FedoraForum.org

FedoraForum.org (http://forums.fedoraforum.org/index.php)
-   Guides & Solutions (No Questions) (http://forums.fedoraforum.org/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   Howto for fglrx / catalyst (Ati driver) (http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=155503)

Jeff72 11th May 2010 12:56 AM

Re: Howto for fglrx / catalyst (Ati driver) and Compiz-fusion
 
I could not get the Catalyst 10.4 packages working on Fedora 12 32-bit, though I was able to install the driver manually. I ended up removing both.

I am now using the Fedora 12 mesa experimental drivers for the basic desktop effects:

Code:

yum install mesa-dri-drivers-experimental compiz-gnome gnome-shell
Then reboot your system to activate the mesa drivers.

Then just click System - Preferences - Desktop Effects

Compiz-gnome includes the wobbly windows and the cube effect.

gnome-shell is pretty interesting too.

Plus, I assume this will work with Fedora 13 when it comes out soon. I also assume the Catalyst driver will not work with Fedora 13 right away.

leigh123linux 11th May 2010 09:18 AM

Re: Howto for fglrx / catalyst (Ati driver) and Compiz-fusion
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jeff72 (Post 1358653)
I could not get the Catalyst 10.4 packages working on Fedora 12 32-bit, though I was able to install the driver manually. I ended up removing both.

I am now using the Fedora 12 mesa experimental drivers for the basic desktop effects:

Code:

yum install mesa-dri-drivers-experimental compiz-gnome gnome-shell
Then reboot your system to activate the mesa drivers.

Then just click System - Preferences - Desktop Effects

Compiz-gnome includes the wobbly windows and the cube effect.

gnome-shell is pretty interesting too.

Plus, I assume this will work with Fedora 13 when it comes out soon. I also assume the Catalyst driver will not work with Fedora 13 right away.


Give it 5 or 6 months :rolleyes:

bony00 11th May 2010 06:38 PM

Re: Howto for fglrx / catalyst (Ati driver) and Compiz-fusion
 
the rpm packages are good working on my system (HD 2600), but I had to disable SELinx, because with enabled SELinux config KDM and GDM are not able to start...

have anybody the same problem?

I did not read all posts, but for suspend i have to add the kernel parameter "nomodeset"...

grep4splat 11th May 2010 07:46 PM

Re: Howto for fglrx / catalyst (Ati driver) and Compiz-fusion
 
Uh it appears kernel 2.6.32.12-115.fc12 required for catalyst is no longer available. 2.6.32.12-114.fc12 is as high as t goes in the test repo and it is not in rawhide either.

reader69 13th May 2010 04:53 PM

Re: Howto for fglrx / catalyst (Ati driver) and Compiz-fusion
 
I using one from koji : http://koji.fedoraproject.org/koji/b...buildID=170132.
It seems working now on my fedora 12 64 system.

slayerking 15th May 2010 10:42 AM

Re: Howto for fglrx / catalyst (Ati driver) and Compiz-fusion
 
Doesn't work for me either, 2 identical machines 1 worked the other locks up just after the initial load screen. The odd thing is the one that works the boot screen is completely different, It's a bar along the bottom of a black screen. The one that doesn't is the blue screen with the small fedora icon in the centre.

When I say identical I mean identical by the way, I bought 2 of everything one for games one for everything else. They are both installed from the same disc and both applied a yum update as soon as up.

EDIT: Installed the ATI driver package as per this post and it works perfect now.

MMXZ 15th May 2010 04:14 PM

Re: Howto for fglrx / catalyst (Ati driver) and Compiz-fusion
 
I seem to have slayerking's problem, only my system has the blue bar at the bottom and still locks up somewhere between the load screen and the log in screen. This is with kernel 2.6.32.11-99.fc12.x86_64. Is there any way to fix this? The only other kernels I (think I) have are 2.6.32.10-90.fc12.x86_64 and 2.6.32.9-70.fc12.x86_64, but after the initial load (this time with the little fedora logo) it meets the same end. Forgive me if this isn't the right place.

On another note, does anyone know if the latest ATI driver (10.4 is it?) works with F13?

leigh123linux 15th May 2010 04:35 PM

Re: Howto for fglrx / catalyst (Ati driver) and Compiz-fusion
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by MMXZ (Post 1360025)
I seem to have slayerking's problem, only my system has the blue bar at the bottom and still locks up somewhere between the load screen and the log in screen. This is with kernel 2.6.32.11-99.fc12.x86_64. Is there any way to fix this? The only other kernels I (think I) have are 2.6.32.10-90.fc12.x86_64 and 2.6.32.9-70.fc12.x86_64, but after the initial load (this time with the little fedora logo) it meets the same end. Forgive me if this isn't the right place.


post ........

Code:

lsmod
Have you checked selinux?

http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=245139



Code:

su
setsebool -P mmap_low_allowed 1


MMXZ 15th May 2010 04:47 PM

Re: Howto for fglrx / catalyst (Ati driver) and Compiz-fusion
 
Please bear with me, I'm new to linux.

Where do I put in that command? I would assume into terminal, but I don't have access to it, or if I do, I have no idea how to.

So i do
Code:

setsebool -P mmap_low_allowed 1
using the rescue DVD, but still no log in screen. Before going blank, there is a screen about SELinux relabeling targeted policy. Did I miss something? I'm not entirely sure of what selinux is (if I remember correctly, it's something about security.)



Update: Nevermind, I found a fix. Ignore the orange text. Unfortunately, I can't fix my screen resolution, but that's another matter. Thanks for your help everyone.

FC12USER 21st May 2010 09:51 PM

Re: Howto for fglrx / catalyst (Ati driver) and Compiz-fusion
 
Hi, this is my fist time using FC and it's been so long i since i used Linux.
So please go easy on me, i did what the instruction told me to. I'm using FC12, the performance seems to increase(i don't play games on linux but compiz just feels faster and react more responsively) but i got this:
[root@Blender Did]# ntfs-3g /dev/sda5 /mnt/hd2
[root@Blender Did]# fglrxinfo
display: :0.0 screen: 0
OpenGL vendor string: ATI Technologies Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series
OpenGL version string: 3.2.9756 Compatibility Profile Context

[root@Blender Did]# cat /var/log/Xorg.O.log | grep EE
cat: /var/log/Xorg.O.log: No such file or directory
[root@Blender Did]# cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log | grep EE
(WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(II) Loading extension MIT-SCREEN-SAVER
(EE) Logitech G500: failed to initialize for relative axes.
[root@Blender Did]# cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log | grep WW
(WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(WW) AllowEmptyInput is on, devices using drivers 'kbd', 'mouse' or 'vmmouse' will be disabled.
(WW) Disabling Keyboard0
(WW) Falling back to old probe method for fglrx
(WW) fglrx: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:0@0:17:0) found
(WW) fglrx: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:0@0:18:0) found
(WW) fglrx: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:0@0:18:2) found
(WW) fglrx: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:0@0:19:0) found
(WW) fglrx: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:0@0:19:2) found
(WW) fglrx: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:0@0:20:0) found
(WW) fglrx: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:0@0:20:1) found
(WW) fglrx: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:0@0:20:2) found
(WW) fglrx: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:0@0:20:3) found
(WW) fglrx: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:0@0:20:4) found
(WW) fglrx: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:0@0:20:5) found
(WW) fglrx: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:0@0:21:0) found
(WW) fglrx: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:0@0:22:0) found
(WW) fglrx: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:0@0:22:2) found
(WW) fglrx: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:0@4:0:1) found
(WW) fglrx(0): board is an unknown third party board, chipset is supported
(WW) fglrx(0): Option "VideoOverlay" is not used

Is there something wrong? Thanks

16bitIQ 22nd May 2010 05:57 PM

Re: Howto for fglrx / catalyst (Ati driver) and Compiz-fusion
 
I have an ATI Mobility Radeon HD4670 card and am running Fedora 12. Had to do the following in order to get it to work:

1. Follow the instructions at the head of this thread for installing the RPMFusion package.
- at this point, I only got a blue screen after Grub instead of the login screen.

