Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 24th November 2004, 10:10 PM
mud_diver Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Vienna
Age: 53
Posts: 9
Thumbs down fc3_64 and mp3 - not supported ??

After a couple of days, i get my fc3_64 system up and running well, but now, no support for mp3 and music ?
After reading a lot, i found on rpm.livna.org :
****************************************
# Thursday, October 28: x86_64 packages support dropped

Since we don't have an x86_64 maintainer anymore and the rpm.livna.org team can't guarantee the stability of the currently available x86_64 packages, we have dropped support for the x86_64 architecture. Sorry
****************************************
Any ideas on how to integrate MP3 / divx / mpe / support in FC3 64 ?

Thank you in advance
Reinhard

PS : seconds before giving up the 64 bit experience
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24th November 2004, 11:29 PM
jdevers Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1
Firstly, MP3 support has been removed from FC3 altogether...not just x86_64. Also the other major repos support x86_64 and of course you can always rpmrebuild any src.rpms you want.

What packages are you trying to add MP3 support to?

Divx support is easy "yum install xvidcore.x86_64" and any of the media players should support mpeg1/2 OOTB.

I was a Gentoo user until this past weekend when I took the 64 bit plunge. Since I had to re-install anyway, I decided to try out Fedora. So far it is really nice, I like the way the 32 bit compatibility is maintained (of course everything is easier since it is a binary based distro, unlike Gentoo) and the on-dvd package selection is pretty decent. I wished that the major repos had more software in general, I'm kind of use to typing emerge *anything* and pretty much being able to get it. But I've learned how to use rpmrebuild and have my system pretty much up and running 100%.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25th November 2004, 01:35 AM
cybrjackle Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 456
Get this:

http://ftp.freshrpms.net/pub/freshrp...fc3.fr.src.rpm

# su -
# rpm -ivh xmms-1.2.10-9.1.1.fc3.fr.src.rpm
# cd /usr/src/redhat/SPECS
#rpmbuild -ba xmms.spec

Wait awhile and install!

#rpm -Uvh /usr/src/redhat/RPMS/x86_64/xmms*

enjoy the tunes!
__________________
aka "jlc" on irc.

Main Desktop:
Rawhide x86_64
MSI K8N NEO2 Platinum
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchester @ 2350MHz
CORSAIR XMS TWINX1024-3200C2 2GB
BFG Nvidia GeForce 6800GT OC @ 370MHz 256MB GDDR3
2x80GB SATA 150 Segate Raid 0
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26th November 2004, 07:34 AM
sornen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 13
With rpmbuild I get the following error
gcc: /usr/lib64/libGL.so: No such file or directory
This is a link down to this file libGL.so.1.2, which is missing. Can't seem to find which package this belongs to. Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26th November 2004, 04:53 PM
cybrjackle Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 456
Some good news, the rhythmbox plugin has been created:

gstreamer-extra-plugins

Code:
su -
cd /etc/yum.repos.d/
vi freshrpms.repo
Code:
[freshrpms]
name=FreshRPMS-Fresh
baseurl=http://ayo.freshrpms.net/fedora/linux/$releasever/$basearch/freshrpms
enabled=1
gpgcheck=1
Code:
# yum update
Code:
# yum install gstreamer-plugins-extra-audio
Bad news, if your like my Fedora's rhythmbox crashes every single time :wall:

Of course we will help with xmms too: :-)

Here is one of the handy dandy yum features:

Code:
# yum provides libGL.so.1.2
So we run that and we see:

Code:
# yum provides libGL.so.1.2
Searching Packages:

|----------------> snippet <------------------------------------------|

xorg-x11-Mesa-libGL.i386                 6.8.1-12               base
Matched from:
/usr/X11R6/lib/libGL.so.1.2


xorg-x11-Mesa-libGL.x86_64               6.8.1-12               base
Matched from:
/usr/X11R6/lib64/libGL.so.1.2


xorg-x11-Mesa-libGL.x86_64               6.8.1-12               installed
Matched from:
/usr/X11R6/lib64/libGL.so.1.2


xorg-x11-Mesa-libGL.i386                 6.8.1-12               installed
Matched from:
/usr/X11R6/lib/libGL.so.1.2
Code:
# rpm -qa |grep -i xorg-x11-Mesa-libGL 
xorg-x11-Mesa-libGL-6.8.1-12
xorg-x11-Mesa-libGLU-6.8.1-12
xorg-x11-Mesa-libGL-6.8.1-12
Do you have those installed?
__________________
aka "jlc" on irc.

Main Desktop:
Rawhide x86_64
MSI K8N NEO2 Platinum
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchester @ 2350MHz
CORSAIR XMS TWINX1024-3200C2 2GB
BFG Nvidia GeForce 6800GT OC @ 370MHz 256MB GDDR3
2x80GB SATA 150 Segate Raid 0

Last edited by cybrjackle; 26th November 2004 at 04:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26th November 2004, 08:12 PM
sornen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 13
Thanks for your reply. The problem seems to be with the latest xorg release, now called xorg-x11-Mesa-libGL-6.8.1-12.FC3.1.i386.rpm

Code:
rpm -ql xorg-x11-Mesa-libGL
/usr/X11R6/lib64/libGL.so.1
/usr/X11R6/lib64/libGL.so.1.2
/usr/lib64/libGL.so.1
/usr/X11R6/lib/libGL.so.1
/usr/X11R6/lib/libGL.so.1.2
/usr/lib/libGL.so.1
When in fact
Code:
ll /usr/X11R6/lib64/libG*
-rw-r--r--  1 root root 1205820 Nov 17 09:11 /usr/X11R6/lib64/libGL.a
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root      12 Nov 26 18:49 /usr/X11R6/lib64/libGL.so -> libGL.so.1.2
-rw-r--r--  1 root root  901550 Nov 17 09:11 /usr/X11R6/lib64/libGLU.a
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root      13 Nov 26 18:49 /usr/X11R6/lib64/libGLU.so -> libGLU.so.1.3
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root      13 Nov 24 22:06 /usr/X11R6/lib64/libGLU.so.1 -> libGLU.so.1.3
-rwxr-xr-x  1 root root  539896 Nov 17 09:13 /usr/X11R6/lib64/libGLU.so.1.3
-rw-r--r--  1 root root   45966 Nov 17 09:11 /usr/X11R6/lib64/libGLw.a
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root      13 Nov 26 22:34 /usr/X11R6/lib64/libGLw.so.1 -> libGLw.so.1.0
-rwxr-xr-x  1 root root   33912 Oct 21 10:24 /usr/X11R6/lib64/libGLw.so.1.0
So the link is borked because the libGL.so.1.2 package isn't there. With using yum to update I noticed that some of the 32 bit libraries were missing. Forcing rpm update fixed the problem but not for the 64 bit library.

Is there any way of forcing yum?

/usr/X11R6/lib/libGL.so.1 is missing as well.

Last edited by sornen; 26th November 2004 at 08:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26th November 2004, 08:54 PM
imdeemvp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Age: 45
Posts: 8,256
If xmms is installed go here and download the xmms-mp3 plugin you need: http://rpm.pbone.net/index.php3/stat....i386.rpm.html
__________________
HELP with JAVA, MP3's, Wireless, Repo's, YUM, Partitions, System Monitors, Nvidia, ATI drivers, LIMEWIRE PRO & MORE!.

Easiest and most friendly desktop ever is PCLinuxOS! Includes all this apps. Just try it.

"The greater the struggle THE greater the achievment."

Do you know HIM?

If you are an idiot click here. NThis will test you linux skills :D
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26th November 2004, 11:07 PM
cybrjackle Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 456
Quote:
Originally Posted by imdeemvp
If xmms is installed go here and download the xmms-mp3 plugin you need: http://rpm.pbone.net/index.php3/stat....i386.rpm.html
Thats for i386, were working with x86_64, thx though



sornen,

You can tell yum to include/exclude i386 or x86_64 too:

Code:
# yum install  xorg-x11-Mesa-libGL.x86_64

Reading repository metadata in from local files
Resolving Dependencies
--> Populating transaction set with selected packages. Please wait.
---> Package xorg-x11-Mesa-libGL.x86_64 0:6.8.1-12.FC3.1 set to be updated
--> Running transaction check

Dependencies Resolved
Transaction Listing:
  Update: xorg-x11-Mesa-libGL.x86_64 0:6.8.1-12.FC3.1
Is this ok [y/N]:
Without telling it to use .x86_64

Code:
# yum install  xorg-x11-Mesa-libGL

Resolving Dependencies
--> Populating transaction set with selected packages. Please wait.
---> Package xorg-x11-Mesa-libGL.i386 0:6.8.1-12.FC3.1 set to be updated
---> Package xorg-x11-Mesa-libGL.x86_64 0:6.8.1-12.FC3.1 set to be updated
--> Running transaction check

Dependencies Resolved
Transaction Listing:
  Update: xorg-x11-Mesa-libGL.i386 0:6.8.1-12.FC3.1
  Update: xorg-x11-Mesa-libGL.x86_64 0:6.8.1-12.FC3.1
Is this ok [y/N]:
__________________
aka "jlc" on irc.

