PDA

View Full Version : F16 no wired network connection


pordan30
6th December 2011, 02:52 PM
I have Fedora 16 running from a thumbdrive (created using the tools provided on Fedora's website). I'm having trouble getting the wired connection working on the computer I intend to use the LiveUSB to boot from. I have tried setting up a wired connection manually, but haven't had any luck. A previous installation to hard disk of Fedora 14 on the compute had no trouble with the wired connection. Windows also runs on the computer and has no problem with the wired connection. I'm unsure what the problem is, and would appreciate any help.

edit: The problem must relate to running Fedora 16 from a USB drive, and not be related to hardware issues. I think this is the case because the wired network runs fine on the target computer when installed to a local disk "out of the box." Second, both the wireless and wired connection don't work when a computer with an installation of Fedora 16 with working wired and wireless network connections are booted from the USB drive.

ifconfig -a

em1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:17:31:8A:CB:7E
inet addr:192.168.1.2 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::217:31ff:fe8a:cb7e/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:134 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:145 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:11423 (11.1 KiB) TX bytes:13042 (12.7 KiB)
Interrupt:18

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:47 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:47 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:4562 (4.4 KiB) TX bytes:4562 (4.4 KiB)

lspci -nn
...
06:0c.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Marvell Technology Group Ltd. 88E8001 Gigabit Ethernet Controller [11ab:4320] (rev 13)

cat /etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf
[main]
plugins=ifcfg-rh
no-auto-default=00:17:31:8a:cb:7e,

sea
6th December 2011, 03:47 PM
Try running:
ip addr
Unlike ifconfig, this lists wlan (for me at least)
Ifconfig lists only already set up connections, afaik.

Afterwards, you could enter:
# ifconfig WLAN0 up
# dhclient WLAN0
Where as WLAN0 is the label of your wlan connection.

Eerg.. wrong read.. no wireless, but wired...

Well em1 is your wired connection, try:
# ifconfig em1 up
# dhclient em1
# indicates that it should be ran as root.

Hope this helps.

RHamel
6th December 2011, 07:39 PM
It looks like em1 is up. What is in your /etc/resolv.conf file?

Excess Club - Jabi Lake Travel Photos - Hart Plaza