Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 3rd May 2006, 04:57 AM
trailboss Offline

Talking Any programmers make changes

Hi,
I'm a total newbie to linux and I have http://www.startcom.org/ the multi-media version. I would like alot of things cut or taken out. It's of the same as fedora or might be off fedora, but the site says it's off Redhat. Anyway, I was able to load it with ease and I also got on the internet, yeppers a total newbie to linux and so far I love it, but I think my OS needs to be trimmed down. So thats what I need. Can someone do this for me?
thanks
Trailboss
Old 3rd May 2006, 11:36 PM
bob Online
Administrator (yeah, back again)

Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Sorry, but I've never even heard of this distro and can't give you direct help. If you're using YUM to update your system, you can remove packages that way (type 'man yum' for details or see this site: http://fedora.redhat.com/docs/yum/ If you're not using yum, since it's based on Red Hat and Fedora, you can at least use the rpm method of removal as described in this tutorial: http://www.rpm.org/max-rpm/s1-intro-...t-started.html It would also help to post your question on the Forum for your distro - I see they have one. Good luck.
Registered Linux User #362651

Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Old 4th May 2006, 04:54 AM
JordanN Offline

That looks like a pretty cool distribution. I had been thinking that Planet CCRMA needed to do its own, instead of depending on the Fedora project so much.

This looks very good. I do wonder how stable everything is.
http://www.startcom.org/index.php?lang=en&app=40

Last edited by greenlead; 4th May 2006 at 04:57 AM.
Old 4th May 2006, 08:51 AM
ccrvic Offline

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenlead
That looks like a pretty cool distribution.
It's a rebuilt RHEL4, the same as WhiteBox, CentOS, Scientific, Tao, ...

Vic.
Old 4th May 2006, 10:39 AM
trailboss Offline