Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 17th April 2006, 04:01 PM
ramaswamyps Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 206
Exclamation kde install problem after gnome install

i installed fc5 with great difficulty.
the following problems occured.
the kge selected for install hangs at the end of 2nd disk.
i selected gnome desktop and installed finally at 6th try.
the package manager is refusing to install kde saying it has no key installed.
the dependency calculation window itself get stuck.
i have to do only yum install kde.
any body can help?
i just bought the 6cd set.whats the use.
the system never did a firsttime boot setup.though gnome desktop works ok sound card also works.
i am not able to set up a user account.
somehow i liked the old fc4 mongrams and screens better than this new theme.
the upgraded xorg is working good .why the kde from disk not installable.????
my fc4 install works fine with kde-3.5.2.
i had great hopes when i bought the cd set for fc5.say somewhat disappointed.
ofcourse the system is more stable and appealing.
if only kde i could install from cds. i wish
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 17th April 2006, 04:20 PM
Christy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: UTM Zone 18T
Posts: 233
have you tried installing KDE through yum?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17th April 2006, 05:10 PM
ramaswamyps Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 206
yum install kde wants to download 99mb files.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17th April 2006, 05:11 PM
ramaswamyps Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 206
i did not find any add/remove programs like fc4 in this fc5.
is there noway to install from cd kde packages?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17th April 2006, 09:46 PM
JEO Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,787
Quote:
Originally Posted by ramaswamyps
i did not find any add/remove programs like fc4 in this fc5.
is there noway to install from cd kde packages?
In FC5, if you are in gnome, and press the applications button, look for the Add/Remove Software menu item that is the new package manager. It runs /usr/bin/pirut
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18th April 2006, 03:33 PM
ramaswamyps Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by JEO
In FC5, if you are in gnome, and press the applications button, look for the Add/Remove Software menu item that is the new package manager. It runs /usr/bin/pirut

Add/Remove Software

it looks for software updates from net not cds.
also it gets stuck at dependency resolution.never comes out of it.
there is no program which asks for cds to install from.
pfcourse i could install yum kdebase
and required minimum libraries for it to work.
this i could have done with cd no.1 only
the rest of the 6 cds are not use ful
thanks for reply.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 19th April 2006, 12:42 AM
JEO Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,787
Quote:
Originally Posted by ramaswamyps
Add/Remove Software

it looks for software updates from net not cds.
also it gets stuck at dependency resolution.never comes out of it.
there is no program which asks for cds to install from.
pfcourse i could install yum kdebase
and required minimum libraries for it to work.
this i could have done with cd no.1 only
the rest of the 6 cds are not use ful
thanks for reply.
You say it gets stuck at dependency resolution, have you added any non-fedora core 5 packages already to your fc5 installation? Is the FC5 a clean install and not an upgrade of an older fedora? You could remove those and see if it will install kde.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 19th April 2006, 02:54 AM
ramaswamyps Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by JEO
You say it gets stuck at dependency resolution, have you added any non-fedora core 5 packages already to your fc5 installation? Is the FC5 a clean install and not an upgrade of an older fedora? You could remove those and see if it will install kde.
no its not upgrade from fc4
clean install from fc5 cd set. direct install of kde fails at some point and anaconda terminates.
only gnome install went throuh ok. the first boot screens did not come up on first boot.
it directly went to login screen.
i think i should try a clean install once again.
i have not yet added any non fc5 progs yet
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 17th April 2006, 09:27 PM
Christy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: UTM Zone 18T
Posts: 233
you're in Gnome, right? it should be at the bottom of the Applications menu. Once you're in it, check the KDe check box under Desktop Environments and click apply. It should then ask you for cds (I think)

Last edited by Christy; 17th April 2006 at 09:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 18th April 2006, 04:44 PM
u-noneinc-s Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wine Country, California
Posts: 2,850
That is correct, Now everything depends on yum. There have been several posts on how to add/remove software from
CDs, but I only have this one bookmarked (but it looks like a lot of work).

http://www.city-fan.org/tips/YumRepoFromImages.

Another thing you can do is mount the cd and anvigate to the files you want and install them with rpm.
If you want to install a lot of packages, put them all in one place and rpm -ivh *.rpm. The problem with this is you need to
track down all the dependencies.
I guess the CD's automount by default now, and I think you can install by doubleclicking the rpm as well, but I've never
used this method so I don't know if it works in gnome or kde or both. and again, if there are dependencies, it's still not
going to install.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 18th April 2006, 05:20 PM
ramaswamyps Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by u-noneinc-s
That is correct, Now everything depends on yum. There have been several posts on how to add/remove software from
CDs, but I only have this one bookmarked (but it looks like a lot of work).

http://www.city-fan.org/tips/YumRepoFromImages.

Another thing you can do is mount the cd and anvigate to the files you want and install them with rpm.
If you want to install a lot of packages, put them all in one place and rpm -ivh *.rpm. The problem with this is you need to
track down all the dependencies.
I guess the CD's automount by default now, and I think you can install by doubleclicking the rpm as well, but I've never
used this method so I don't know if it works in gnome or kde or both. and again, if there are dependencies, it's still not
going to install.
rpm -Uvh *.rpm from cd Fedora RPMS itried to install before posting problem.
but the dependecies it wants to download only from site ,doesnot want to look in the cd if its there.
i should have installed kde in the first place while installing.
if this yum install kdebase kde* files. i will try a clean install.
there is a drastic change in organisation of RPMS and their accesibility from cd ,from an installed fc5.
even now i have problem installing wine.
it says some x message is to be installed.
all my one year experience with fc4 does not help resolving fc5 problems.
i am still keeping the fc4 installation in the old patition.
the new fc5 has many advantages and equal or more number of problems too.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gnome, install, kde, problem

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gnome Art Next Gen Install Problem cksmuck Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 17th July 2009 12:11 AM
Boot problem after fresh install of Fedora 11 (Gnome) ELWisty Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 5 8th July 2009 11:09 PM
PLEASE HELP. I can't start GNOME or Install it on fc7, problem with Nautilus I guess. theiceman409 Using Fedora 0 17th June 2008 07:06 PM
How to install X/Gnome after minimal install? jmatzen Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 6 12th August 2005 04:18 AM
Gnome problem and Network install help thanks :) Hcard Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 5 16th May 2005 04:28 AM


Current GMT-time: 11:51 (Friday, 01-08-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat