PDA

View Full Version : Interesting ethernet naming in F17


DBelton
10th May 2012, 07:29 PM
I just installed F17 from the TC3 dvd a few days ago, and I noticed something odd in the ethernet adapter naming in F17.

This was a fresh install, completely wiping the drive before installing, etc... But it had F16 on it prior and F16 named the ethernet adapter em1

After install F17, I noticed that it now names the ethernet adapter em13

I thought that the new naming was supposed have consistent naming. There were absolutely no hardware changes between the F16 install and the F17 install, so what happened? :confused:

sonoran
11th May 2012, 12:35 AM
I'll go you 3 better - my device name was "em16" for a week or so. Thinking to bypass that I added "biosdevname=0" to GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX in /etc/default/grub and ran grub2-mkconfig, which produced some interesting effects:

1) eth0 is back as my connection name, the intended result, but also...

2) my grub2 menu was completely redesigned, new font, new layout. Okay, but...

3) I now get a "file not found" error message, "press any key to continue" which disappears of its own volition after about 5 seconds, and the gdm login appears. Except when it doesn't and the machine reboots.

And there are now 3 penguin icons in a row across the top of the screen. Cool.

I vaguely recall that disabling biosdevname also requires changing something in the network startup scripts, which could account for the error message. But I've decided to leave things as they are for the moment, making this a sort of game: will Fedora boot, or will it refuse and spit me back out to the grub legacy menu? Maybe this is a new feature - a Fedora locus poenitentiae?

nonamedotc
11th May 2012, 03:04 AM
That's quite interesting. In my laptop, it shows up as eth0. I have not changed anything. This was installed using TC2 and updated regularly. Here are the relevant portions


ifconfig
eth0: flags=4099<UP,BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
ether xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx txqueuelen 1000 (Ethernet)
RX packets 0 bytes 0 (0.0 B)
RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
TX packets 0 bytes 0 (0.0 B)
TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0
device interrupt 20 memory 0xfc000000-fc020000

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING> mtu 16436
inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 255.0.0.0
inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128 scopeid 0x10<host>
loop txqueuelen 0 (Local Loopback)
RX packets 109 bytes 21159 (20.6 KiB)
RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
TX packets 109 bytes 21159 (20.6 KiB)
TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0

wlan0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
inet 192.168.1.24 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.1.255
inet6 fe80::226:c6ff:fe4b:6cc4 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x20<link>
ether xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx txqueuelen 1000 (Ethernet)
RX packets 897 bytes 594273 (580.3 KiB)
RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
TX packets 754 bytes 116547 (113.8 KiB)
TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0

When I was running F16, it was eth0 as well. However, in my other laptop, F16 shows em1. I have not yet installed F17 on that. Are there any configuration entries that affect these? What causes them to be different in different hardware?

Mister B
11th May 2012, 03:59 AM
I think this is due to Fedora moving to Consistent Network Device Naming (https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Features/ConsistentNetworkDeviceNaming). It looks like it was a feature of F15, but maybe it's part of a wider rollout now.

DBelton
11th May 2012, 08:32 AM
I'll go you 3 better - my device name was "em16" for a week or so. Thinking to bypass that I added "biosdevname=0" to GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX in /etc/default/grub and ran grub2-mkconfig, which produced some interesting effects:

1) eth0 is back as my connection name, the intended result, but also...

2) my grub2 menu was completely redesigned, new font, new layout. Okay, but...

3) I now get a "file not found" error message, "press any key to continue" which disappears of its own volition after about 5 seconds, and the gdm login appears. Except when it doesn't and the machine reboots.

And there are now 3 penguin icons in a row across the top of the screen. Cool.

I vaguely recall that disabling biosdevname also requires changing something in the network startup scripts, which could account for the error message. But I've decided to leave things as they are for the moment, making this a sort of game: will Fedora boot, or will it refuse and spit me back out to the grub legacy menu? Maybe this is a new feature - a Fedora locus poenitentiae?


Yea.. The updated grub2 is supposed to have a nice theme, but it doesn't work on my machine here. No theme, and It just sets the video mode to one my monitor doesn't support and I get a nice "Input not supported" message on my monitor until the video driver resets the mode.

I had to go in and force it to a mode that my monitor supports. But I do get those cool penguins as well :)

Cumana Photos on Instagram - Marib - Poole Travel Photos