PDA

View Full Version : FC2 Questions (Newbie)


TalonLM
7th June 2004, 11:22 AM
Just installed FC2 and I have a couple of questions.

Is it me or does Fedora seem slow on the internet? Seems there are large delays compared to the same sites while on XP. Is it just me? Is there a way to speed this up? I'm on a Cable modem.

Also, I noticed I can't watch videos or anything. I tried to download realplayer plugin for Mozilla (succesful), but now I have NOOOO idea how to install it. Is there a good site on these type of newbie issues? Thanks.

genci
7th June 2004, 11:29 AM
Originally posted by TalonLM
Also, I noticed I can't watch videos or anything. I tried to download realplayer plugin for Mozilla (succesful), but now I have NOOOO idea how to install it. Is there a good site on these type of newbie issues? Thanks.
You can find heaps of how-to's and user tips at FedoraNEWS (http://fedoranews.org/) - check out the articles, they are very well written :)

Information on installing the realplayer plugin can be found here (http://plugindoc.mozdev.org/en-AU/linux.html#RealPlayer)

TalonLM
7th June 2004, 12:06 PM
Thanks a mil!

Daverz
7th June 2004, 05:03 PM
For video, I suggest downloading and installing the yum package from

http://freshrpms.net

Install the package from the command-line as root

rpm -Uhv yum*rpm

(Yum already comes with FC2; basically this just the easiest way to add the freshrpms repository to your yum config. If you want to do this by hand, follow the directions at freshrpms.net).

Then you can use yum to install mplayer:

yum install mplayer

You probably also want the mozplugger package.

For the Real* stuff, you may want to try the new alpha:

https://player.helixcommunity.org/2004/downloads/

TalonLM
1st July 2004, 04:14 PM
Ok...I'm trying to follow these directions
here. (http://howtos.linux.com/howtos/Fedora-Multimedia-Installation-HOWTO/x46.shtml)

But as soon as I try to edit this file (/etc/sysconfig/rhn/sources) it won't let because I'm not the "owner" and it's read only. I've tried logging in as Admin, admin, Administrator, etc.. but it doesn't let me. What am I missing?

ilja
1st July 2004, 06:51 PM
the name Administrator comes from Windows (eeeek) forget it. In linux it's called root. Normally you works as user and only become root, when it is needed (e.g. to change a file). To become root in a console use this command :

su -

so now you can type the name of a programm or command and it will start as root. (Be aware of deleting too much).
And only a few people now use up2date , most use yum or apt and for it : http://fedorafaq.org/#installsoftware has a better instruction. So try it our.

For you internet problem:
use this 2 commands as root:

echo "alias net-pf-10 off" >> /etc/modprobe.conf
echo "alias ipv6 off" >> /etc/modprobe.conf

see: http://www.redhat.com/archives/fedora-test-list/2004-March/msg00310.html

Prague Travel Photos - Solomon Islands Instagram Photos - Fiji Travel Photos on Instagram -