Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 25th May 2008, 09:32 PM
richmitc Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3
Fedora 9 Upgrade on eMachines T3104 Problem with Display

I upgraded my eMachines T3104 from Fedora 6 to 9 and had to work though some display problems.

I should have stopped when I could not get the graphic install to work. But NOOOO, I had a full backup so I just thought I would plow ahead with the text install.

After completion, the login screen would display and the system would freeze. After doing a recovery, setting the initdefault in /etc/inittab to 3, looking at the Xorg.0.log, reading this forum and others, and trying several different xorg.conf options, I finally got things to work. Interestingly enough, I got it to work by setting Option "AccelMethod" "EXA".

I got to this solution after discovering that Option "NoAccel" "true" worked. I just thought what can it hurt? Anyway, commenting it out put me back in a hung state. Putting it back in allows me to boot cleanly.

Probably setting the correct XAA option false will also work. However, I don't know how to figure that out without trying one at a time. I could never find anything in /var/log that indicated why the system hung up.

My video card detects as K8M-800M.

I just posted this in case it would help someone else.

Comments welcome.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 26th May 2008, 06:30 PM
richmitc Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3
Well....

After coming back to my system twice where it had gone to sleep and would not wake up, I decided to try the using XAA but turning on No options route. Sure enough, if I set all the No options to true, the system will boot. It is better than NoAccel but not much. Here is how the xorg.conf looks now:

Section "Device"
# Option "NoAccel" "true"
# Option "AccelMethod" "EXA"
Option "XaaNoCPUToScreenColorExpandFill" "true"
Option "XaaNoColor8x8PatternFillRect" "true"
Option "XaaNoColor8x8PatternFillTrap" "true"
Option "XaaNoDashedBresenhamLine" "true"
Option "XaaNoDashedTwoPointLine" "true"
Option "XaaNoImageWriteRect" "true"
Option "XaaNoMono8x8PatternFillRect" "true"
Option "XaaNoMono8x8PatternFillTrap" "true"
Option "XaaNoOffscreenPixmaps" "true"
Option "XaaNoPixmapCache" "true"
Option "XaaNoScanLineCPUToScreenColorExpandFill" "true"
Option "XaaNoScanLineImageWriteRect" "true"
Option "XaaNoScreenToScreenColorExpandFill" "true"
Option "XaaNoScreenToScreenCopy" "true"
Option "XaaNoSolidBresenhamLine" "true"
Option "XaaNoSolidFillRect" "true"
Option "XaaNoSolidFillTrap" "true"
Option "XaaNoSolidHorVertLine" "true"
Option "XaaNoSolidTwoPointLine" "true"
Option "AGPMem" "131072"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "openchrome"
VendorName "Videocard vendor"
BoardName "VIA Technologies, Inc. S3 Unichrome Pro VGA Adapter"
EndSection

I am going to let the system go to sleep now and see if I can wake it up. If that works, I guess I will set all the Xaa No options false except one and reboot. If I can log in, I will move on. Otherwise, I will reset and try the next option. Of course, it is likely some combination of options. If anyone has a good idea of which Xaa No options might be the right ones, please advise. Also, if you have any other suggestions, I would appreciate them.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27th May 2008, 12:58 AM
richmitc Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3
Option "XaaNoImageWriteRect" "true"

Was the one. I have commented the rest out. It is booted and fine so far.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2nd September 2008, 04:43 PM
srinivasasha Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7
thank you richmitc i have searching for this for some time now. this works fine for me.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
display, emachines, fedora, problem, t3104, upgrade

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Console display problem after upgrade to F9 mikebg Using Fedora 7 18th June 2008 12:03 PM
Fedora upgrade display set to :3.0 stevouch Alpha - Beta (Fedora 9 Only) 0 27th April 2008 07:52 PM
display issue with emachines 5310 adavis Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 3 11th June 2005 07:30 AM


Current GMT-time: 22:51 (Friday, 26-12-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
...The Clarence Photos - Al Riyadh Photos - Martti / Martins Photos - Mills Record Company Travel Photos - Belem Do Para