PDA

View Full Version : Resolve issues with ATI FC2 driver workaround and video playback

Antioch
6th June 2004, 12:08 PM
Ok. This is my first time posting a guide, but I thought I might post my solution to the problem up here so other people can get it fixed too!

Basically the problem us ATI users are having with FC2 is that we have no xorg drivers, just XFree, and we have to do some driver patching to get around this and all seems great. Ofcourse, give it some time and you notice that these patches dont create 100% complete drivers. The problem: the patching has some problems with xv video output for media players. So we can either uninstall our 3d acceleration drivers and get media playback, or we can keep 3d acceleration but lose media playback. Sucks.

Anyways, I got everything working and here is how I did it:::

Like most of you, once I installed my ATI drivers and fireg up Mplayer I saw a black screen, but heard music. So, all I did was right click on mplayer, go to preferences, click the "video" tab, select "x11" and press ok. Doing this enables video playback (atleast for me it did). That was great, but after a few minutes I realized it wasn't good enough. If you try to switch to fullscreen you'll encounter some difficulties. The window will go to fullscreen, but the video will stay at the same size, leaving you with a whole bunch of black space. Not what we want.

So, after more poking around I thought about trying VIDIX drivers for ATI. After I got them working I was able to watch videos and resize them. Here's what I did.

1. Uninstall mplayer (if you have it currently installed), including mplayer-fonts.

2. Go to http://luna.cs.ccsu.edu/dominik/apt/fc1/RPMS.testing/ and download the following rpms:
mplayer-common-1.0pre4-4.i386.rpm
mplayer-gui-1.0pre4-4.i386.rpm
mplayer-skin-default
lame-libs-3.96-1.i386.rpm-1.0-2.noarch.rpm
mplayer-vidix-1.0pre4-4.i386.rpm
mplayer-vidix-ATI-Radeon-1.0pre4-4.i386.rpm

3. Install (g)mplayer: