Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 29th October 2008, 08:40 PM
Kaya Saman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 114
Xorg not working for PowerBook G3 F9 install?

Hi,

after my issues with teh Net install were resolved I can't get Fedora to work in GUI mode

I have successfully install the system and it boots without use of cd!

http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=202745

post contains log files for the xserver, but since this is a post install issue I thought the best thing would be to create a new post to the point of the topic.

The powerbook is a Pismo model 400MHz or firewire as it's sometimes reffered to with an ATI Rage 128 graphics controller and 8MB of Video memory.

However the local M3 parent which it claims won't detect the screen and generally doesn't start up has any body got any ideas?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29th October 2008, 08:44 PM
Kaya Saman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 114
Oh and BTW this is wierd since Fedora Core 6 worked fine on the machine it was just pathetically slow and no updates.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30th October 2008, 12:29 AM
Kaya Saman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 114
Well I found this post and it sorted my problem: http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=194173

The graphics driver was wrong, the device section should have looked like this:

Code:
Section "Device"
        Identifier  "Videocard0"
        Driver      "fbdev"
        Option      "UseFBDev" "true"
EndSection
I'm just a bit dissapointed that I had no replies or even suggestions to where my issues could be!!

I thought this was a forum not a search to help desk! Google first if that fails google more if after that it fails again post?? Maybe in this case don't post just faf around untill either your system works or breaks

I realize that this isn't the x86 part where more people know about issues but if I had been a total newbee who didn't understand the difference between Xorg and Xfree or even X11 and say FTP then what?
-Move onto somewhere else where maybe the support is better for possibly the same problem!

Just because I am not a regular with Fedora doesn't mean that I should be discriminated against!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30th October 2008, 03:09 AM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,294
It is entirely possible that no one had any good, useful suggestions to offer, or that the people who might have were not on-line. Besides, you first posted at 3:40 PM today, which is 6 hours 20 minutes ago - not enough time for a lot of responses from busy people with "Real Lives".

I suggest that you give your posts more time in future, and understand that any response whatsoever is a bonus, when you have paid for none. Such an attitude may also bring more help than posts like the above.

In any case, I am quite sure that no one is "discriminating" here in any way.

V

P.S. This also gave you the opportunity to solve a problem on your own, without interactive help, and that should feel good.

Last edited by Hlingler; 30th October 2008 at 03:11 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30th October 2008, 03:36 AM
carpetfeller Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Owensboro, KY
Age: 36
Posts: 217
If you have a ATI Rage card then the fbdev driver is not allowing it to work to its full potential. The driver that was automatically installed is the right one and I think the problem is with the refresh rates. I had this problem with my iBook but since it doesn't currently have X installed I can't give you more advice than this (and because I don't remember the solution.) The answer is out there though. I think I found it on Ubuntu's forum.

Last edited by carpetfeller; 1st November 2008 at 04:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 30th October 2008, 08:35 AM
ppesci Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 1,858
Ok, some times the help doesn't comes in time. PPC forum has not enough ppl but I check daily to see for answer the questions if I know the solution.

Put attention what carpetfeller said to you. Save your xorg.conf file and try to run as root the command:

Quote:
system-config-display
and select the correct card, display model and resolution. May be you get better configuration. If not, replace the xorg.conf file modified by the command with your original.

Sorry by the delay, but here, we are voluntaries. Maybe you can help others in the future knowing there are ppl that as you will need help.

HTH
__________________
Pietro Pesci Feltri

PowerBook 15" G4 and
MacBook Pro 17" Intel Core 2 Duo
Intel I5 Desktop
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 31st October 2008, 01:44 AM
Kaya Saman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 114
Quote:
It is entirely possible that no one had any good, useful suggestions to offer, or that the people who might have were not on-line. Besides, you first posted at 3:40 PM today, which is 6 hours 20 minutes ago - not enough time for a lot of responses from busy people with "Real Lives".

