PDA

View Full Version : ViewSonic Installation problem


alapelli
15th February 2006, 08:08 AM
Installion of Fedora Core 4 goes well until I get to the point of choosing the # of color for my Viewsonic VG 750 ( which is in the list of recognized monitor)
Did reinstall in 3 occasions reducing the # of color to the lowest point: (256 colors)
My motherboard is a Asus P5S800-VM on which I use the VGA connector (no other
additionnal Video Card.

-My problem, I can see anything during the installation, but then I get the blue warning on my monitor that it doesn't receive any signal.

-As I can see the installation progress, on my monitor, should I avoid stating the monitor model and only adjust to 256 Colors ? ? ?

-From the Warning point my screen remains black and without possibility to go
inside Fedora to do some tweaking ? ? ? :confused:

Note used the same system with Ubuntu, without any problem ?

-If somebody could help me it would be appreciated. Thanks

steve_waters
15th February 2006, 12:12 PM
Perhaps try on install selecting Generic CRT monitor.

HAve you installed Linux on the machine before.

alapelli
15th February 2006, 04:02 PM
Note used the same system with Ubuntu, without any problem ?

I think that it would be the next step to use (Generic) the problem
may be with the Video Card on the mainbord ( Asus motherboard)
who's unable to give more than ? colors.

I will first research their site and also look at the possibility of
upgrading my Video Card. I love my View Sonic (LCD) but I often
wether it's with Window or Linux flickers, that would tend to indicate
that the mainboard card is working at his maximum capacity.

Will try different options, starting with the Generic CRT monitor,
and will post results for the benefit of others.

Thanks for the advice.

alapelli
15th February 2006, 05:43 PM
Have redone the installation for the fourth time. Kept generic CRT monitor
and now don't end up with the blackout. The dowside is that I have and
800 X 600 resolution. Anyway that's a start, will check the forum for
way to arrange this, but at least the system is functionnal and ready to
explore. Will take it from this point ;)

steve_waters
16th February 2006, 09:36 AM
I did not relise it was an LCD monitor, already installed now but you could have tried just Genric LCD :)

You can edit the /etc/X11/xorg.conf file and place your required resolution in there. It will down near the bottom there will be a section that has all the avalible reseltuions.

My xorg.conf file is a bit different as I have loaded up the ATI drivers. But it will most likely have a section called:

Monitor "0"
Modes "800x600" 600x400"

There are two lines that have resolutions in them I normally just edit both to be sure.
After editing the file you will need to reboot.

Should be better after reboot.

Palhais, Setubal, Portugal Travel Photos - Hotel Mercure Santo Domingo Photos on Instagram