2. Add the kernel parameter 'nomodeset' to the Grub kernel line.
- This got the driver working and Gnome compositing, but KDE compositing still failed with
the message "Failed to activate desktop effects..."

3. in System Settings -> Destktop -> Desktop Effects -> Advanced:
check the box "Disable functionality checks"

Not sure what overall effect that will have on the operation of the ATI driver or Compiz, but it seems to do the trick for getting it to work with KDE.

nedster 23rd May 2010 10:28 AM

Re: Howto for fglrx / catalyst (Ati driver) and Compiz-fusion
 
Hi Guys,

Upgraded from Fedora 10 to Fedora 12 using preupgrade. Everything worked fine on Fedora 10 but on upgrade the display fails.

I can access the text prompt using ctrl+alt+F2.

Followed the instructions at the start of this thread but to no avail.

At least the fglrx module is now present.

My machine is 64-bit architecture. The following details are my video card from lspci =

01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc R340 [Radeon X800] (PCIE)
01:00.1 Display Controller: ATI Technologies Inc R340 [Radeon X800] (PCIE) (Secondary)

However in the Xorg logs i get (EE) No supported AMD Display adapaters were found.

If i type fglrx i get Error:unable to open display (null)

if i type glxinfo i get Error:unable to open display(null).


Has anyone got any advice to remedy this problem?

leigh123linux 23rd May 2010 11:03 AM

Re: Howto for fglrx / catalyst (Ati driver) and Compiz-fusion
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by nedster (Post 1362018)
Hi Guys,

Upgraded from Fedora 10 to Fedora 12 using preupgrade. Everything worked fine on Fedora 10 but on upgrade the display fails.

I can access the text prompt using ctrl+alt+F2.

Followed the instructions at the start of this thread but to no avail.

At least the fglrx module is now present.

My machine is 64-bit architecture. The following details are my video card from lspci =

01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc R340 [Radeon X800] (PCIE)
01:00.1 Display Controller: ATI Technologies Inc R340 [Radeon X800] (PCIE) (Secondary)

However in the Xorg logs i get (EE) No supported AMD Display adapaters were found.

If i type fglrx i get Error:unable to open display (null)

if i type glxinfo i get Error:unable to open display(null).


Has anyone got any advice to remedy this problem?

Your card is unsupported

nedster 23rd May 2010 02:36 PM

Re: Howto for fglrx / catalyst (Ati driver) and Compiz-fusion
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by leigh123linux (Post 1362021)
Your card is unsupported

Would I be able to get any drivers/mods that work for fedora 12 (video card related)?

bingojam 25th May 2010 11:20 AM

Re: Howto for fglrx / catalyst (Ati driver) and Compiz-fusion
 
I performed the steps given for Fedora 12, But not able to enable Desktop Effects,

glxgear when i do i get below error:

[root@localhost federa]# glxgears
Segmentation fault (core dumped)




[root@localhost federa]# catalyst-config-display
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/sbin/catalyst-config-display", line 174, in <module>
app.run()
File "/usr/sbin/catalyst-config-display", line 148, in run
arg = sys.argv[1]
IndexError: list index out of range


.................................................. .......................

Error at boot level.

checking for module fglrx.ko:

Enabling the catalyst driver: Traceback ( most recent call last);
File "/usr/sbin/catalyst-config-display', line 174, in <module> app.run()
File "/usr/sbin/catalyst-config-display", line 162 in run except error, err Msg: Name Error: global name "error" is not defined

.................................................. .........................


When i try to open desktop effect, automated bug report is generated


I want to see Desktop Effects on F12 :(
.................................................. ..........................


AMD Turion || X2 M500 , ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4570 512 VRAM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:51 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.