I suggest that you give your posts more time in future, and understand that any response whatsoever is a bonus, when you have paid for none. Such an attitude may also bring more help than posts like the above.

In any case, I am quite sure that no one is "discriminating" here in any way.
Sorry I didn't mean to have a go and I am very greatfull for all the replies so far, better late then never right!

I guess the Debian and Linux Questions are more high paced then the Fedora forum and as a Debian user for a while now I am used to getting replies instantly and also giving replies instantly too to solutions which cover my area of knowledge.

I guess the fault was mine and I take back what I said since my attitude is that Linux what ever distro is a community and we shuold all stick together!

Hmm as for the config I will work on it now!

It seems my whole system seems to be a bit botched as it won't detect the sound card either?? We are talking about legacy hardware here too!!

Video doesn't seem to run smoothely at all and keeps framing while using Xine too which is probably the result of the frame buffer driver.

Anyway I'll post back in a bit with my findings!!!

Thank you btw to everyone for not making me out to be a complete jerk!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 31st October 2008, 02:12 AM
Kaya Saman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 114
Well now that we've got the appologies out of the way and are on good terms again

Here is what happens when I try to run startx:

Code:
# startx
xauth:  creating new authority file /root/.serverauth.17441


X.Org X Server 1.4.99.901 (1.5.0 RC 1)
Release Date: 5 September 2007
X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0
Build Operating System: Linux 2.6.18-53.1.14.el5 ppc
Current Operating System: Linux powerbookg3.optiplex-networks.com 2.6.25-14.fc9.ppc #1 Thu May 1 05:51:33 EDT 2008 ppc
Build Date: 06 May 2008  03:28:46PM
Build ID: xorg-x11-server 1.4.99.901-29.20080415.fc9
        Before reporting problems, check http://wiki.x.org
        to make sure that you have the latest version.
Module Loader present
Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
        (++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
        (WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(==) Log file: "/var/log/Xorg.0.log", Time: Fri Oct 31 03:09:24 2008
(==) Using config file: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf"
(EE) Unable to find a valid framebuffer device
(EE) R128(0): Failed to open framebuffer device, consult warnings and/or errors above for possible reasons
        (you may have to look at the server log to see warnings)
(EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration.

Fatal server error:
no screens found
giving up.
xinit:  Connection refused (errno 111):  unable to connect to X server
xinit:  No such process (errno 3):  Server error.
The xorg file in use looks like this:

Code:
# cat xorg.conf
# Xorg configuration created by system-config-display

Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier     "single head configuration"
        Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
        InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# keyboard added by rhpxl
        Identifier  "Keyboard0"
        Driver      "kbd"
        Option      "XkbModel" "pc105"
        Option      "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
        Identifier   "Monitor0"
        ModelName    "LCD Panel 1024x768"
        HorizSync    31.5 - 48.0
        VertRefresh  56.0 - 65.0
        Option      "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Device"
        Identifier  "Videocard0"
        Driver      "r128"
        Option      "UseFBDev" "true"
        Option      "UseFBDev" "true"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
        Identifier "Screen0"
        Device     "Videocard0"
        Monitor    "Monitor0"
        DefaultDepth     24
        SubSection "Display"
                Viewport   0 0
                Depth     24
                Modes    "1024x768"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Viewport   0 0
                Depth     24
                Modes    "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
EndSection
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 31st October 2008, 02:18 AM
Kaya Saman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 114
Usually with Linux I always run on x86 or compatible and I know from Debian and previous installs of Fedora that ATI cards do not like to have a frame buffer set.

