PDA

View Full Version : unable to mount dvd


Lewish
24th May 2012, 07:48 PM
I have read all the threads on this problem. Mine seems to be very different.
Under F16, my fstab looks like this:

/dev/mapper/vg_biglew-lv_root / ext4 defaults 1 1
UUID=5d31d39b-fbe6-4f07-bcab-bbbf45ececed /boot ext4 defaults 1 2
/dev/mapper/vg_biglew-lv_home /home ext4 defaults 1 2
/dev/mapper/vg_biglew-lv_swap swap swap defaults 0 0
/dev/sr0 /media/dvd udf,iso9660 user,noauto,rw 00

The disk utility app says that the dvd is sr0. There is a directory under media "dvd".
When I attempt to mount, it says it mounted, but there are no files listed in the directory.

Any ideas?

Also, what is the "mapper" that is listed under dev?

Thanks.

stevea
24th May 2012, 09:05 PM
'mapper' is used for the block layer devices (LVM and software RAID). It may also be used for loop devices. Not important here.

Your fstab is missing a space between 00.
/dev/sr0 /media/dvd udf,iso9660 user,noauto,rw 00
should be two lines
/dev/sr0<space>/media/dvd<space>ufs,iso9660<space>user,noauto,rw<space>0<space>0


so the question is - IS the device mount ?
grep sr0 /proc/mounts
That gives the kernel's idea of what is mounted.

Post the output if it's unclear.

Lewish
24th May 2012, 09:38 PM
OK, I am confused.
You said it should be two lines but wrote it as one. What did you mean?

I had ufd and you put in ufs. Which is correct?

grep sr0 /proc/mounts did not return anything. Any idea as to why?


Thanks.

Gareth Jones
25th May 2012, 12:43 AM
udf is correct, and "two lines" I assume was a mistake; stevea presumably meant "two columns".

However, /etc/fstab is probably the wrong way to go about this in F16. /media is a tmpfs (unless you've changed this) so the mount-point /media/dvd will disappear on next boot – for persistent mount-points, use /mnt instead of /media. Also, if you're running one of the normal desktop environments, inserting an optical disc should cause a mount-point to automatically be created in /media and the disc to be automatically mounted, without any lines being added to /etc/fstab.

Lewish
25th May 2012, 01:52 AM
Well, I think we are making progress. Changed fstab to /mnt/dvd. Created /dvd under mnt.

executed mount dvd and got this message - -

mount: block device /dev/sr0 is write-protected, mounting read-only.

OK, that seems fine, but when I go to the dvd directory and do an ls, the directory is blank (empty).

More ideas needed.

Thanks.

Gareth Jones
25th May 2012, 05:05 PM
What does "mount | grep sr0" say?

Lewish
25th May 2012, 05:52 PM
Strangely, grep won't return anything. I can't figure out if something is missing, or it is putting its output someplace else.

Any ideas?

Gareth Jones
25th May 2012, 07:02 PM
That suggests that the DVD isn't mounted.

Try "sudo mount /dev/sr0 /mnt/dvd -o ro" – also change "rw" to "ro" in /etc/fstab.

Lewish
25th May 2012, 08:06 PM
I get the same message back that I show in the above box, and still have an empty directory.

---------- Post added at 12:06 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:54 AM ----------

Update - - after trying the above, tried to umount and got a message that the dvd was not mounted.
So, I am getting conflicting messages.

Any thoughts, anyone?

Gareth Jones
25th May 2012, 09:42 PM
It's not mounted. Is there anything in /var/log/messages relating to the optical drive or mounting/unmounting file-systems?

Lewish
26th May 2012, 12:00 AM
There are 3 message files there, but I can't figure out how to view them. Gedit doesn't show their contents.

Suggestions?

Gareth Jones
26th May 2012, 12:29 AM
You only need the one without a number after its name – those are archived old versions. For security reasons, only root can read the logs. The easiest thing to do is to grab a snap-shot of it to you home directory:
sudo cp /var/log/messages ~/messages.txt
sudo chown your_user_name: ~/messages.txt
Then use ~/messages.txt instead.

Lewish
26th May 2012, 02:36 AM
OK, there are several messages about sr0.
1. sr0: rw=0, want=3801436, limit=2097151
ISOFS: unable to read i-node block
attempt to access beyond end of device

Nine of these messages.

2. UDF-fs: warning (device sr0): udf_load_vrs: No VRS found
UDF-fs: warning (device sr0): udf_fill_super: No partition found (1)

This message occurs twice.

What are your thoughts?

Thanks,

Lewish
27th May 2012, 12:50 AM
Hi kshahzad,

Did this also happen to you only after the latest software updates?

george_toolan
28th May 2012, 10:00 AM
Please be more specific. What exactly is the problem?

With Fedora 16 you usually just insert a dvd and it should be automagically mounted.

But I've noticed this doesn't work anymore if gnome-shell crashed and you manually have to restart it.

Have you tried to reboot?

Do you really need this udf crap? Do you even have any udf discs? All my dvds are iso9660 ;-)

Try

mkdir /mnt/dvd
mount -r -t iso9660 /dev/sr0 /mnt/dvd
ls -l /mnt/dvd

Check /var/log/messages if there are any problems.

Gareth Jones
28th May 2012, 04:57 PM
OK, there are several messages about sr0.
1. sr0: rw=0, want=3801436, limit=2097151
ISOFS: unable to read i-node block
attempt to access beyond end of device

Nine of these messages.

2. UDF-fs: warning (device sr0): udf_load_vrs: No VRS found
UDF-fs: warning (device sr0): udf_fill_super: No partition found (1)

This message occurs twice.

That indicates a broken disc normally. Is this a disc you burned yourself? Does it work on other machines? Do other DVDs give the same errors on the F16 machine?

Over here, a straight "mount /dev/sr0 /mnt/tmpmnt" (in run-level 3 text-mode, all mount parameters automatic) gives the warning about only mounting read-only, but successfully mounts nonetheless. /var/log/messages contains only:
May 28 16:44:50 gareth-desktop kernel: [ 6330.658522] UDF-fs: Partition marked readonly; forcing readonly mount
May 28 16:44:50 gareth-desktop kernel: [ 6330.691888] UDF-fs: INFO Mounting volume 'BLACK_BOOKS', timestamp 2006/02/27 11:14 (1000)

Lewish
22nd June 2012, 01:51 AM
OK, problem solved. Got frustrated and went and did what I needed to do by using Windoze 7 under VMWare.

Took out the udf stuff, and now it will mount using the "mount" command in a terminal window. It still won't auto-mount.


Thanks for all of the help.


Lewis

jpollard
22nd June 2012, 02:05 AM
Sounds almost like a blank disk...

Instagram Europe | America Instagram Photos | Asia Travel Photos on Instagram