Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 8th November 2011, 04:21 PM
drakethelegend Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 10
windows_7chrome
How to dual boot?

I see there are a few different options to dual boot such as the following:

Use Free Space
Shrink Current System
Replace Current Linux System

and I'm just not sure which one to do. I don't have Linux already installed on this computer, so I can't do the 3rd option, right? I have 500 GB's of free space available, so if I did the 1st option, would it use all of it? I'm thinking I should do Shrink Current System?

I want to dual boot Fedora 16 alongside my Windows 7, and give half the room to Fedora 16. (Would this be the best way?)

Thanks for any help, so excited to install!

---------- Post added at 10:21 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:19 AM ----------

Also, this might be a noob question, but how is ram allocated with this process? It's all devoted to whichever OS I boot into, right?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 8th November 2011, 11:29 PM
markkuk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,075
windows_xp_2003firefox
Re: How to dual boot?

Quote:
Originally Posted by drakethelegend View Post
I have 500 GB's of free space available, so if I did the 1st option, would it use all of it? I'm thinking I should do Shrink Current System?
If the "free space" is actually unused space on your Windows partition (or "drive" as it's misleadingly called in Windows), then "Shrink Current System" is the only possible option.

Quote:
Originally Posted by drakethelegend View Post
Also, this might be a noob question, but how is ram allocated with this process? It's all devoted to whichever OS I boot into, right?
Right.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11th November 2011, 03:13 AM
drakethelegend Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 10
windows_7chrome
Re: How to dual boot?

Hmm... I still seem to be having problems on my HP Pavilion dm4. It's 64 bit, and I installed the 64 bit iso to my USB and CD-ROM. I tried the USB on my old Gateway, and it worked fine. But I wanna install it on this one too... any ideas why the CD-ROM or USB won't work on this laptop?

When I boot from either, they both go to the 'booting to Fedora in 10 seconds' or whatever, but after that I hear a lot of humming from my laptop and just a black screen that doesn't go away.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
boot, dual

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to create a dual-boot (dual boot) with Windows XP Home Edition and Fedora Core 5: Genecks Guides & Solutions (No Questions) 5 18th October 2011 01:05 PM
Optimum Partitioning for dual 200G Dual boot PC aus_trade Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 4th July 2005 11:53 AM
Dual Boot probl Win XP and FC 3: no boot menu and automatical boot to windows siwask Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 18th February 2005 03:57 AM
Dual boot Dual disk, works fine until... jyoung03 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 0 10th January 2005 08:37 PM


Current GMT-time: 00:39 (Sunday, 20-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat