickoff Application Launcher stopped functioning Scooter2 Using Fedora 1 6th March 2009 07:42 AM
Touchpad stopped functioning Greens Hardware & Laptops 9 7th February 2008 10:41 PM
Mic not functioning pramac1 Hardware & Laptops 7 22nd August 2005 08:31 PM
yum not functioning (FC4T2) powereds Fedora Core 4 Test 10 16th May 2005 03:37 AM
CD Player not functioning mpjbrennan Using Fedora 6 1st November 2004 07:22 AM


Current GMT-time: 10:19 (Tuesday, 21-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Xalapa de Enriquez - Mouila Travel Photos - Waldbrol Photos on Instagram