Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 18th December 2006, 11:14 PM
Wayne
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Opera 9.10

Opera 9.10 has been released. New features include anti-phishing tools... Grab the RPM from the Opera site.

Wayne
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19th December 2006, 04:13 AM
synic Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Age: 42
Posts: 266
Excellent... may not be open source but its a great browser.. : )
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20th December 2006, 05:14 AM
Plossl Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Total Perspective Vortex
Posts: 536
Secunia has a spoofing test here:

http://secunia.com/internet_explorer...spoofing_test/

It's the address of the pop-up that's critical. The test is a little misleading, or I should say I've seen it misinterpreted on Opera's forum. Opera blocks the spoof with no problem, as does Firefox 1.5.0.8.
__________________
Fedora 8
Slackware 12
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20th December 2006, 05:27 AM
Dies Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,754
No, this test is really misleading.....or I'm just a dumb@55 and don't get it, lol.

Edit - OK I get it but that's pretty dumb, I think they could have given the result a little better.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20th December 2006, 05:42 AM
Plossl Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Total Perspective Vortex
Posts: 536
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dies
No, this test is really misleading.....or I'm just a dumb@55 and don't get it, lol.
Ha - no, it's misleading. The giveaway is the message: "This page could easily have contained malicious information spoofed as being from Microsoft, asking you to install programs or disclose sensitive information such as credit card details."

It seems that IE passes the test, too. Someone on the Opera forum has posted a picture.

Anyway, notices of highly critical Firefox vulnerabilities on Secunia now. Glad I'm using Opera.
__________________
Fedora 8
Slackware 12
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12th January 2007, 11:55 PM
synic Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Age: 42
Posts: 266
Opera Freezing On Certain Web Pages

I have a problem with Opera version 9.1 - Opera is freezing when ever I open certain pages such as BOM

I think it might be the java applets that are being used by the Australian Bureau of Metorology. Those are java applets in action arn't they?

I have updated to the lastest 1.6 java - and am not sure why Opera would be freezing on me.

I can have up to 10-15 tabs/pages run fine at startup but every now and then it just freezes when I try to open another page.

I have noticed during install that it is "dynamically linked to QT". What is that and why is it dynamically linking to QT during install. Its just that because there dosn't appear to be any option to install via yum, Im not sure of the dependancies or anything like that (if there is any that is because I dont believe that there is).

Im getting the impression that version 9.1 isnt very stable?.. is anyone else having the same problem?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 13th January 2007, 12:57 AM
Plossl Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Total Perspective Vortex
Posts: 536
Quote:
Originally Posted by synic
I have a problem with Opera version 9.1 - Opera is freezing when ever I open certain pages such as BOM
...
Im getting the impression that version 9.1 isnt very stable?.. is anyone else having the same problem?
No problems opening BOM here and seeing the radar, with 14 tabs open. No problems with Opera's stability here, either. I don't power down my computer at night, and the browser will remain open indefinitely and being used daily with a dozen + tabs. It's up until I close it, and I can't remember it crashing on me.

If you don't get help here, try the Opera forums .
__________________
Fedora 8
Slackware 12
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 13th January 2007, 12:59 AM
Wayne
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Have you tried upgrading to 9.10 from 9.1?

Wayne
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 13th January 2007, 03:09 AM
Plossl Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Total Perspective Vortex
Posts: 536
Quote:
Originally Posted by rondonjin
Have you tried upgrading to 9.10 from 9.1?

Wayne
Wouldn't they be the same? I upgraded to the new version when it became available. Maybe I'm just lucky, but no upgrade problems.

Here is my version:

Version 9.10
Build 521
Platform Linux
System i686, 2.6.18-1.2869.fc6
__________________
Fedora 8
Slackware 12
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
910, opera

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
opera ahmad_fedora Using Fedora 1 12th April 2008 06:17 PM
FC5 and Opera JWilliamCupp EOL (End Of Life) Versions 7 7th May 2006 02:56 AM
opera for FC5 heinenslin Using Fedora 6 15th April 2006 08:37 PM
Opera is out RedFedora Linux Chat 5 20th April 2005 05:25 PM


Current GMT-time: 05:50 (Friday, 19-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat