Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 25th March 2006, 06:13 PM
Gsundbrunn Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Age: 45
Posts: 33
Printer not found after cups upgrade

Hi,

after updating cups last wednesday my printer does not work anymore. A few days ago everything worked fine and i didnīt change any but the automatic update of cups.

I posted this to "installation help" - unfortunately I didnīt get a reply thats why I try it again here. Let me please know if this is the wrong forum.

Iīm using a printer as a windows share and now - if I start a printjob - nothing happens. How can i find out what the problem is? Cups is installed and the service is running. If I "re"add the printer I cannot send a testpage - getting the error:

/usr/bin/lpr: the printer or the class was not found

strange...

It worked for a very long time. Cables are connected, the share is still existing, I can ping the server, where the printer is connected to...

Iīve tested:

echo -en "\rHello\r\f" | smbclient "//192.168.1.11/okipage1" "secret" -c "print -" -N -U "stefan" -W "nettech"

successfully - the printer "printed" a page.

Any help urgently required :-)

Best regards

Stefan
__________________
--
Stefan Gsundbrunn
C-A-I-R-O Productions Ltd.
Sales & Project Manager
Web: http://www.cairo-productions.com
Mail: s.gsundbrunn@cairo-productions.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 26th March 2006, 06:51 AM
Gsundbrunn Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Age: 45
Posts: 33
Iīve spend now two days for reconfiguring my printer :-( Sometimes I hate Linux....

Anyway...

Fixed it by using http://127.0.0.1:631 via browser and configuring a printer there. The gnome-menue for the printers in System/Configuration does not work. The settings Iīve made there donīt have any effect and actually I donīt see the changes I made with http://127.0.0.1:631 in this menue. Is it a bug?

Regards

Stefan
__________________
--
Stefan Gsundbrunn
C-A-I-R-O Productions Ltd.
Sales & Project Manager
Web: http://www.cairo-productions.com
Mail: s.gsundbrunn@cairo-productions.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26th March 2006, 09:15 AM
lazlow Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,172
That is what I have to do every time I update cups too. I think in my case it is the printer driver (lexmark). The printer works fine. What printer are you running?

Lazlow
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26th March 2006, 09:19 AM
Gsundbrunn Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Age: 45
Posts: 33
Its an Okipage 12i connected to a Windows Server.
__________________
--
Stefan Gsundbrunn
C-A-I-R-O Productions Ltd.
Sales & Project Manager
Web: http://www.cairo-productions.com
Mail: s.gsundbrunn@cairo-productions.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cups, printer, upgrade

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Current GMT-time: 20:35 (Friday, 25-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletinŪ Copyright Đ2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat