Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 5th January 2012, 03:22 PM
gforster67 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 2
windows_7ie
Unhappy Gnome3 Not working in a VMWare Session

Good Morning All,

I am new to Linux Fedora 16. I have installed Fedora 16 in a VMWare Player and for some reason GNome3 does not work. Is there an issue with Gnome 3 ina VMWare Player session? My machine is an Intel Core i5-2450, with 4gb ram, and an Intel HD3000 Graphics Card. Can someone please help me with this?

Edit: Here is the glxgears -info
GL_Render = Gallium 0.4 on llvmpipe
GL_ Version = 2.1 MESA 7.11.2
GL_Vendor = VMWare Inc.

Last edited by gforster67; 5th January 2012 at 03:52 PM. Reason: More Information
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 5th January 2012, 03:36 PM
Dan Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Paris, TX
Posts: 23,279
linuxfirefox
Re: Gnome3 Not working in a VMWare Session

Post approved.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 5th January 2012, 04:19 PM
weitjong Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Singapore, 新加坡
Posts: 944
linuxfirefox
Re: Gnome3 Not working in a VMWare Session

I have a test F16 virtual machine using KVM/Qemu. I can confirm that Gnome3 in F16 would switch to fallback mode. If you want Gnome-shell in software rendering mode inside a virtual machine then you have to wait until F17 is out. Or you can try to get rawhide running in your VM now. See this article. http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?pag...tem&px=MTAxMTI. I have tried rawhide in a test VM and Gnome-shell works as expected there.
__________________
YaoWT - Leave no window unbroken ♪ (^。^) 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 5th January 2012, 06:08 PM
gforster67 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 2
linuxfirefox
Re: Gnome3 Not working in a VMWare Session

Where can I get a full .iso of rawhide to see if I can get it to work?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gnome3, session, vmware, working

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VMware - Gnome3 motnahp00 Using Fedora 9 5th August 2011 11:05 AM
Fedoar 15 Gnome3 not working with nvidia HW(??) edmh007 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 6 9th June 2011 12:00 PM
VMware adding real hard drive to virtual session speedracer2007 Using Fedora 3 14th September 2007 12:20 AM
VMWare Working kainaw Using Fedora 1 14th November 2006 12:47 AM


Current GMT-time: 00:11 (Monday, 22-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat