PDA

View Full Version : Can't activate eth0 on Toshiba Satellite A105-S101. (Realtek RTL8139/810X)

PandaToledo
7th February 2006, 08:45 AM
Hello everyone,

I'm a serious newbie to linux. I installed dual boot on my Toshiba Satellite A105-S101: Windows XP Home with Fedora Core 4.

Everything goes smooth until I saw the following error at startup (before log on), I sense there is something wrong:

Determining IP information for eth0 ... [FAILED]

After I logged in, a popup error shows as follows, I'm not sure if this could also be the problem?

"No volume control elements and/or devices found."

Then I found I cannot get connected to my router, while the same connection works perfect under windows XP.

Then in the network configuration, the network card is correctly recognized by the system as "Realtek RTL8139/810X Family Ethernet Card", I compared this with the WinXP hardware devices to make sure they match.

This card is configured as eth0 in the network config, however when I try to activate the network, the error message always shows:

"Determining IP information for eth0.. failed"

I searched several forums and found some suggestions, but none of them works in my situation.
e.g., stop the kudzu service from System Settings --> Server Settings --> Services;
change automatically obtain IP address with DHCP to statically set IP address to ......

Please share your experiences with this problem.

Thanks in advance!

P.T.

PS: My laptop also has internal wireless card, but I have turned it off during the entire process stated above.

aussieoc
11th February 2006, 12:31 AM
YO, I am having the same trouble. Have you had anyluck try to get the wireless card to work. I have a thread going on in the network section.

http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=94741

I'll let you know if I come by anything.

sailor
13th February 2006, 05:12 AM
When i had first installed FC4 on my Acer Aspire 3000, I had the same issue with my connection.