FedoraForum.org

FedoraForum.org (http://forums.fedoraforum.org/index.php)
-   Hardware & Laptops (http://forums.fedoraforum.org/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   Dell Latitude D610 - FC14 - External Monitor Problem (http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=265982)

SteveT 28th June 2011 02:33 PM

Dell Latitude D610 - FC14 - External Monitor Problem
 
I have just upgraded from FC12 to FC14 (2.6.35.13-92.fc14.i686.PAE) using Gnome
Under FC12 the external monitor worked basically ok (there were some issues with an intermittent 'Cannot Configure CRT....' message, but in general I could use the external monitor with the laptop monitor blank ).

Under FC14 I can use the external monitor as long as the laptop lid is open (this seems akin to the problem reported in another thread under FC15).

The Fn+F8 seems to do some really odd things. Instead of (presumably) cycling through Laptop Monitor Only - Latop and External Display - External Display only, it seems to change the resolution on the Laptop display (from 1024x768 to 800x600), display only the background (not even the whole desktop) on the external monitor, display the 800 res on both, changes the res back to 1024 on the laptop...blah.

The main problem, is that even if I get a 1024 res on the external and a blank laptop screen, as soon as I shut the laptop lid, the external monitor goes blank for a few seconds, enters energy save, then if a key is pressed/mouse moved, simply shows the background image. So cannot be used. I have to re-open the laptop lid and press Fn+F8 multiple times until the laptop returns back to its 1024x768 setting.

I have used the control panel 'Monitors' and tried to set the laptop to 1024 and the external to 1440x900 and made that the 'default'.

But none of the setting seem to 'stick' and I end up after the next boot with the same issue IE I can get the laptop screen blank and the desktop on the external, but as soon as I close the lid the external image blanks, and just displays the desktop background.


Is there a way to allow me to run the laptop with the lid closed (the power management doesn't appear to have an option for 'do nothing' on laptop lid closure - is that the issue?) and with the display on the external monitor? Thanks in advance.

xrandr shows:
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1024 x 768, maximum 4096 x 4096
LVDS1 connected 1024x768+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 285mm x 214mm
800x600 60.3 + 56.2
1024x768 59.9*+ 60.0
640x480 59.9
VGA1 connected 1024x768+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 370mm x 230mm
800x600 72.2 + 75.0 60.3 56.2
1440x900 59.9 + 59.9
1400x1050 60.0
1280x1024 60.0
1280x960 60.0
1360x768 60.0
1280x800 74.9 59.8
1152x864 75.0
1280x768 74.9 59.9
1024x768 75.1* 75.0 70.1 60.0
848x480 60.0
640x480 75.0 72.8 60.0 59.9
720x400 70.1
DVI1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
TV1 unknown connection (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
800x600 30.0 +
848x480 30.0 +
640x480 30.0 +
1024x768 30.0


The xorg.conf is
# Xorg configuration created by system-config-display

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "single head configuration"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# keyboard added by system-config-display
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "gb"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
ModelName "LCD Panel 1024x768"
HorizSync 31.5 - 48.0
VertRefresh 56.0 - 65.0
Option "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "intel"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection

---------- Post added at 02:33 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:49 AM ----------

I have found a similar thing with an old Ubuntu post - http://ubuntuforums.org/archive/inde...t-1307857.html

So I used the gnome config editor to change the 'lid_ac' setting (under apps, gnome-powe-rmanager) to 'nothing' - still no joy. As soon as the lid is closed, the attached monitor is affected - similarly, when using the System-Preferences-Monitors to adjust the resolution of the attached monitor when the laptop screen is blank, it fires up the laptop monitor again - so you can't just adjust the attached monitor setting without having to go back through the Fn+F8 route again.


I post the above link in case it does work for somebody else.

DBelton 28th June 2011 02:48 PM

Re: Dell Latitude D610 - FC14 - External Monitor Problem
 
This is due to the Gnome developers in their oh so infinite wisdom on knowing what all users want and deciding that every laptop user wishes to suspend the system when they close the lid.

Install Gnome Tweak Tool, run it, in the left hand panel, select Shell, and there is an option to change what happens when you close the lid.


Code:

yum install gnome-tweak-tool
Edit:

I just noticed that you are running Fedora 14, not Fedora 15 as I was thinking when I wrote the above steps. I will have to look back on one of my F14 systems to find the options on it. Disregard the above steps.

SteveT 30th June 2011 10:40 AM

Re: Dell Latitude D610 - FC14 - External Monitor Problem
 
OK, I've seen why the 'external' monitor sometimes just has the background - it appears that part of the Fn+F8 cycle is to use a 'dual' head (I always thought there was a separate config for this?).

So the cycle is?:
laptop screen only
external monitor only
laptop monitor + dual head with external monitor (workspces switcher shows extended panels)
laptop screen and same display on external monitor
laptop screen + dual head (changed res)

Is that correct?

The problem then appears to be in the dual head - as the second stage (ie external monitor only), shows the workspace switcher with the extended boxes (even though the laptop screen is blank). It would also appear that apps such as totem, then cause the latop screen to fire-up.

Is there then something in the dual head set up that caters for this - and where is the FC14 dual head set up?

---------- Post added at 10:40 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:16 AM ----------

OK - I can't find a specific dual head set up (presumably Preferences - Monitors is supposed to handle monitor config in one place?) I did also try lxrandr - that has a simple do you want this display on or off input. That seemed to work as I could simply turn the laptop screen off. After closing the laptop lid, it all worked ok for about a minute - and then 'something' triggered the dual head again, and the laptop sprang into life (I was using a terminal session, Evolution, Firefox)


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:25 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.