PDA

View Full Version : Can't open the GUI "Security Level and Firewall"


Thomas80
13th May 2005, 04:23 PM
I wanted to modify the firewall settings, therefore I clicked on System-settings-->Security Level and Firewall.
But after typing the root password; nothing happens.


Then I opened bash shell and typed system-config-securitylevel
Again; after typing the root password no GUI appeared but I got this message on the bash-shell :
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/share/system-config-securitylevel/system-config-securitylevel.py", line 18, in ?
app.stand_alone()
File "/usr/share/system-config-securitylevel/securitylevel.py", line 453, in stand_alone
self.readFile()
File "/usr/share/system-config-securitylevel/securitylevel.py", line 353, in readFile
protoname = socket.getservbyport(int(service), protocol)
socket.error: port/proto not found


Anybody facing the same problem ?

Firewing1
14th June 2005, 03:54 AM
Hey,
I just did fresh install FC4. I have exact same prob. I have no idea how to fix it...
Firewing1

Firewing1
14th June 2005, 04:12 AM
GOT the fix!!! (or the cause, really...)
it's cause the new one is stupid and can't take any ports that don't have a name... EG:
port 139:tcp becomes recognized as
ms-netbois:tcp
so some ports that don't have a official name (eg, 8080) crash it b/c it wont find a name for it.
socket.error: port/proto not found is an error stating simply : The protocal for the port was not found
I'm gonna try installing the older version from FC3
Firewing1

Guwahati Photos on Instagram - Tol'yatti Travel Photos on Instagram - Albania -