Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 24th November 2006, 12:10 AM
keeler1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 201
Question Help with touchpad and monitor resolution.

First of all i need to know how to use GSynaptics. When i try and use it it says i need to enter "SHMConfig" "true" in the xorg.conf file. As of now the input part of my xorg.conf file looks like:

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Synaptics"
Driver "Synaptics"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "Protocol" "auto-dev"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "yes"
EndSection

I had added the line ("SHMConfig" "true") at the end and it still wont open GSynaptics. So i try and log out and back in and it cant start the xserver and it tells me there is something wrong with the xorg.conf file and makes me create a new one. Any help on this would be appreciated.

Secondly Fedora will not let me change my screen resolution. I use the system -> administration -> display and the change the resolution to 1680 x 1050 but no matter what it always will stay 1400 x 1050. When using windows my monitor displays 1680x1050 perfectly but it will not work in fedora as of yet. Any help on this subject would also be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24th November 2006, 12:22 AM
Brian1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Seymour, Indiana
Posts: 2,509
Never had any luck using that option. I think it is for old XFree X server and not the newer Xorg Server used today. Don't quote me on that.

Now for resolution it may be because the values defined in the xorg.conf file for the monitor. Also one can try by adding that resolution manually to xorg.conf for the 24 bit depth section as the first choice. There are usualy 2 or more screen resolutions in a row.

It might help to post the entire xorg.conf.

Brian
__________________
Distribution: RHEL 5.1 with Pieces of this and that.
Kernel 2.6.23.9, KDE 3.5.8 and KDE 4.0 beta, Plus Development src.rpm, ATI fglrx64_7_1_0-8.433-1 rpm with 3D and DRI working.
Acer 5100-5840 with webcam, ati, sdcard reader, sound, atheros based wireless, all working. Only thing not working is the memory stick reader.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24th November 2006, 12:26 AM
keeler1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 201
Ok here is the whole xorg.conf in the attached file.
Attached Files
File Type: conf xorg.conf (1.3 KB, 88 views)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24th November 2006, 12:23 AM
stevea Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 8,715
It's

Quote:
Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "single head configuration"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "Synaptics" "CorePointer"
EndSection
... and ...

Quote:
Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Synaptics"
Driver "synaptics"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "Protocol" "auto-dev"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "yes"
Option "SHMConfig" "true"
EndSection
This is under FC6, Xorg 7.1.1 as autoconfig'ed by Anaconda.
On FC5 I never had the SHMconfig option, yet the synaptic app worked.

Last edited by stevea; 24th November 2006 at 12:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24th November 2006, 12:33 AM
keeler1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 201
Thanks for you help, i now have GSynaptics working but my monitor still wont display 1680x1050 resolution. My xorg.conf file looks exactly the same for the server layout section but it still wont let me use the 1680x1050 resolution.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24th November 2006, 01:25 AM
Brian1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Seymour, Indiana
Posts: 2,509
I would increase the values of this.
HorizSync 31.5 - 110.5
__________________
Distribution: RHEL 5.1 with Pieces of this and that.
Kernel 2.6.23.9, KDE 3.5.8 and KDE 4.0 beta, Plus Development src.rpm, ATI fglrx64_7_1_0-8.433-1 rpm with 3D and DRI working.
Acer 5100-5840 with webcam, ati, sdcard reader, sound, atheros based wireless, all working. Only thing not working is the memory stick reader.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
monitor, resolution, touchpad

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
bad resolution on second monitor slune Hardware & Laptops 9 7th October 2009 06:07 PM
monitor resolution is too big old noob Hardware & Laptops 19 1st September 2008 08:06 PM
Monitor resolution tajin Hardware & Laptops 9 4th February 2007 04:44 AM
Monitor resolution chejose Using Fedora 4 5th January 2007 04:47 AM
Fedora Core 4 / HP Pavilion ze2348ea touchpad + screen resolution problem fedora_user_300 Hardware & Laptops 0 19th December 2005 10:51 AM


Current GMT-time: 07:04 (Wednesday, 30-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat