Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 2nd April 2006, 04:08 PM
Uhu Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 17
upgrading FC4 -> FC5 and what went wrong

Hi everyone,

this morning I upgraded from FC4 to FC5 using the FC5-DVD. I was quite surprised that the installer kicked me out of the installation progress because:
- I symlinked /var/cache/yum to another partition. The installer didn't like that.
- in /var I symlinked tmp to ../dev/shm while /tmp was a symlink to var/tmp. The installer didn't like that.
And I still cannot understand why the installer complained about insufficient hard disk space - I had about 550 MiB free on /usr before my first upgrade attempt. The installer complained. So I removed openoffice, parts of gnome etc. pp. so I had 700 MiB free on /usr. The installer complained. Well after removing torcs and other seldom-used stuff I had about 1.3 GiB free. The installer liked that. After my successful upgrade I still had 1.3GiB free.. wtf?! Well, nevermind. Reinstalling torcs and openoffice is done in a jiffy. But I'm quite disappointed that I had to reboot every time the installer had something to complain - I had a shell on tty2 and I was able to uninstall some packages in a chrooted environment, so why doesn't the installer include a button "retry"?

Okay, so I finished my upgrade.

After booting my brand new FC5 X didn't came up which is quite natural to me because I'm using nvidia's closed source drivers and the upgrade included a kernel update and an X upgrade. So I installed the nvidia drivers using their tar.gz but since FC5 relocated the X tree from /usr/X11 to /usr X was unable to load the nvidia modules. Tried livna.org's kmod-nvidia and xorg-x11-driver-nvidia (or something like that) but there was an unresolved symbol in libGL.. whatever. I installed xorg-x11-server-sdk and reinstalled nvidia's stuff from source. Worked.
Next thing is that my Microsoft Trackball explorer (USB) mouse buttons were not remapped, my .Xmodmap was ignored because the "pointer" line now required 4 buttons supplementary (I have 7 mouse buttons and I need to remap 11). Okay, fixed.

But what really pissed me off (sorry):
- cedega isn't working any more, it's just segfaulting.
- xfce4-panel is crashing very often with some glibc violations regarding free() and stuff (where the heck is the X session log gone?)
- KDE applications won't work anymore because kbuildsycoca crashes every time:
Quote:
~$ kdevelop
kbuildsycoca running...
KCrash: Application 'kbuildsycoca' crashing...
kdeinit: Shutting down running client.
The dialogue says:
Quote:
KBuildSyscoca - The KDE Crash Handler
---
The application KBuildSyscoca (kbuildsyscoca) crashed and caused the signal 11 (SIGSEGV).
(backtrace):
Quote:
(no debugging symbols found)
Using host libthread_db library "/lib/libthread_db.so.1".
(no debugging symbols found)
`shared object read from target memory' has disappeared; keeping its symbols.
(no debugging symbols found)
[Thread debugging using libthread_db enabled]
[New Thread -1209051472 (LWP 15991)]
(no debugging symbols found)
[KCrash handler]
#6 0x01492eeb in QString::QString () from /usr/lib/qt-3.3/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#7 0x013ea593 in QDomElement::tagName ()
from /usr/lib/qt-3.3/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#8 0x00bd01a8 in VFolderMenu::markUsedApplications ()
from /usr/lib/libkdeinit_kbuildsycoca.so
#9 0x00bd0ae7 in VFolderMenu::layoutMenu ()
from /usr/lib/libkdeinit_kbuildsycoca.so
#10 0x00bd09d6 in VFolderMenu::layoutMenu ()
from /usr/lib/libkdeinit_kbuildsycoca.so
#11 0x00bd09d6 in VFolderMenu::layoutMenu ()
from /usr/lib/libkdeinit_kbuildsycoca.so
#12 0x00bd09d6 in VFolderMenu::layoutMenu ()
from /usr/lib/libkdeinit_kbuildsycoca.so
#13 0x00be0baa in VFolderMenu::parseMenu ()
from /usr/lib/libkdeinit_kbuildsycoca.so
#14 0x00be3b89 in KBuildSycoca::build ()
from /usr/lib/libkdeinit_kbuildsycoca.so
#15 0x00be40f2 in KBuildSycoca::recreate ()
from /usr/lib/libkdeinit_kbuildsycoca.so
#16 0x00be4a84 in kdemain () from /usr/lib/libkdeinit_kbuildsycoca.so
#17 0x001a6544 in kdeinitmain () from /usr/lib/kde3/kbuildsycoca.so
#18 0x0804e3bf in ?? ()
#19 0x0804eb09 in ?? ()
#20 0x0804f008 in ?? ()
#21 0x0804fb2d in ?? ()
#22 0x009817e4 in __libc_start_main () from /lib/libc.so.6
#23 0x0804b7b1 in ?? ()
Maybe someone can give me a clue on how to fix this, please?

btw - this was for my desktop computer. My laptop (which got a fresh FC5 install) works fine regarding KDE applications. But since there's no 3d-chip installed I cannot test whether or not cedega works. xfce4-panel also crashes sometimes on my fresh FC5-installed laptop.

Last edited by Uhu; 2nd April 2006 at 07:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 3rd April 2006, 07:01 AM
Uhu Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 17
xfce4-panel doesn't crash anymore after deleting the .config directory in my home but still kde applications cannot be started because of kbuildsycoca. Neither upgrading to kde 3.5.2 / qt 3.3.6 (development repository) nor using a fresh user profile did help :\

Last edited by Uhu; 3rd April 2006 at 07:15 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 3rd April 2006, 06:35 PM
Uhu Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Uhu
- cedega isn't working any more, it's just segfaulting.
Solved.
Quote:
- xfce4-panel is crashing very often with some glibc violations regarding free() and stuff (where the heck is the X session log gone?)
Still crashes randomly but seldom. I can live with that.
Quote:
- KDE applications won't work anymore because kbuildsycoca crashes every time:
Solved.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 5th April 2006, 12:50 AM
X-Jester Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2
Can you actually run anything with cedega in fc5? No matter what I try and run, i just get a freeze. It happens to a lot of people according to transgaming forums.

The cedega window opens fine, but as soon as you try to do anything it freezes.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 5th April 2006, 11:25 AM
Uhu Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 17
I have cedega 4.3.2 installed because the more recent versions have GL bugs like no texture shown and stuff. Runs fine after I disabled the exec-shield, with exec-shield enabled it segfaults immediately. I didn't had that problem with FC4 though.
Other problem was that cedega could not find the truetype fonts so I copied them into cedega's Windows/Fonts folder. But now it works as good as with FC4.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2nd June 2006, 03:06 PM
Nebuchadneza Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 10
Hello Uhu!

I have the same problem as you have with kbuildsycoca. Though I haven't upgraded to FC5 on this machine yet.

How did you solve this problem? It's really annoying cause nothing really works. Crashing Dialogs all the time... Tried to upgrade/downgrade KDE and qt several times, but it didn't help.

I would very much appreciate your help.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 13th June 2006, 10:14 PM
casio Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nebuchadneza
Hello Uhu!

I have the same problem as you have with kbuildsycoca. Though I haven't upgraded to FC5 on this machine yet.

How did you solve this problem? It's really annoying cause nothing really works. Crashing Dialogs all the time... Tried to upgrade/downgrade KDE and qt several times, but it didn't help.

I would very much appreciate your help.
If You have the Crossover Office Installed!?, This could be the solution :
(Atleast it solved the problem for me)

Edit /etc/xdg/menus/applications-merged/cxlegacy.menu to this :
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
<!DOCTYPE Menu PUBLIC "-//freedesktop//DTD Menu 1.0//EN" "http://www.freedesktop.org/standards/menu-spec/1.0/menu.dtd">
<!-- File Created by CrossOver Office cxmenu -->
<Menu>
<Name>Applications</Name>
<Menu>

<LegacyDir>/opt/cxoffice/support/xdg-legacy-menus</LegacyDir>
</Menu>
</Menu>

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 27th June 2006, 12:17 PM
akinokaze Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1
Thanks

Thanks a lot, I have been trying to solve the kbuildsycoca problem for weeks and this actually helps.
I guess its because the XML format is incorrect?


Quote:
Originally Posted by casio
If You have the Crossover Office Installed!?, This could be the solution :
(Atleast it solved the problem for me)

Edit /etc/xdg/menus/applications-merged/cxlegacy.menu to this :
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
<!DOCTYPE Menu PUBLIC "-//freedesktop//DTD Menu 1.0//EN" "http://www.freedesktop.org/standards/menu-spec/1.0/menu.dtd">
<!-- File Created by CrossOver Office cxmenu -->
<Menu>
<Name>Applications</Name>
<Menu>

<LegacyDir>/opt/cxoffice/support/xdg-legacy-menus</LegacyDir>
</Menu>
</Menu>

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
>, fc4, fc5, upgrading, wrong

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading from 8 -> 10; wrong architecture... buccaneere Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 2 12th February 2009 07:45 AM
what went wrong? chilled_bassist Using Fedora 1 3rd April 2008 10:49 PM
wrong output channel (front:0) after upgrading to pulseaudio 0.9.8-4 alarm9k Using Fedora 4 7th February 2008 08:20 PM
Up2date icon: You are at wrong place at the wrong time. tonytiger Using Fedora 2 28th May 2005 11:39 AM


Current GMT-time: 10:52 (Wednesday, 27-08-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat