FedoraForum.org

FedoraForum.org (http://forums.fedoraforum.org/index.php)
-   F17 Development Forum (http://forums.fedoraforum.org/forumdisplay.php?f=83)
-   -   Fedora17 Alpha RC4 (http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=276761)

bob 29th February 2012 12:42 AM

Re: Fedora17 Alpha RC4
 
Let's see, I've got F16 and Mint on my drive and was looking to add F17Alpha. Guess not! Postponed to Beta!!!

tox 29th February 2012 12:54 AM

Re: Fedora17 Alpha RC4
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob (Post 1558655)
Let's see, I've got F16 and Mint on my drive and was looking to add F17Alpha. Guess not! Postponed to Beta!!!

think i'll be doing the same , wait for F17 beta but going from This - about Gnome3.4 i dont see much difference between 3.4 an 3.2

AdamW 29th February 2012 02:52 AM

Re: Fedora17 Alpha RC4
 
Hey folks, sorry I haven't been around this cycle - I'm now the QA team lead and I'm finding I really don't have enough time to keep up with all the Community Manager stuff too :/ we'll probably be fixing that up with hiring one way or another, stay tuned.

Anyhoo: smr54, the sound bug is silly but it's easily workaroundable and it's not really 'intrinsic' to PA or ConsoleKit or whatever. The story is just that PA has a stanza in its default config file which loads its ConsoleKit support module, and if you have that stanza present but CK not present, it won't manage to load properly.

Obviously the fix for this is just to remove that bit from the config file, and it would have taken us about twenty seconds to do so - if PulseAudio actually built in F17. Unfortunately it doesn't, for an entirely different reason: F17 includes GCC 4.7, and PA's source needs tweaks to compile with GCC 4.7. We couldn't get the tweaks figured out in time for Alpha, so we couldn't do a new build of PA with the appropriate config file change to make it work in the new, ConsoleKit-less world. The workaround is simply to take the relevant bit out of the config file yourself once Fedora's installed.

creataphysics: it's not worth reporting your Shell issue, no, because the i8xx cards are fundamentally considered incapable of properly rendering Shell, and that's why they're blacklisted. Neither the GNOME team nor the X.org devs consider it possible to 'fix' Shell rendering on the i8xx cards, so there's no point reporting a bug for 'Shell doesn't render correctly on i8xx'.

What you should be able to do with F17 is use software rendering to get Shell on your system. The way to test that is not to de-blacklist your card, but to run Shell in a way that forces software rendering:

LIBGL_ALWAYS_SOFTWARE=1 gnome-shell --replace

So far, though, testing is indicating that performance isn't entirely up to snuff yet, so if you have a somewhat older CPU (which, if you have an i8xx graphics card, seems very likely), you might find it's just not fast enough to be usable. Ajax is hopeful that he can improve things before release, and we'll probably have a test day to try and get a more organized picture of performance on different CPUs.

Your case is a bit of a corner case that hasn't entirely been figured out yet - you have an adapter that has a hardware-accelerated driver which is considered not capable of running Shell and blacklisted. The ultimate intention is that you should automatically get software rendering of Shell in this case, but that hasn't been wired up yet, because it actually turns out to be rather difficult to do without preventing hardware acceleration from being used for things you actually want it to be used for (like games). There's some discussion of this in a thread named "A question about "Software rendering for gnome-shell"" on the test list. So for right now, this is one of the few cases which still gets the fallback mode by default.

AdamW 29th February 2012 02:57 AM

Re: Fedora17 Alpha RC4
 
bob: it's pretty easy to avoid the 'anaconda explodes if you have a non-RH distro installed' bug - just use the updates.img linked from the common bugs page. It does work, multiple testers have verified it.

For those of you having issues with nouveau and display corruption, what adapter do you have? An FX 5xxx by any chance?

tox 29th February 2012 03:05 AM

Re: Fedora17 Alpha RC4
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by AdamW (Post 1558695)
bob: it's pretty easy to avoid the 'anaconda explodes if you have a non-RH distro installed' bug - just use the updates.img linked from the common bugs page. It does work, multiple testers have verified it.

For those of you having issues with nouveau and display corruption, what adapter do you have? An FX 5xxx by any chance?

my problem is with Nouveau,, trying to boot a LiveCD all i get a DRM - Nouveau Video Corruption / my Vid Adaptor is a Geforce 550ti 1Gig Ram . Fedora16 works , F17 dont

AdamW 29th February 2012 03:23 AM

Re: Fedora17 Alpha RC4
 
hum, that's a different bug from the one I was thinking of, then. have you reported it to bugzilla.redhat.com yet? if not, can you do so, against the xorg-x11-drv-nouveau component, and let me know the bug number? thanks!

tox 29th February 2012 03:34 AM

Re: Fedora17 Alpha RC4
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by AdamW (Post 1558699)
hum, that's a different bug from the one I was thinking of, then. have you reported it to bugzilla.redhat.com yet? if not, can you do so, against the xorg-x11-drv-nouveau component, and let me know the bug number? thanks!

as soon as i figure out how im gonna get that log i will. ( i dont use VM's )

AdamW 29th February 2012 03:54 AM

Re: Fedora17 Alpha RC4
 
can you hit ctrl-alt-f2 to get to a console, maybe?

tox 29th February 2012 04:02 AM

Re: Fedora17 Alpha RC4
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by AdamW (Post 1558713)
can you hit ctrl-alt-f2 to get to a console, maybe?

i'll try that tomorrow

Dan 29th February 2012 04:20 AM

Re: Fedora17 Alpha RC4
 
Posting from Alpha RC3~4 LiveCD in the Fukushima Special (HP dv9904ca) now. So far ... so good. No vunderborks detected. Theme's as ugly as a mud fence ... but that's to be expected. <..:p..>


EDIT: The wallpaper, on the other hand, is really nice.

Code:

[liveuser@localhost ~]$ uname -a
Linux localhost.localdomain 3.3.0-0.rc3.git7.2.fc17.x86_64 #1 SMP Fri Feb 17 18:55:53 UTC 2012 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux
[liveuser@localhost ~]$

Code:

[liveuser@localhost ~]$ lspci
00:00.0 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP67 Memory Controller (rev a2)
00:01.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP67 ISA Bridge (rev a2)
00:01.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation MCP67 SMBus (rev a2)
00:01.2 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP67 Memory Controller (rev a2)
00:01.3 Co-processor: nVidia Corporation MCP67 Co-processor (rev a2)
00:02.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP67 OHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev a2)
00:02.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP67 EHCI USB 2.0 Controller (rev a2)
00:04.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP67 OHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev a2)
00:04.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP67 EHCI USB 2.0 Controller (rev a2)
00:06.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP67 IDE Controller (rev a1)
00:07.0 Audio device: nVidia Corporation MCP67 High Definition Audio (rev a1)
00:08.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP67 PCI Bridge (rev a2)
00:09.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP67 AHCI Controller (rev a2)
00:0a.0 Ethernet controller: nVidia Corporation MCP67 Ethernet (rev a2)
00:0c.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP67 PCI Express Bridge (rev a2)
00:0d.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP67 PCI Express Bridge (rev a2)
00:12.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation C67 [GeForce 7150M / nForce 630M] (rev a2)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
02:05.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Ricoh Co Ltd R5C832 IEEE 1394 Controller (rev 05)
02:05.1 SD Host controller: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C822 SD/SDIO/MMC/MS/MSPro Host Adapter (rev 22)
02:05.2 System peripheral: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C592 Memory Stick Bus Host Adapter (rev 12)
02:05.3 System peripheral: Ricoh Co Ltd xD-Picture Card Controller (rev 12)
03:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4321 802.11a/b/g/n (rev 03)
[liveuser@localhost ~]$


smr54 29th February 2012 04:23 AM

Re: Fedora17 Alpha RC4
 
Great idea. I really do seem to remember the last two alphas being pretty trouble free, so this way, folks might avoid surprises.

Dan 29th February 2012 04:45 AM

Re: Fedora17 Alpha RC4
 
1 Attachment(s)
Whoops! May have spoken too soon. Adam, keyboard screenshots is flakey. Might be a SNAFU with running the liveCD on a laptop, thereby requiring an extra keystroke, but it pretty much took an act of congress to get this screenshot taken. The lack of GIMP on the CD was a PITA too. <..:dis:..>

AdamW 29th February 2012 05:14 AM

Re: Fedora17 Alpha RC4
 
dan: can't you just run gnome-screenshot like any other app? just hit Start and type 'screens' and it should be there. but yeah, i've found the key seems a bit flaky, though I haven't figured out why. For a while it was giving me a keybinding error. Now it seems to cause a sort of 'shutter effect' but not actually pop up gnome-screenshot...

Dan 29th February 2012 05:17 AM

Re: Fedora17 Alpha RC4
 
1 Attachment(s)
The regular application from the menu works fine. It's just the keyboard function that either lags or completely ignores the keystrokes. Loading in the big desktop now. I'll test it there when it's up.

Ayup. It's weird in the desktop. too. A whole screen grab works ok, but a single window won't take at all.

So ...

Code:

[liveuser@localhost ~]$ lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RD790 Northbridge only dual slot PCI-e_GFX and HT3 K8 part
00:02.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RD790 PCI to PCI bridge (external gfx0 port A)
00:04.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RD790 PCI to PCI bridge (PCI express gpp port A)
00:05.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RD790 PCI to PCI bridge (PCI express gpp port B)
00:07.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RD790 PCI to PCI bridge (PCI express gpp port D)
00:09.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RD790 PCI to PCI bridge (PCI express gpp port E)
00:0a.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RD790 PCI to PCI bridge (PCI express gpp port F)
00:11.0 SATA controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 SATA Controller [IDE mode]
00:12.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB OHCI0 Controller
00:12.1 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB7x0 USB OHCI1 Controller
00:12.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB EHCI Controller
00:13.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB OHCI0 Controller
00:13.1 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB7x0 USB OHCI1 Controller
00:13.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB EHCI Controller
00:14.0 SMBus: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 SMBus Controller (rev 3c)
00:14.1 IDE interface: ATI Technologies Inc SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 IDE Controller
00:14.2 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA)
00:14.3 ISA bridge: ATI Technologies Inc SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 LPC host controller
00:14.4 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 PCI to PCI Bridge
00:14.5 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB OHCI2 Controller
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h Processor HyperTransport Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h Processor Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h Processor DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h Processor Miscellaneous Control
00:18.4 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h Processor Link Control
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation G92 [GeForce GTS 250] (rev a2)
02:00.0 USB Controller: NEC Corporation uPD720200 USB 3.0 Host Controller (rev 03)
03:00.0 IDE interface: Marvell Technology Group Ltd. Device 91a3 (rev 11)
04:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 03)
05:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 03)
06:00.0 SATA controller: JMicron Technology Corp. JMB362/JMB363 Serial ATA Controller (rev 03)
06:00.1 IDE interface: JMicron Technology Corp. JMB362/JMB363 Serial ATA Controller (rev 03)
07:0e.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Texas Instruments TSB43AB23 IEEE-1394a-2000 Controller (PHY/Link)
[liveuser@localhost ~]$


creataphysics 29th February 2012 09:28 PM

Re: Fedora17 Alpha RC4
 
@AdamW - Running LIBGL_ALWAYS_SOFTWARE=1 gnome-shell --replace fixed my issue. To think it was so simple. Thanks a bunch!

I understand why you'd think I had all crappy hardware since my graphics card is old, but about 10 years ago this was a high end performance machine. I have 2gb of ram and a 3.2ghz pentium 4 ht, so everything runs perfectly, it's just this old graphics card slowing me down.

I noticed that I have to keep the terminal open to run the shell, is there any way to make this all automatic?

Also I get these errors when I run that command in the terminal:

Code:

[matthew@Hal9000 ~]$ LIBGL_ALWAYS_SOFTWARE=1 gnome-shell --replace

Gvc-WARNING **: Failed to connect context: Connection refused
Window manager warning: Log level 16: Unable to register authentication agent: GDBus.Error:org.freedesktop.PolicyKit1.Error.Failed: An authentication agent already exists for the given subject
Window manager warning: Log level 16: Error registering polkit authentication agent: GDBus.Error:org.freedesktop.PolicyKit1.Error.Failed: An authentication agent already exists for the given subject (polkit-error-quark 0)
      JS LOG: GNOME Shell started at Wed Feb 29 2012 15:40:05 GMT-0600 (CST)

Gvc-WARNING **: Failed to connect context: Connection refused
Gtk-Message: Failed to load module "pk-gtk-module"
Gtk-DEBUG: Connecting to session manager



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:58 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.