Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 26th June 2011, 08:57 PM
Mazate Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 76
linuxfirefox
New F15 Install, error upon trying to install updates

Ok, just installed F15... immediately went and selected software updates. It came back and found a crapload of updates. I hit the install button and I got an error. Any ideas why? Bad .iso image maybe?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot-Untitled Window.png
Views:	108
Size:	21.0 KB
ID:	21353  
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 26th June 2011, 10:15 PM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,768
linuxfirefox
Re: New F15 Install, error upon trying to install updates

Need more information than that. Open a terminal and try the following.
PHP Code:
su -'yum clean all'
su -'yum check-update' 
Commands will require root password. If you get errors report them here. If you get no errors try updating your system.
PHP Code:
su -'yum update' 
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Just a couple of old single core units
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / Kingston HyperX 3K SSD 240GB SATA 3.0 / 1TB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26th June 2011, 11:40 PM
Mazate Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 76
linuxfirefox
Re: New F15 Install, error upon trying to install updates

Ok, did steps 1 & 2 & got no errors.

I did the update and it seems to have worked. My question is, am I going to have to do it like that everytime from now on? Why doesn't the software update button work for me?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26th June 2011, 11:47 PM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,768
linuxchrome
Re: New F15 Install, error upon trying to install updates

You can probably use the gui program from now on. Seems that there is some issue with PackageKit when run for the first time that causes these errors. Don't know what it is, just that it happens quite often and that the commands I suggested you run seem to quite often remedy this issue.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Just a couple of old single core units
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / Kingston HyperX 3K SSD 240GB SATA 3.0 / 1TB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26th June 2011, 11:49 PM
Mazate Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 76
windows_xp_2003firefox
Re: New F15 Install, error upon trying to install updates

Well, in any case, thanks for the help!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26th June 2011, 11:56 PM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,768
linuxchrome
Re: New F15 Install, error upon trying to install updates

Right. You're welcome.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Just a couple of old single core units
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / Kingston HyperX 3K SSD 240GB SATA 3.0 / 1TB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27th June 2011, 03:15 AM
cambam247 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 19
linuxfirefox
Re: New F15 Install, error upon trying to install updates

I had the same error today this worked for me too thx
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 27th June 2011, 03:40 AM
nirik Offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Broomfield, CO
Posts: 436
linuxmidori
Re: New F15 Install, error upon trying to install updates

This seems to be a PackageKit bug. ;(

https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=716752

has the details. Hopefully it will get fixed soon.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 8th October 2011, 12:48 AM
BeerGut Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 43
linuxfirefox
Talking Re: New F15 Install, error upon trying to install updates

G'day all,

Had the same problem and with the help of this thread am updating now.

Thanks to all who post here.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
error, f15, install, updates

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I used the i386 install DVD. Fedora wants me to install i686 updates. blackplague1347 Using Fedora 5 11th November 2010 10:58 PM
USB install with updates? drunkahol Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 0 24th August 2009 12:26 PM
Fedora 9 'Install Updates' button doesn't install Raptor36 Using Fedora 6 6th July 2008 10:51 AM
Fresh Install - Install Updates - Now 2 versions in GRUB?? HELP ViolentA79 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 7 8th February 2008 03:22 PM
Install all yum updates? markb Using Fedora 7 20th January 2005 09:54 PM


Current GMT-time: 11:19 (Friday, 24-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Cheria Photos - Kevelaer Travel Photos - Litvinov Travel Photos on Instagram