Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 27th March 2006, 01:29 AM
svenkatesan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Singapore
Posts: 132
Graphic card

Hi
I had FC4 with no problems until recently when I changed my graphic card to geforce 2 MMx440, I unable to boot into FC4.
During boot it scans for hardware then once finished the curser blinking on the next line(can't remember now).
I tried rescue mode but in vain.
Any suggestion?
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 27th March 2006, 02:44 AM
bob Online
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 69
Posts: 22,137
Okay, if you can get into rescue mode, try (as root) 'system-config-display' and change the graphics card there, along with any other changes in resolution you may need.
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27th March 2006, 02:56 AM
w5set Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: ark n saw out in the sticks
Posts: 2,316
and if justol'bob's command doesn't work use a variant of the same command
system-config-display --reconfig
and it will try to use the old xorg config and if that shoots craps--it will use the mesa drivers and that should make the new one work so it will display the "display-configer".
you can then set the "hardware" to the correct monitor or the generic one with the resolution you need and set the video card to what you have.
hopefully your card will work ok with the default FC drivers until you can get the better ones installed.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27th March 2006, 03:04 AM
bob Online
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 69
Posts: 22,137
HA! Now THAT I didn't know! Excellent tip; thanks W5set!
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27th March 2006, 03:16 AM
fpoole Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: University of Kansas
Posts: 475
Quote:
Originally Posted by justol'bob
HA! Now THAT I didn't know! Excellent tip; thanks W5set!
I'll have to give that a shot. First I'll back up the conf, though.
__________________
Fedora 11 x64 | Tyan Thunder 3600B | 2x AMD Opteron 2376 "Shanghai" 2.3GHz Quad-Core CPUs | 16GB RAM Registered ECC DDR2 667 | Sapphire RadeonHD 4550 GPU | OCZ Apex 125GB SATA II SSD [ / ] | Seagate 1TB SATA HDD [ /home ]
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27th March 2006, 03:15 AM
w5set Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: ark n saw out in the sticks
Posts: 2,316
Just went through a few of those with my old P4 2.5g box this weekend--the bios doesn't have any place to turn off the onboard card and the only help with it is a pci first choice--but kudzu finds the onboard card about one out of 5 boots and I have to "do-it-again"--system-config-display --reconfig
Installed FC5 i386 over the old Centos 4.2 distro and kudzu has been a PAIN so I turned it off today--finally-with chkconfig.
Seems I am getting forgetful (partimers) about stuff--even left sshd running for a day, and just got around to shutting down "un-needed" services for now.
And this just goes to show ya--even a blind hog (me) can find an acorn once in a while.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27th March 2006, 01:42 PM
svenkatesan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Singapore
Posts: 132
Hi
Thanks "justol"bob and w5set"
My problem is when I boot with first cd and gave option for F5 to do safe mode...some times it comes and stop at "sh -3.00#"
What do u want me type here?
The aboue command where should I use.
since I am not that much geeek in Linux,pl some one explain in detail.
Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 27th March 2006, 01:54 PM
bob Online
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 69
Posts: 22,137
Try using the 'rescue CD' for that, although it may not be necessary at all. If your system boots all the way but won't go into a graphics display, you can hit the 'ctrl, alt & F1' keys to get to a blank screen with a login. At that point, you'd type in 'root' and your password and then use the procedures above.
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 29th March 2006, 12:27 AM
svenkatesan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Singapore
Posts: 132
Hi
My both ways to go to root account failed,here follows
1.boot with fedora 1st cd and press F5 to rescue mode
Some hardware scans(Its able to deduct my new card on this stage) it stops at
-/bin/sh-3.00#(don't know what to do from this stage)
No response to alt+ctrl+F1..so
-/bin/sh-3.00# halt(I type halt)
The messege follows
"the system got down.NOW!!
Sending SIGTERM to all processes.
Kernal panic-not syncig:vfs:
Unable to mount root fs on
unknown -block(8,3)-----for info,my fedora installation at /dev/hda8.
2.Normal boot
It boots initially and stops where config kernel Parameters: with blinking cursor
Fun is I am able to type any letters where the curser blinking.
3.Last but not least
I reinstall my old graphic card and boot into Fedora
It starts like previously--no problem at all.
Can't I use my new graphic card??!!Going to be white elephant.
Those have any suggestion pl let me know.
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 29th March 2006, 01:54 AM
bob Online
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 69
Posts: 22,137
Well, I've got a couple of suggestions:
1). If you're able to boot with the old card, simply complete the boot and then use the 'system-config-display' to identify your NEW card and then save and shut down the machine, change cards and see if it works properly.

2). Interupt the boot process and use 'no rhgb' (kills graphics) and should boot to text where you again could change the graphics to your card. Edit: Tried this - not what you want! Doesn't stop the graphics card.

Please understand that I've never had a graphics problem myself and haven't tried these solutions personally. I can only suggest that they MAY work for you, but you should probably read all you can in the Forum about other ideas before settling on a method to try.
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.

Last edited by justol'bob; 29th March 2006 at 03:33 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 29th March 2006, 03:41 AM
bob Online
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 69
Posts: 22,137
Here's an alternative to get you into a runlevel 3 (text mode) : http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=100939
That would be with your new card if it doesn't work after trying the previous 1). You might want to read up on Nano or Vim before trying this to make sure you understand how to modify text with those editors. If you can't get the 'system-config-dispaly --reconfig' to work , the alternative is to modify /etc/X11/xorg.conf and look for details in the Device section. Here's mine as a comparison:

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nvidia" <Note, I've got 3D enabled with the right drivers, if you don't, try 'nv' instead
VendorName "Videocard vendor"
BoardName "nVidia Corporation NV17 [GeForce4 MX 420]"
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 29th March 2006, 09:35 AM
svenkatesan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Singapore
Posts: 132
Hi Justol'bob
thanks for the suggestion.
I am in process of changing the card as well.
If i get the new card.. also same problem your written up will be useful to me as well as for others.
Again thanks a lot for the links too.
Bye
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
card, graphic

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best Graphic VGA Card Kursat.Unlukara Hardware & Laptops 3 12th April 2008 05:00 AM
Graphic card Driver help sccrboy1991 Using Fedora 2 24th February 2008 01:45 AM
About PCI-E graphic card satimis Hardware & Laptops 4 28th October 2006 03:08 AM
graphic card for fedora 5 frenzy Hardware & Laptops 1 11th August 2006 09:43 PM
Ill buy a new graphic card comrade Hardware & Laptops 5 25th August 2005 12:18 AM


Current GMT-time: 19:46 (Thursday, 18-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat