View Full Version : Dhcp

3rd August 2005, 12:16 PM
I have a FC3 machine and I want to make it dhcp server to serve dhcp clients; I have seen dhcp6s, dhcpd, dhcrelay on Services; is anybody who knows which are the conf. files of these servers? Is anybody who has configured these servers and its worked?

3rd August 2005, 01:03 PM
Setting up DHCP by itself is not too tricky. It gets a little "interesting" if you want to integrate it with DNS. (Imagine -- MachineA gets an IP address from DHCP, and now MachineB wants to ping it.)

The O'Reilly DNS books ("DNS and Bind" and "DNS and Bind Cookbook") are great resources.

3rd August 2005, 03:07 PM
I am just guessing as I dont have dhcpd installed but I would start looking at /etc/dhcpd ? or type vi /etc/dhcp and press tab and see what comes up. If your going to bother setting up a dhcp server on a linux box i think it would probably be worth while setting up a dns server at the same time

3rd August 2005, 03:12 PM
The man pages that come with Fedora are also very helpful. Try 'man dhcpd' or 'man dhcpd.conf' It is not the best read, but it will hap you in setting up the service for your needs.


3rd August 2005, 03:35 PM
go with dnsmasq - it is lightweight/easy to configure DHCP and DNS (integrated) server.

4th August 2005, 11:27 AM
I have a FC3 machine on which I installed a DHCP server; the box has 3 ethernet interfaces and is not a router: eth0,eth1,eth2; my DHCP throws IPs:
In exist another DHCP server for this LAN;
I don't want the clients in to receive IPs from my box; is it possible? How?

4th August 2005, 01:26 PM
You should be able to configure different scopes on your DHCP server if you configure a scope for the and the subnets and not the i think it should do.

I am not 100% sure though as I have never seen a DHCP server serving leases for two subnets

5th August 2005, 10:07 AM
How can I configure a scope in my dhcp server?