Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 22nd July 2006, 09:25 AM
weapon-x Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 41
Post Use NTFS partion on FC5

Hi friends i have windows Xp and Fc on a sigle HDD but on difff partion .Is there any way
from which i can see my all partion in FC
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 22nd July 2006, 09:36 AM
markkuk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,075
http://www.fedorafaq.org/#ntfs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22nd July 2006, 11:51 AM
weapon-x Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 41
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by markkuk
That tech. is not working
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22nd July 2006, 01:12 PM
Jongi Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,952
My guess is that you do not have livna installed. The Fedora FAQ assumes that you have livna as a repo and that it is enabled.

Try the following as root (from the SF site):

# gedit /etc/yum.repos.d/livna.repo

Copy and past the below into that file:

Code:
[livna]
name=Livna for Fedora Core $releasever - $basearch - Base
baseurl=
        http://rpm.livna.org/fedora/$releasever/$basearch/
        http://livna.cat.pdx.edu/fedora/$releasever/$basearch/
        http://wftp.tu-chemnitz.de/pub/linux/livna/fedora/$releasever/$basearch/
        http://ftp-stud.fht-esslingen.de/pub/Mirrors/rpm.livna.org/fedora/$releasever/$basearch/
failovermethod=priority
#mirrorlist=http://rpm.livna.org/mirrorlist-5
enabled=0
gpgcheck=1
# rpm --import http://rpm.livna.org/RPM-LIVNA-GPG-KEY

# yum --enablerepo=livna install kmod-ntfs
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23rd July 2006, 08:07 AM
weapon-x Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 41
I have tried this tech also and the kernal has been installed .Please tell me where i will see my Drives.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 23rd July 2006, 09:03 AM
Linux_Weary Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 81
what is a tech? You have to mount the partition in fstab before you can see it... Did you do a google?
__________________
FC5_32bit
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23rd July 2006, 12:09 PM
weapon-x Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 41
I think U dont understand. I tell u the whole story that how i have installed FC5.
1.I have 4 partion on my 80 GB HDD.
2. C: Windows NTFS
D; LINUX
E: NTFS
F: NTFS
3. I remove my D: ans make it unpartion .When i install the FC5 I choose the option of USE ALL THE UN-PARTION HDD.
4. FC% is now installed .

NOW i want that is there any way through which i can Access All the NTFS part. While running LINUX...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 23rd July 2006, 12:42 PM
markkuk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,075
Quote:
Originally Posted by weapon-x
NOW i want that is there any way through which i can Access All the NTFS part. While running LINUX...
Yes.
See the previous messages in this thread for instructions.
Read http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html before repeating your question yet another time.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 23rd July 2006, 12:51 PM
Jongi Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,952
In lInux could you do (as root) a :

# fdisk -l

and post the results here
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 23rd July 2006, 03:26 PM
weapon-x Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 41
Yes ,,
Result :[root@localhost ~]# # fdisk -l
[root@localhost ~]#
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 23rd July 2006, 03:28 PM
jim Offline
Retired Community Manager & Avid Drinker Of Suds
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Age: 40
Posts: 4,175
try it without the #
Code:
su -
enter roots password
Code:
fdisk -l

furthermore you do not need the livina repo install to install the ntfs rpm

this is a rather easy process.
1 obtain your running kernel version
Code:
uname -r
2. navigate the the ntfs project site
http://www.linux-ntfs.org/content/view/187/
Select your rpm the MATCHES your kernel version from above

So if you have 2.6.17-1.2157_FC5 from the uname -r command then you would select i686 in the same row as that kernel version.
Follow the instructions to download the rpm. Save the RPM to your Desktop

3. Installing

Double Click the Rpm. Enter Roots Password. When prompted to install or not to install because the package is not signed, click install anyway.

4. Create a mount point
Code:
su -   
fdisk -l
will list out the drives
Quote:
fdisk -l

Disk /dev/hda: 80.0 GB, 80026361856 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9729 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/hda1 * 1 4677 37567971 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/hda2 4678 9729 40580190 f W95 Ext'd (LBA)
/dev/hda5 4678 7227 20482843+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/hda6 7228 8454 9855846 b W95 FAT32
/dev/hda7 8455 9729 10241406 b W95 FAT32

Disk /dev/hdb: 20.4 GB, 20416757760 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 2482 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/hdb1 * 1 13 104391 83 Linux
/dev/hdb2 14 2308 18434587+ 83 Linux
/dev/hdb3 2309 2438 1044225 82 Linux swap / Solaris
See /dev/hda1 says NTFS That your C Drive

So as root
Code:
mkdir /media/C-Drive
then mout the drive

Code:
mount /dev/hda1 /media/C-Drive -t ntfs -o umask=0002,nls=utf8
__________________
Registered Linux User: #376813
Western NY
My linux site
Smolt Profile

please remember to say if you problem was solved

Did you get your id10t award today?

Last edited by jim; 23rd July 2006 at 03:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 24th July 2006, 07:11 AM
weapon-x Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 41
Thank For Giving Me such a good and Important information .This Technique is WORKING and
now i can acess my all drives in FC5 .Its great Man

Thanksssssssssssss
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 31st July 2006, 07:19 AM
weapon-x Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by jim
try it without the #
Code:
su -
enter roots password
Code:
fdisk -l

furthermore you do not need the livina repo install to install the ntfs rpm

this is a rather easy process.
1 obtain your running kernel version
Code:
uname -r
2. navigate the the ntfs project site
http://www.linux-ntfs.org/content/view/187/
Select your rpm the MATCHES your kernel version from above

So if you have 2.6.17-1.2157_FC5 from the uname -r command then you would select i686 in the same row as that kernel version.
Follow the instructions to download the rpm. Save the RPM to your Desktop

3. Installing

Double Click the Rpm. Enter Roots Password. When prompted to install or not to install because the package is not signed, click install anyway.

4. Create a mount point
Code:
su -   
fdisk -l
will list out the drives


See /dev/hda1 says NTFS That your C Drive

So as root
Code:
mkdir /media/C-Drive
then mout the drive

Code:
mount /dev/hda1 /media/C-Drive -t ntfs -o umask=0002,nls=utf8
Can,t this be permanent .When I restart i again have to mount the drive
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 31st July 2006, 10:37 AM
Jongi Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,952
If you put the following in your fstab file it should be permanent

Code:
/dev/hda1 /media/C-Drive ntfs umask=0002,nls=utf8
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 2nd August 2006, 03:16 AM
buntz Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 26
ok, so i can mount my NTFS partition. Right after I do so an explorer like box pops up on my desktop with a message box
that says

"The folder contents could not be displayed."
"You do not have the permissions necessary to view the contents of "share".

It seems when I log in as root, it works fine through the GUI and I can see everything, The problem is only when I am logged in under my other user. How do I change the permissions for that folder to which i mounted the NTFS partition?

Last edited by buntz; 2nd August 2006 at 01:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fc5, ntfs, partion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Partion after installation Ujjwol Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 6 4th February 2008 03:28 AM
I need help with accessing a partion panamaszr12 Using Fedora 1 18th June 2006 05:14 PM
How to mount NTFS partion AlexejRM Using Fedora 3 24th April 2005 10:36 PM


Current GMT-time: 14:22 (Thursday, 27-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
BENESSE HOUSE Oval ( Annex ) Photos - Gate D77 - Universal Studios Disneyland Paris