PDA

View Full Version : UPGRAFE to FEDORA 4


snoze
10th June 2005, 12:56 AM
Hi all.
Well so far I am able to install and running perfectly Fedora core 3 in my IBM thinkpad laptop. I install everything what I was looking in fedora core 3. Good news is I am also running wine in fedora core 3 using my laptop. All media player and all programs are working fine. So far I didn't have any problem with my fedora core. Only thing i didn't try was to check wireless internet.. which i don;t need to check. because I don't have woreless connections :D

So guys I am now lil worried about my fedora core 3 :confused:

Soon after one week fedora core 4 will in market and many will njoy this new version of fedora core 4.. but I am lil confused.. I don't know wether fedora core 4 will work on my IBM thinkpad or not. But def I will give it a try before reading other comments.

IS there any option so that I can upgrade from fedora core 3 to fedora core 4 without any formatting and any other problems. If yes, then please let me know the deatils... I wud be grateful to all of u who support free code and free operating system.

thanks :)

snoze
10th June 2005, 01:04 AM
Anybody hanging around:D

shams
10th June 2005, 01:23 AM
you can put the fc4 cd's and then choose the upgrade, or you can use the yum to upgrade online.

wtogami
10th June 2005, 11:33 AM
Would be nice if you would give your Thinkpad model number and hardware specs. What brand/model of wireless card? What video card?

tejas
10th June 2005, 12:24 PM
So far I didn't have any problem with my fedora core. Only thing i didn't try was to check wireless internet.. which i don;t need to check. because I don't have woreless connections :D
This is a rather paranoid thread.

Don't upgrade if you don't want to, as there will be support for FC3 for another 6-8 weeks, and many people I know are jumping straight into FC5 (when it comes out)

you old version of wine may not work as well on upgrading to FC4, you can always get the latest versions of Wine.

And I've got to ask, If everything worked for you in FC3, why be so scared about FC4?

kylemaxwell
10th June 2005, 07:26 PM
The schedule for FC5 hasn't been announced yet, I don't believe, but FC3 will be directly supported by the Fedora project until FC5 Test 3 comes out (per policy) and after that will be supported by the Fedora Legacy project. So you should be good for at least 4 or 5 months for sure, and probably for a long time after that, if you don't upgrade yet.

So if there's nothing compelling you to jump to FC4, stick with 3 for a while. That said, all the cool kids will be running it... (actually all the really cool kids run rawhide but that's probably a little edgy for most)

snoze
10th June 2005, 07:43 PM
my thinkpad is R series and wireless card is intell 2100


And I've got to ask, If everything worked for you in FC3, why be so scared about FC4?

I am not afraid.. just worring of FC4 will not work properly. but def I will give a try and let u know about it. :)

snoze
10th June 2005, 07:48 PM
Hi guys if you are still don't have mplayer then use this rpm link

http://luna.cs.ccsu.edu/dominik/mplayer/downloads.html

Or if u are looking for Xine then try this link for rpm

http://cambuca.ldhs.cetuc.puc-rio.br/xine/

I try both and both are working for me.. ultimate sound. I like it more than VLC media player. which is working only for windows so far.

kylemaxwell
10th June 2005, 07:52 PM
In that case, if you do ever use your wireless connections, it might take a little work as the ipw driver in Fedora is, um, not fully mature depending on the firmware you have (or it might Just Work). If you ever try it and it doesn't seem to work, Intel sponsors a project for this very thing at http://ipw2100.sourceforge.net (I personally have ipw2200 hardware that has real difficulty in Fedora).

snoze
10th June 2005, 07:59 PM
Yeaah u are right.. but I have 2100 so I don't think it will; work though i already installed ipw2100. Let me see if I can have wiireless network

snoze
10th June 2005, 08:16 PM
you can put the fc4 cd's and then choose the upgrade, or you can use the yum to upgrade online.

R u sure it will work. I think it is used to upgrade same version prog.. any way I will try this too

I was reading general section

http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?p=277928#post277928

look what they are saying? :eek:

gavinw6662
11th June 2005, 07:46 AM
FC 3 is one of the strongest, and best products so far from the Fedora foundation. I would say if you were going to upgrade, your best bet would be to do a clean install. BUT, i haven't heard of any extreme changes with FC4 like there was between FC1 and FC3. So upgrade might work this time, but again, I always suggest a clean install.

M.Rommerts
12th June 2005, 07:39 PM
Hi there,

On my Fedora Core 3 system I installed a lot of other sotware, wich is from autopackage and rpm and also ohter places then the usual Fedora and Fedora-Extra´s mirrors. As a result are some programs also broken, and I like to clean up my system with a fresh install of Fedora Core 4.

But how do I migrate all the settings in my accouts, including mail etc. etc.??

pabc
12th June 2005, 07:46 PM
you can put the fc4 cd's and then choose the upgrade, or you can use the yum to upgrade online.

Yum to upgrade from FC3 to FC4 - please elaborate. I thought It was just for packages in repos?

If I can go from FC3 to 4 without burning ISOs I'd be much more inclined to do it.

P

tejas
12th June 2005, 09:27 PM
But how do I migrate all the settings in my accouts, including mail etc. etc.??
go to your home directory, and do:
l. (ell dot)
or
ls .*

see all the hidden folders. These contain your personal data like email accounts, etc... Keep a copy of this folder, and copy back appropriately one-by-one when needed.

Ex: some mail settings in
~/.thunderbird/...

when you install thunderbird in FC4, copy the thunderbird folder

this is the advantage of having no 'windows' registry. It is one of the three UNIX principles (I think it is 3): All settings are stored in a text file

-Tejas Dinkar

d3matt
15th June 2005, 02:09 PM
Yum to upgrade from FC3 to FC4 - please elaborate. I thought It was just for packages in repos?

If I can go from FC3 to 4 without burning ISOs I'd be much more inclined to do it.

P


http://www.brandonhutchinson.com/Upgrading_Red_Hat_Linux_with_yum.html

I did all the steps over ssh with no problems... never had to hook up the monitor and keyboard. :D

you may also want to read

http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/YumUpgradeFaq

Matt

Clunixchit
15th June 2005, 02:24 PM
you can put the fc4 cd's and then choose the upgrade, or you can use the yum to upgrade online.

can i do that without booting ? i mean on the desktop ?
i know mandrake can do it, just putting the cds and update

snoze
15th June 2005, 04:21 PM
read my whole jr to FC4 here

http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=59030

Kitahiroshima Instagram Photos - Korgan - Taquari