Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 3rd February 2008, 10:53 AM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Posts: 14,548
Almost funny

So Mr. Glennzo has never been a fan of bittorrent. Any bittorrent. If it's bittorrent only I don't download it. It's slow. Slower than a 56K modem slow. Useless, and of course I was always very quick to blame the whole bittorrent thing. Bittorrent is the problem. It's just crap. But now I'm changing my tune, especially since I've seen hundreds of posts where users claim to get blindingly fast speeds. Not here though. Not for Glennzo. It still sucks. But now I believe that it's not bittorrent that's at fault. I believe that it's Comcast. You see, I've been downloading a file, 498MB since yesterday afternoon. 12 hours now. With cable and ftp or http that download would have taken 15 minutes, maybe 20. This download is still going and I'm only at 38%. What the hell is up with that? At this rate the download won't finish until sometime Monday afternoon . Comcast / Bittorrent is a freakin' joke. Just ranting I guess, but it's sort of interesting that it's so slow. You'd think I was trying to steal national defense data.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 3rd February 2008, 11:07 AM
leigh123linux Online
Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 22,120
Have you tried encrypting your protocols ?
__________________
https://admin.fedoraproject.org/pkgdb/users/packages/leigh123linux

https://badges.fedoraproject.org/user/leigh123linux
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 3rd February 2008, 11:09 AM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Posts: 14,548
Huh? Leigh, thanks for the reply buy I have no idea what you mean.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 3rd February 2008, 11:19 AM
leigh123linux Online
Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 22,120
Quote:
Originally Posted by glennzo
Huh? Leigh, thanks for the reply buy I have no idea what you mean.
In ktorrent and azureus you can encrypt the protocols so your ISP has no idea that you are using bittorrent
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot.jpg
Views:	114
Size:	174.7 KB
ID:	14953  
__________________
https://admin.fedoraproject.org/pkgdb/users/packages/leigh123linux

https://badges.fedoraproject.org/user/leigh123linux
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 3rd February 2008, 11:21 AM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Posts: 14,548
I'm interested. But I'm currently using Transmission since it was the default 'open with' program. Maybe I can do the same with it or can I stop the download, install Azureus and resume?
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 3rd February 2008, 11:27 AM
leigh123linux Online
Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 22,120
Quote:
Originally Posted by glennzo
I'm interested. But I'm currently using Transmission since it was the default 'open with' program. Maybe I can do the same with it or can I stop the download, install Azureus and resume?
I would use ktorrent as IMO it's better than Azureus .
I have tried Transmission but found it was too slow ( my ISP doesn't block ) , when I changed to ktorrent I get normal speed ( 7mib + ).
Ktorrent can do resume .
__________________
https://admin.fedoraproject.org/pkgdb/users/packages/leigh123linux

https://badges.fedoraproject.org/user/leigh123linux
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 3rd February 2008, 11:32 AM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Posts: 14,548
Thanks Leigh. Installing ktorrent now. Just installed Azureus. Big changes to that program! Wow!
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 3rd February 2008, 12:03 PM
bob Online
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 68
Posts: 22,007
Give Deluge a try too. Frankly, I've had nothing but problems with Azureus this last year.
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 3rd February 2008, 12:06 PM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Posts: 14,548
Thanks for the input Bob. I installed Deluge and will give it a go. Matter of fact, I've installed Deluge, KTorrent and Azureus. Trying them all but I'm still skeptical
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 3rd February 2008, 12:22 PM
samwedge Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 10
Glennzo, I used to hate bittorrent as much as you because of the slow download speeds. But when I found the encrypt button my downloads went from ~0.5kbps all the way up to ~100kbps (sometimes more than 250).

Granted, if there are no seeders then the downloads will be slow no matter what, but give it a go on a strong torrent and wheeeeeeeeeeeeee!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 3rd February 2008, 12:53 PM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Posts: 14,548
Still no joy. I've tried KTorrent, Azureus, Transmission and Deluge. All tell me the file will take years to download. I'll be old and gray by that time. Ports are open, encryption seems to be enabled but still shooting blanks here. There has been a couple of bursts of speed with Deluge but they are short lived. In fairness to all of the programs there aren't many seeders. 3 at the most but they come and go. Oh well, I'll just let it run and when it's done it's done.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 3rd February 2008, 01:51 PM
Dan Online
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Paris, TX
Posts: 22,877
Did you punch a hole in the firewall to let ihe torrent through? I think it's port 6881 by default.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 3rd February 2008, 01:55 PM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Posts: 14,548
No firewall but ports open to this ip address through the router.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 3rd February 2008, 02:09 PM
Dan Online
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Paris, TX
Posts: 22,877
Hmmm.

I'm on FC6 here, so your mileage may vary, but try going to the firewall control panel in System>Administration>Security and Firewall>and then make the changes below. Might help.

EDIT: Attached illustration removed.

Last edited by Dan; 3rd February 2008 at 02:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 3rd February 2008, 02:12 PM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Posts: 14,548
I'm not using a firewall. It's disabled.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
funny

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Its funny... or what?? linuxelu Linux Chat 5 12th May 2008 02:42 PM
Funny MS ad rpstitz Linux Chat 19 11th June 2007 07:41 PM
Too funny Wayne Wibble 13 5th March 2007 03:15 AM
Something Funny pammiwhammi Hardware & Laptops 8 21st February 2005 12:11 PM
this is a bit funny makaveli Security and Privacy 8 24th June 2004 12:43 AM


Current GMT-time: 19:00 (Thursday, 24-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat