PDA

View Full Version : java

LackeyLad
7th December 2004, 11:53 PM
im trying to run and compile java programs on my machine

im new to running java on linux so i need eveything.

1. what software must i download to do this
2. is any of it yumable?

mugga
8th December 2004, 12:14 AM
All you need is the Java SDK (Software Development Kit) and your fav text editor.
Although, NetBeans is a pretty good IDE.

You can download the Java 1.5 SDK by its self - about 50Mb,
or you can download the Java 1.5 SDK bundled with NetBeans - about 100Mb

http://java.sun.com/j2se/1.5.0/download.jsp

Have fun!

LackeyLad
8th December 2004, 12:23 AM
awsome, downloading now.

tis a bin file, how to i install from bin?

imdeemvp
8th December 2004, 12:26 AM
open termanil and become root and type: sh pacakage_name.bin

mugga
8th December 2004, 12:27 AM
When you have it, just dot slash it :-)

./java2-whatever-its-called.bin

You may need to set it's perms to Execute.

LackeyLad
8th December 2004, 12:31 AM
[root@localhost erich]# ./jdk-1_5_0-nb-4_0-beta2-bin-linux.bin
bash: ./jdk-1_5_0-nb-4_0-beta2-bin-linux.bin: Permission denied
[root@localhost erich]#

how do i set to execute?

mugga
8th December 2004, 12:37 AM
You need to change the permissions of the file so that it is executable :-)

chmod 755 jdk-1_5_0-nb-4_0-beta2-bin-linux.bin
./jdk-1_5_0-nb-4_0-beta2-bin-linux.bin

LackeyLad
8th December 2004, 03:33 AM
installed, what are the command to compile and excute a java program?

crackers
8th December 2004, 04:27 AM
Read the Java Tutorial (http://java.sun.com/docs/books/tutorial/index.html) - you have a lot of learning to do. You have just entered the realm where very few are going to walk you, step by step, through the whole process.

lech
8th December 2004, 09:42 PM
Hi,