Main Desktop:
Rawhide x86_64
MSI K8N NEO2 Platinum
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchester @ 2350MHz
CORSAIR XMS TWINX1024-3200C2 2GB
BFG Nvidia GeForce 6800GT OC @ 370MHz 256MB GDDR3
2x80GB SATA 150 Segate Raid 0
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 27th November 2004, 02:03 AM
sornen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 13
Thanks for the information, slowly coming to grips with the x86_64 software, only had it working for the past couple of days.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 27th November 2004, 09:00 AM
imdeemvp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Age: 45
Posts: 8,256
Sorry than here is the one for the 64 version.
__________________
HELP with JAVA, MP3's, Wireless, Repo's, YUM, Partitions, System Monitors, Nvidia, ATI drivers, LIMEWIRE PRO & MORE!.

Easiest and most friendly desktop ever is PCLinuxOS! Includes all this apps. Just try it.

"The greater the struggle THE greater the achievment."

Do you know HIM?

If you are an idiot click here. NThis will test you linux skills :D
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 27th November 2004, 04:05 PM
cybrjackle Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 456
Quote:
Originally Posted by imdeemvp
Sorry than here is the one for the 64 version.
That is for fc2, if your going to use rpms from 2 for 3, you really should rebuild them, in which case you will run into the problem that he "was" (not sure if it still is a problem) having.
__________________
aka "jlc" on irc.

Main Desktop:
Rawhide x86_64
MSI K8N NEO2 Platinum
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchester @ 2350MHz
CORSAIR XMS TWINX1024-3200C2 2GB
BFG Nvidia GeForce 6800GT OC @ 370MHz 256MB GDDR3
2x80GB SATA 150 Segate Raid 0
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 27th November 2004, 08:02 PM
sornen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 13
In the end I d/l the package from atrpms as suggested in another thread.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 27th November 2004, 09:57 PM
imdeemvp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Age: 45
Posts: 8,256
I used same plugin for fc3 and did work and some of my privious stuff that I used in fc2 does work in fc3. I am not using the 64 version so you may have a point there cybrjackle.
__________________
HELP with JAVA, MP3's, Wireless, Repo's, YUM, Partitions, System Monitors, Nvidia, ATI drivers, LIMEWIRE PRO & MORE!.

Easiest and most friendly desktop ever is PCLinuxOS! Includes all this apps. Just try it.

"The greater the struggle THE greater the achievment."

Do you know HIM?

If you are an idiot click here. NThis will test you linux skills :D
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 27th November 2004, 10:19 PM
cybrjackle Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 456
Quote:
Originally Posted by imdeemvp
I used same plugin for fc3 and did work and some of my privious stuff that I used in fc2 does work in fc3. I am not using the 64 version so you may have a point there cybrjackle.
even using i386 in your case, it is still a better idea to grab the src.rpm and rebuilding it if your jumping packages from one release to another. Your packages/system have been compiled with a different gcc and it's better for your system to stick with a standard. IMO
__________________
aka "jlc" on irc.

Main Desktop:
Rawhide x86_64
MSI K8N NEO2 Platinum
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchester @ 2350MHz
CORSAIR XMS TWINX1024-3200C2 2GB
BFG Nvidia GeForce 6800GT OC @ 370MHz 256MB GDDR3
2x80GB SATA 150 Segate Raid 0
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 4th December 2004, 01:38 PM
xodeus Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3
Anyone who has built the plugins? If yes please send them to xodeus at gmail dot com. Then I'll upload them to a server so others can get it too.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fc364, mp3, supported

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FC3_64 and playing dvd's advice needed Muahdib Using Fedora 2 27th January 2005 01:39 AM
Upgrading FC3 to FC3_64 punklinux EOL (End Of Life) Versions 0 21st December 2004 10:48 PM
Install both FC3 & FC3_64 punklinux EOL (End Of Life) Versions 0 21st December 2004 04:13 PM
FC3_64 - my experience mud_diver Using Fedora 0 25th November 2004 12:52 PM
fc3_64 can not mount cd or dvd ? mud_diver Using Fedora 1 24th November 2004 05:55 PM


Current GMT-time: 12:14 (Monday, 22-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat