PDA

View Full Version : how to change grub splash image with a jpg


ramaswamyps
26th October 2005, 04:02 AM
in gimp the splash image opens and i am able to change the fill with pattern only
how can i replace the content in this file with a jpg image.
its saying exporting the file will not save as tz or something
reading help does not help
any one can give me an idea how to change this file
;) ;) ;)

ieuuk
26th October 2005, 09:32 AM
http://art.gnome.org/faq.php#q8

have a read through that... im assuming you are using gnome for your gui

ramaswamyps
26th October 2005, 09:42 AM
i have installed only kde desktop
does it make a difference in the gimp operation?
i can install gnome gui also
i find the crashes are more with gnome and kde installations.
lets see after i read the link

ramaswamyps
26th October 2005, 09:52 AM
splash.xpm.gz
i am talking about the grub loader splash .xpm.gz
not the gnome splash theme
its difficult to see the white bootloader selections in a black background the selected item is not clearly visible
hence i want to change the splash picture of the file
hope i am clear in the question

ieuuk
26th October 2005, 12:07 PM
ah sorry, my mistake

ramaswamyps
26th October 2005, 12:50 PM
it was my mistake not to have put up correct question
thanks for the link i can change themes with that in other installations in my comp.
i should have asked it as a gimp help
not ur mistake anyway
thanks again

daneel971
26th October 2005, 02:58 PM
take a look here:
http://www.grahi.upc.edu/santiago/?p=156

capnlinux
26th October 2005, 03:28 PM
OK, I'm guessing here, but it looks to me like the splash file is an X PicMap .XPM that has been compressed with gnu zip .gz - If that is so, you would gunzip the splash.xpm.gz to splash.xpm, edit that with gimp saving the modified xpm file and then gzip the modified splash.xpm to splash.xpm.gz - which should then be used by grub in place of the old one. Be sure to copy the original file to splash.xpm.gz.original or something in case this is wrong and you need to go back.

ramaswamyps
27th October 2005, 05:04 AM
ok it works fine
it needed only those commandline instructions. nothing to do with gimp
how u guys get links like that? i also searched for the solution but i never got anywhere near
thanks verymuch for the link daneel971
the link exactly said the same thing capnlinux
ofcourse there is a drop in resolution of image . may be original needs to be of higher quality.
thanks again

Zhuhai - Pakistan - Pointe-Noire Photos -