PDA

View Full Version : DHCP or Static on new install?

chlhardy
20th June 2005, 07:59 PM
Howdy, NOOB here, I am setting up a lil home box as a server using the guide at www.brennan.id.au. The guide is really excellent but I am confused over one lil section. The author has their machine set up with a static IP address and they do not discuss with it is required or not. Now, do i need to set up my machine with a static address also or would selecting dhcp be alright? I have my machines running through a router but am not sure if the address for my server will stay the same if it is restarted, so thats why i'm kinda worried about switching to static.

Also, I subscribe to broadband through a consumer ISP.

Thanks for any advice,
~ Chris

pushback
21st June 2005, 01:04 AM
There are really two connections going on. Your router talks to your ISP and your linux box talks to your router.

Your router<->ISP connection would have an external, routable address. Whether or not that connection is static or dynamic is a function of what your ISP has told you.

As for the connection between your router and your linux box, you can likely go either way. Just makes sure the settings on your router are consistent with youe linux box. If you are going to run it as a server, however, you should make it static. If you are using a consumer router like a linksys, you can tell it what you want as they usually have a DCHP server built in. If you make it static, make sure you choose an IP that is on the same network as the router--likely starting with 192.168.1.

Zigzagcom
21st June 2005, 03:09 AM
Also, check on your router which IP addresses are in the DHCP pool. Many routers use a block in the neighborhood of 192.168.1.2 to 192.168.1.50 or a block on another subnet like 192.168.0.0.
Then, when you choose a static (private) IP address for your server, choose one that is outside of that pool.

Butt-Ugly
21st June 2005, 03:35 PM