However with frame buffer removed I get this now:

Code:
# startx
xauth:  creating new authority file /root/.serverauth.17511


X.Org X Server 1.4.99.901 (1.5.0 RC 1)
Release Date: 5 September 2007
X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0
Build Operating System: Linux 2.6.18-53.1.14.el5 ppc
Current Operating System: Linux powerbookg3.optiplex-networks.com 2.6.25-14.fc9.ppc #1 Thu May 1 05:51:33 EDT 2008 ppc
Build Date: 06 May 2008  03:28:46PM
Build ID: xorg-x11-server 1.4.99.901-29.20080415.fc9
        Before reporting problems, check http://wiki.x.org
        to make sure that you have the latest version.
Module Loader present
Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
        (++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
        (WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(==) Log file: "/var/log/Xorg.0.log", Time: Fri Oct 31 03:17:10 2008
(==) Using config file: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf"

Backtrace:
0: X(xf86SigHandler+0x94) [0x10082e34]
1: [0x100364]
2: /usr/lib/xorg/modules//libint10.so(LockLegacyVGA+0x50) [0xe67dc50]
3: /usr/lib/xorg/modules//libint10.so(xf86ExtendedInitInt10+0x1e4) [0xe681f84]
4: /usr/lib/xorg/modules//libint10.so(xf86InitInt10+0x28) [0xe67dac8]
5: /usr/lib/xorg/modules/drivers//r128_drv.so(R128PreInit+0x65c) [0xe72d49c]
6: X(InitOutput+0xa00) [0x10066140]
7: X(main+0x288) [0x10022178]
8: /lib/libc.so.6 [0xf32d8f0]
9: /lib/libc.so.6 [0xf32dab0]

Fatal server error:
Caught signal 7.  Server aborting

giving up.
xinit:  Connection refused (errno 111):  unable to connect to X server
xinit:  No such process (errno 3):  Server error.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 31st October 2008, 02:21 AM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,294
Well, there's the problem:
Code:
X.Org X Server 1.4.99.901 (1.5.0 RC 1)
Here's mine:
Code:
X.Org X Server 1.5.0
Release Date:
X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0
[...]
yum update

V

P.S. rpm -q xorg-x11-server-Xorg

Result: xorg-x11-server-Xorg-1.5.0-2.fc9.i386

Last edited by Hlingler; 31st October 2008 at 02:23 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 31st October 2008, 02:29 AM
Kaya Saman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 114
Carpetfeller if you were reffering to this post: http://ubuntuforums.org/archive/index.php/t-7240.html

It states to pass this statement:
Code:
 video=atyfb:vmode:14,mclk:71
at the BootX prompt?? What is that?

as I always use startx to start my xserver?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 31st October 2008, 02:31 AM
Kaya Saman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 114
oops sorry disregard last post!

rpm -q xorg-x11-server-Xorg gives

Code:
 xorg-x11-server-Xorg-1.4.99.901-29.20080415.fc9.ppc
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 31st October 2008, 02:45 AM
Kaya Saman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 114
Wow I just ran yum update and I think I have major dependency problems!!

Suffice to say the old xorg version 1.4 is still installed
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 31st October 2008, 02:46 AM
Kaya Saman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 114
I don't know if it's because I installed the Livna directories to get more packages or just the mirror I installed from
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 31st October 2008, 02:55 AM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,294
I seriously doubt that it's a stale mirror. But it's certainly a package update problem.

Please post results:
yum repolist

V
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
install, powerbook, working, xorg

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't install Fedora 11 PPC on Powerbook G3 abrowers Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 1st August 2009 07:43 AM
install on Powerbook with a dead DVD drive? macman Mac Chat 0 2nd June 2008 04:09 AM
G4 Powerbook 17"/1.5/512 - Install woes. mdkathon Mac Chat 2 3rd May 2008 09:59 PM
[Howto] Install FC4 on a Al Powerbook mauldus Mac Chat 0 14th March 2006 06:28 AM
FC4 DVD Install on a PowerBook 12" 1.5 GHz baygins Mac Chat 6 6th October 2005 04:51 PM


Current GMT-time: 12:57 (Friday, 31-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Lefortovo Travel Photos - Bad Schwartau Photos on Instagram - Santo Domingo de los Colorados Photos