Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 12th April 2007, 08:27 PM
Motiab Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 14
Can't browse with first FC6 installation

I'v just installed Linux Fedora Core 6 along my Windows XP on my laptop (multi boot).

Configured the network to obtain IP with dhcp from my router and I'm able to ping variuos web sites.


However, I can't browse (Mozila FireFoz hangs) unless it is google. I can't even access my router (B-Focus 270 PR) with the browser.

I'v also tried TELNET to the router and perform LS (list of available commands...). I succeeded to login but after receiving few text lines it looks like it stopped receiving any more. It looks the router responds to additional pushes on the ENTER (it LEDs are blinking) but my terminal looks "hanged".

It works perfectly good on my XP on the same machine and cables.

Any idea?


Thanks in advance,
Moti
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13th April 2007, 09:40 PM
Motiab Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 14
Problem was solved by reducing the TCP Windows Scaling size - see below.

taken from http://inodes.org/blog/2006/09/06/tc...d-kernel-2617/

vi /etc/sysctl.conf

add the following two lines

net.ipv4.tcp_wmem = 4096 16384 131072
net.ipv4.tcp_rmem = 4096 87380 174760

sysctl -p
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
browse, fc6, installation

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I can SSH but can't browse the web? GammaPoint Servers & Networking 4 4th April 2008 03:14 AM
httpd directory browse onf F7 (ok can browse) and F8 (Forbidden, error 403) nuaing Servers & Networking 7 31st March 2008 10:14 AM
fc6 and unable to browse nosbod EOL (End Of Life) Versions 4 13th December 2006 03:43 AM
browse ilcarlos Servers & Networking 0 19th November 2006 09:08 AM
Can browse FedoraForum.org, can't browse google.com josephy Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 6 16th February 2006 11:12 AM


Current GMT-time: 15:41 (Friday, 22-08-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat