PDA

View Full Version : File Execute permissions

sergeroz
1st March 2005, 01:06 PM
I'm new to Linux and I have a very strong Windows background.

My question is: what is the purpose and/or effectiveness of EXECUTE permission in Linux. As I understand it, if a LAN user has read access to a file (no execute) then couldn't he just copy the contents of that file into his home folder make this file executable and run it :confused: ? This would really defeat the purpose of this permission setting.

The way it works in NTFS is if you can Read a file, then you can Execute it. This makes more sense to me atm.

Please explain,

Thanks.

kosmosik
1st March 2005, 01:43 PM
My question is: what is the purpose and/or effectiveness of EXECUTE permission in Linux. As I understand it, if a LAN user has read access to a file (no execute) then couldn't he just copy the contents of that file into his home folder make this file executable and run it :confused: ?
yes but he could not have option to run anything from his home either (his home filesystem mounted with noexec option - so he can't exec anything from here)... it is easy to trick (f.e. use /tmp dir if not secured). also exec permission can be set on directory:

reading directory means when you give specific path f.e. "/some/dir/file" than you can read this file from this directory. executing directory means listing its content...

The way it works in NTFS is if you can Read a file, then you can Execute it. This makes more sense to me atm.
you can make Linux filesystem more like NTFS by using extended attributes aka ACL (access control list).

sergeroz
1st March 2005, 02:05 PM
it is easy to trick (f.e. use /tmp dir if not secured)

So basically, is it not very safe to rely on restricting execution of files, unless you can deny execute permissions everywhere else on the system (so that you can't just copy file contents)? Is that effective at all in practice ?