PDA

View Full Version : compatable desktop?

sembazuru
26th March 2004, 07:33 PM
I am new to Linux (very) and want to give Fedora a try. I may also purchase a new desktop system in the near future. Is there anything I should beware of? What desktop systems will run Fedora well? I was considering a Microtel mid range small form factor unit. They have been tested with Suse, Lycoris and Lindows. I currently experiement with Linux on a five year old Dell that would need extra memory for Fedora to run.
Thanks

kbradl1
26th March 2004, 08:51 PM
Fedora will run fine on most machines. Sometimes older or uncommon hardware can cause issues, but standard hardware is always supported.
Your old DELL can probably run Fedora, as is. The desktop envionments in Fedora KDE/GNOME use a lot of memory (256 MB is recommended by the website; however I would recommend 512 MB) But if you don't install X or if you run the XFCE desktop instead of KDE/GNOME you can get away with alot less memory.

Welcome to Linux.

sembazuru
26th March 2004, 10:10 PM
Thanks, Steve. One more question. The unit I was looking at only has 8 megs of shared video memory....will that present a problem under Fedora?

Prometheus
26th March 2004, 11:53 PM
Probably not. As always, the more the better, but it shouldnt affect your running of Fedora too much. Is that 8 megs video memory on you hard drive or on your graphics card though? If its virtual memory on your hard drive thats easy enough to fix, if its on your graphics card, you have 8 megs. It kind of depends on what company makes the graphics card. If its onboard youll probably be ok.. if its ATI, i havent had any problems with mine, but maybe im lucky. Most of the problems i hear about in general are with nvidia cards. If im wrong im sure somebody will correct me pretty quick, but thats the way it seems from my point of view. It should still run Fedora regardless though.

sembazuru
27th March 2004, 01:28 AM