Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 21st November 2011, 08:03 PM
Axel79 Offline

linuxfirefox
Fedora 16: freezes every day!

While I'm working, or simply reading a pdf, while I'm scrolling a photo album or opening a directory: simply freezed.
No way to recover, the only possibility is to use the power button.
I don't know if it can be a graphic card problem, I've an ATI mobility radeon HD5850.....

Can anybody help me to investigate?

Thank you all.
Old 22nd November 2011, 01:19 AM
juanmaaaaa Offline

linuxfirefox
Re: Fedora 16: freezes every day!!!

I have been having exactly the same problems, I'm in facebook or listening to music and the cursor stops moving and i have to restart my machine.... This is my hardware:
Processor: AMD TF-20
RAM: 4GB
Motherboard: It's a Clevo laptop.
Video (the most interesting) ATI Mobility Radeon HD X1270
HDD: 250GB SATA 2.
Audio: Realtek ALC272.

I'm a total noob..... waiting for somebody with experience to reply
Old 23rd November 2011, 02:37 PM
robert4man Offline

linuxfirefox
Re: Fedora 16: freezes every day!

Same problem. I have an HP Pavilion Elite HPE-250f which has a Radeon HD 5700 Series video card. It seems to be triggered by a mouse event: select window, scroll, resize window, etc. I'm still investigating. I plan to ssh into my box from another machine the next time it happens to look around. I'm running the open source radeon driver. I tried switching over to the catalyst driver from rpmfusion, but it was completely unusable for me.
Old 23rd November 2011, 03:01 PM
akvasu Offline

windows_7firefox

Hi

I see the problem on Thinkpad W510 with Nvidia chipset - and using the novueau driver....

I also feel it happens at some random mouse event... However I had seen it 3 times when I was trying to set the screen brightness....

Disabling ALL extensions and moving to a base F16 seems to have reduced the issue....

Thanks
Anup
Old 23rd November 2011, 03:25 PM
flyingfsck Online

linuxfirefox