Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 18th November 2009, 12:37 AM
t020673 Offline

windows_xp_2003firefox
Installing on Virtual Machine

I am extremely new to Linux and need some advice. I want to install Linux on a virtual machine (VMWare ESXi). My PC runs W7 64-bit. Can I install the new 32-bit Fedora Linux in a VM environment? Is there any advice people can give me?
Old 18th November 2009, 12:44 AM
diamond_ramsey Offline

windows_xp_2003firefox
:) t020673, thank you for your post. :)

t020673, thank you for your post.

Quote:
Originally Posted by t020673 View Post
...I want to install Linux on a virtual machine (VMWare ESXi). My PC runs W7 64-bit. Can I install the new 32-bit Fedora Linux in a VM environment?...
I use VMware Server with my variety of Fedora 12 32-bit systems and life is good.

Quote:
...Is there any advice people can give me?...
I implement a dual core and 3072 MB memory model for the maximum build. I do not know VMware ESXi. With VMware ESXi, could you be able to allocate more memory resources, accordingly.

Build and see, adjust and evaluate. My establish baseline functions very well for the four Fedora systems which I am running.

Hope this helps.
2 dual cores, 11 GB RAM, F21 - 3.17.1-302.fc21.x86_64 / i686
80 x86_64 computing cores, 144 GB RAM & 8 SATA Seagate 7200.12 500 GB harddisks

Last edited by diamond_ramsey; 18th November 2009 at 04:06 AM.
Old 18th November 2009, 02:32 AM
forkbomb Offline

windows_7firefox
Depends on your processor. A 32-bit guest will work.

As far as I understand a 64-bit guest is only possible if you have a VT-enabled processor, even if you have a 64-bit host OS.

Also, VMWare ESXi is a bare-metal install. ESXi isn't something you install "in Windows" - ESXi is its own operating system. If you want to virtualize "on top of" Windows (or "on top of" Linux) you'll need to look into VMware Server, VMware Player, or VMware Workstation.
Old 18th November 2009, 05:39 AM
diamond_ramsey Offline