Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 18th May 2011, 11:07 AM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
linuxredhatfirefox
vbox supports gnome3

Gome3 works in vbox after installing the guest additions.


http://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Linux_Downloads

Quote:
VirtualBox 4.0.8 (released 2011-05-16)

This is a maintenance release. The following items were fixed and/or added:

Mac OS X hosts: fixed incompatibility with recent Mac OS X versions in 64-bit mode (bug #8474)
Mac OS X hosts: fixed incompatibility with hosts with more than 16 cores (bug #8389)
Mac OS X hosts: fixed painting corruptions on a second monitor in 64-bit mode (bug #7606)
GUI: restored functionality to set an empty host key to disallow any host key combination (4.0.6 regression; bug #8793)
VBoxManage: added controlvm screenshotpng subcommand for saving the screenshot of a running VM in PNG format
VBoxHeadless: fixed potential crash during shutdown (Windows hosts only)
NAT: built-in services use the correct Ethernet addresses in Ethernet header and in ARP requests
Host-only networking: fixed adapter reference counting
E1000: fixed rare guest crashes with Linux SMP guests (bug #8755)
SATA: fixed guest disk corruption under rare circumstances (only relevant for guests with more than 2GB RAM; bug #8826)
Storage: fixed data corruption after a snapshot was taken with asynchronous I/O enabled (bug #8498)
Floppy: several improvement
HPET: another fix for time jumps (bug #8707)
USB: removed assumption that string descriptors are null-terminated (Windows hosts only)
3D support: fixed a potential crash when resizing the guest window
3D support: fixed GNOME 3 rendering under Ubuntu 11.04 and Fedora 15
Snapshots: fixed another bug which could lose entries in the media registry when restoring a snapshot (bug #8363)
Shared Folders: don't stop mounting the other valid folders if one host folder is inaccessible (4.0.6 regression)
Linux Additions: check whether gcc and make are installed before building kernel modules (bug #8795)
Solaris Additions: added support for X.Org Server 1.10
Guest Additions: fixed inappropriate Guest Additions update notification when using vendor-specific version suffixes (bug #8844)



  #2  
Old 18th May 2011, 03:12 PM
PatMcLJr Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: earth
Posts: 1,183
linuxopera
Re: vbox supports gnome3

off the topic, sorry
Oh, that's f15 with gnome 3 ?
Now I see what all the hoopla is all about, no wonder these techie types act like they just bit into a lemon.

Might take some getting used?

Pat Jr.
__________________
x--x--x
http://www.gnu.org/philosophy/free-sw.html
Freedom is never Free.
Pat Jr.
  #3  
Old 18th May 2011, 07:20 PM
sweetlandj Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4
linuxfirefox
Re: vbox supports gnome3

Incredibly happy to see this. I struggled for about a month trying to get the beta running in VBox and finally gave up and installed the silly thing. No regrets, but it would have been nice to be able to play with it a bit before diving in head first, so to speak.
  #4  
Old 20th May 2011, 01:26 AM
Palooka Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 171
linuxfirefox
Re: vbox supports gnome3

@Leigh,

That sounds good. I gave F15 GNOME another try in a VBox VM but no dice. It is fully updated (64 bit) on a F15 64 bit host, but the VM still says it must go into fallback mode, even after installing guest additions.

VirtualBox 4.0.8. Am I doing something wrong?
  #5  
Old 23rd May 2011, 06:10 AM
skyxn3t Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 210
windows_7firefox
Re: vbox supports gnome3

I've the same problem as Palooka.
I've the latest version of VBox, 3d acceleration enabled, guest additions installed. And it keeps going to the Fallback mode...
  #6  
Old 23rd May 2011, 06:51 AM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
linuxredhatfirefox
Re: vbox supports gnome3

Check your xorg.conf in the guest


Code:
# VirtualBox generated configuration file
# based on /etc/X11/xorg.conf.

Section "Monitor"
  Identifier   "Monitor[0]"
  ModelName    "VirtualBox Virtual Output"
  VendorName   "Oracle Corporation"
EndSection

Section "Device"
  BoardName    "VirtualBox Graphics"
  Driver       "vboxvideo"
  Identifier   "Device[0]"
  VendorName   "Oracle Corporation"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
  SubSection "Display"
    Depth      24
  EndSubSection
  Device       "Device[0]"
  Identifier   "Screen[0]"
  Monitor      "Monitor[0]"
EndSection
  #7  
Old 23rd May 2011, 10:37 AM
Palooka Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 171
linuxfirefox
Re: vbox supports gnome3

My xorg.conf is identical to that.

Palooka
  #8  
Old 23rd May 2011, 02:57 PM
skyxn3t Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 210
linuxfirefox
Re: vbox supports gnome3

^ Yea, me too, I've the exact xorg.conf file as leigh.
  #9  
Old 23rd May 2011, 03:10 PM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
linuxredhatfirefox
Re: vbox supports gnome3

I'm running a nvidia card on my host, what do you use?
  #10  
Old 23rd May 2011, 03:47 PM
skyxn3t Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 210
linuxfirefox
Re: vbox supports gnome3

I use Nvidia as well
Nvidia Geforce GTX 260M / 1GB
  #11  
Old 24th May 2011, 01:02 AM
StephenH Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Wake Forest, NC
Age: 60
Posts: 1,373
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: vbox supports gnome3

Quote:
Originally Posted by skyxn3t View Post
I use Nvidia as well
Nvidia Geforce GTX 260M / 1GB
Question: When you set up the virtual machine, what did you use for the Display settings? I set it up for 64 MB of display memory and made sure the Enable 3D Acceleration button was checked.
Before I changed the display settings, it behaved much as you said. I am using it with an Nvidia GeForce GT 220 /1GB card using the Nvidia drivers.
__________________
StephenH

"We must understand the reality that just because our culture claims certain things are true it does not mean they are!" --M. Liederbach

http://pilgrim-wanderings.blogspot.com
  #12  
Old 24th May 2011, 01:14 AM
skyxn3t Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 210
linuxfirefox
Re: vbox supports gnome3

Quote:
Originally Posted by StephenH View Post
Question: When you set up the virtual machine, what did you use for the Display settings? I set it up for 64 MB of display memory and made sure the Enable 3D Acceleration button was checked.
Before I changed the display settings, it behaved much as you said. I am using it with an Nvidia GeForce GT 220 /1GB card using the Nvidia drivers.
I checked the "Enable 3D Acceleration" checkbox and increased the Video memory size to 128MB before installing the guest.
I'm using the proprietary nvidia drivers from RPMfusion.

If I run (gnome-shell --replace and mutter --replace) in the Terminal from the fall-back mode, I get the following:
Code:
[user@host ~]$ gnome-shell --replace
failed to create drawable

(gnome-shell:30289): Clutter-CRITICAL **: Unable to initialize Clutter: Unable to select the newly created GLX context
Window manager error: Unable to initialize Clutter.

[user@host ~]$ mutter --replace
failed to create drawable

(mutter:30295): Clutter-CRITICAL **: Unable to initialize Clutter: Unable to select the newly created GLX context
Window manager error: Unable to initialize Clutter.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot-ArchLinux - Settings.png
Views:	129
Size:	45.8 KB
ID:	21082  

Last edited by skyxn3t; 24th May 2011 at 01:36 AM.
  #13  
Old 24th May 2011, 02:39 AM
StephenH Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Wake Forest, NC
Age: 60
Posts: 1,373
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: vbox supports gnome3

Quote:
Originally Posted by skyxn3t View Post
I checked the "Enable 3D Acceleration" checkbox and increased the Video memory size to 128MB before installing the guest.
I'm using the proprietary nvidia drivers from RPMfusion.

If I run (gnome-shell --replace and mutter --replace) in the Terminal from the fall-back mode, I get the following:
Code:
[user@host ~]$ gnome-shell --replace
failed to create drawable

(gnome-shell:30289): Clutter-CRITICAL **: Unable to initialize Clutter: Unable to select the newly created GLX context
Window manager error: Unable to initialize Clutter.

[user@host ~]$ mutter --replace
failed to create drawable

(mutter:30295): Clutter-CRITICAL **: Unable to initialize Clutter: Unable to select the newly created GLX context
Window manager error: Unable to initialize Clutter.
Interesting...

I had just installed F15, then installed GCC, dkms, kernel-headers, and kernal-devel. I then rebooted and tried to install the guest additions, but it kept failing. It installed the latest kernel-headers, but the kernel was still the original. I did the updates, rebooted, and then installed the guest additions, which went through fine.

After that, the Gnome Shell started up, and I was able to resize the window to be more what I wanted.

I guess I should add that I am running Fedora 14 x86_64 and VirtualBox 4.08, not VirtualBox-OSE. My Fedora 15 guest is also 64 bit.

My machine is based on an AMD Phenom 9850 with 8 GB RAM, of which I dedicated one processor and 2 GB RAM to the virtual machine. I don't know if having IO-APIC checked makes a difference in this.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	basic.png
Views:	121
Size:	67.7 KB
ID:	21084   Click image for larger version

Name:	acceleration.png
Views:	129
Size:	65.6 KB
ID:	21085   Click image for larger version

Name:	System.png
Views:	120
Size:	102.2 KB
ID:	21086   Click image for larger version

Name:	display.png
Views:	124
Size:	78.6 KB
ID:	21087  
__________________
StephenH

"We must understand the reality that just because our culture claims certain things are true it does not mean they are!" --M. Liederbach

http://pilgrim-wanderings.blogspot.com
  #14  
Old 24th May 2011, 10:28 AM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
linuxredhatfirefox
Re: vbox supports gnome3

Quote:
Originally Posted by StephenH View Post
Interesting...

I had just installed F15, then installed GCC, dkms, kernel-headers, and kernal-devel. I then rebooted and tried to install the guest additions, but it kept failing. It installed the latest kernel-headers, but the kernel was still the original. I did the updates, rebooted, and then installed the guest additions, which went through fine.

After that, the Gnome Shell started up, and I was able to resize the window to be more what I wanted.

I guess I should add that I am running Fedora 14 x86_64 and VirtualBox 4.08, not VirtualBox-OSE. My Fedora 15 guest is also 64 bit.

My machine is based on an AMD Phenom 9850 with 8 GB RAM, of which I dedicated one processor and 2 GB RAM to the virtual machine. I don't know if having IO-APIC checked makes a difference in this.
I used 3 cores for my VM.

.
  #15  
Old 23rd May 2011, 05:36 PM
smr54 Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5,503
linuxopera
Re: vbox supports gnome3

I couldn't get it to work either. However, didn't try very hard. Installed F15, guest additions, but as I don't use Gnome, it was more an exercise to see if it would work--when it went back into fallback mode, stopped trying.
 

Tags
gnome3, supports, vbox

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bugs with Gnome3 gatlin F15 Rants - Talking To The Wind 4 22nd April 2011 03:34 PM
[SOLVED] GNOME3 and ATi drivers? FallenUnia F15 Development 3 14th April 2011 05:19 PM
Can F14 users use Gnome3? wu_qso Using Fedora 12 8th April 2011 10:25 AM
Empathy in Gnome3 tox F15 Development 2 14th March 2011 08:59 AM


Current GMT-time: 23:47 (Tuesday, 02-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat