PDA

View Full Version : Freezes

GoLoGo
7th June 2005, 07:53 AM
I just installed Fedora Core 3 using the 4'cds. Everything Installed properly, then when the installation was complete I had to click on the last button, continue or next i think it was. After I pressed it it was suppost to load the login screen, but it just stayed grayish brown with the cursor in the middle of the screen and it froze. I restarted, everything loaded and it ran an integrity check because I didnt shutdown properly it said. So on the check everything passed except eth0 IP because I dont got network cable plugged and SMARTD.. or something. When it finished it just froze again... with the Fedora Core Logo and the integrity check window showing it finished, last thing said was STARTING HAL Daemon: [OK]. I tried restarting many times, but still freezes... im new to this, so I have no idea what to do, I tried doing a few things from other posts, but it didnt work. Any help is appreciated. :D

pembo13
7th June 2005, 01:20 PM
Start the machine, wait for the grub screen, when it gets there, press 'e' (i think) to edit. Edit the second line (this edit is temporary) to add a 3 to the end. Then press 'b' to boot. This will cause you to boot up without any pretty GUI, but that's ok. Hopefully things would have booted ok. If so, type and run the following command (assuming your network can be setup easily) `yum -y update`. This will update your entire system, but will take a great deal of time. Hopefully, you're just exeperiencing a problem that has already been fixed.

OR you could just wait one more week for FC4 to come out, and then download and install that.

roh
8th June 2005, 04:30 PM