PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] yum update error


raviainani
23rd May 2011, 06:19 AM
hi all,

hope this is the right section for my problem :) if not please excuse me for this.... i am facing yum update error for past few days and i did a little googling but couldn't find the best way to do it. livna repo was giving me error firat so i disabled it by editing the .repo file but now when i do yum update following is the output

[root@ravi ravi]# yum update
Loaded plugins: langpacks, presto, refresh-packagekit
Could not retrieve mirrorlist http://mirrors.rpmfusion.org/mirrorlist?repo=free-fedora-16&arch=i386 error was
14: curl#6 - "Couldn't resolve host"
updates/metalink | 19 kB 00:01
Could not parse metalink https://mirrors.fedoraproject.org/metalink?repo=updates-released-f16&arch=i386 error was
No repomd file
Error: Cannot retrieve repository metadata (repomd.xml) for repository: rpmfusion-free. Please verify its path and try again

NOTE: - i have even tried yum clean all and then yum update / yum update --disablerepo=livna but till now no luck.... i am running FEDORA 15

thanks in advance
ravi

leigh123linux
23rd May 2011, 06:39 AM
Moved to Rawhide (http://forums.fedoraforum.org/forumdisplay.php?f=74)

i am running FEDORA 15

You have F16 rawhide now.



Could not parse metalink https://mirrors.fedoraproject.org/metalink?repo=updates-released-f16&arch=i386 error was There aren't any F16 repo's only development aka rawhide.

JohnVV
23rd May 2011, 09:19 AM
--disablerepo=livna
seeing as that repo no longer exists WHY is it installed
it is dead .

Rawhide is THE NEXT version - right now fedora 16 and seeing as there are NO FEDORA 16 rpm's ....

do not use "rawhide"

turn it OFF

then remove the old and dead livna.repo
make sure that fedora is ON
and updates is ON
and updates-testing is OFF!!!

then run

su -
yum clean all
rpm --rebuilddb
yum update

raviainani
23rd May 2011, 10:02 AM
seeing as that repo no longer exists WHY is it installed
it is dead .

Rawhide is THE NEXT version - right now fedora 16 and seeing as there are NO FEDORA 16 rpm's ....

do not use "rawhide"

turn it OFF

then remove the old and dead livna.repo
make sure that fedora is ON
and updates is ON
and updates-testing is OFF!!!

then run

su -
yum clean all
rpm --rebuilddb
yum update

hi john,

could you please explain how to turn off the repos... actually i'm a n00b...

thanks and regards
ravi

JohnVV
23rd May 2011, 06:42 PM
there is a gui and a text way

the text
open the files /etc/yum.repos.d /??????
and change the line "enable=1" to " enable=0 "


or undo in ?? KDE4 or Gnome or xfce, or what desktop
what you did to turn them on in the first place

then you might want to post the output of this command that lists every repo installed and if it is on or off


su -
yum repolist all


what should be "on" is
fedora
fedora-updates
-- optional but RECOMMENDED--
rpmfusion
or maybe
rpmforge ( this one is ? )

raviainani
24th May 2011, 02:05 AM
hi john,

thanks for the guide.... i'm using GNOME and following is the output of "yum repolist all"

[root@ravi ravi]# yum repolist all
Loaded plugins: langpacks, presto, refresh-packagekit
adobe-linux-i386 | 951 B 00:00
google-chrome | 951 B 00:00
google-chrome/primary | 1.5 kB 00:00
rawhide/metalink | 6.5 kB 00:00
rawhide | 3.8 kB 00:00
rawhide/primary_db | 11 MB 01:06
rpmfusion-free-rawhide | 3.3 kB 00:00
rpmfusion-nonfree-rawhide | 3.3 kB 00:00
updates/metalink | 19 kB 00:00
Could not parse metalink https://mirrors.fedoraproject.org/metalink?repo=updates-released-f16&arch=i386 error was
No repomd file
google-chrome 3/3
Error: File /var/cache/yum/i386/16/updates/metalink.xml does not exist

now i really don't know what should i do as i really can't see fedora and fedora-updates repo in the list :(

thanks for helping me out man!!

regards
ravi

JohnVV
24th May 2011, 02:38 AM
right know this is all from memory so the exact file names might be a bit different
--------------------------
at this point it might be easier to reformat and do a clean reinstall
some how you made a mess of things
-------------------------
so step 1
as in the above post #5
for EVERY AND ALL files that have "rawhide" in the name
as root change the 1 to a 0 in the line "enabled=1"
the files are in /etc/yum.repos.d

then READ the text in every file in the /etc/yum.repos.d folder and make sure that EVERY AND ALL that have the line pointing to fedora 16 are turned OFF

right now yum dose appear not to be working ( fixing the repo files MIGHT fix this ) this might be fixable ???

then clean the rpm and yum databases as in the above post


------------------
if that dose not do it you will need to MANUALLY reinstall the correct fedora 15 repo files to replace the fedora 16 files that are installed

but the easiest thing might to reinstall fedora 15

fixing this mess might not be easy for a "new to linux " person to do .

raviainani
24th May 2011, 03:09 AM
hey john,

followed your instructions... and after yum update following is the output

[root@ravi ravi]# yum update
Loaded plugins: langpacks, presto, refresh-packagekit
adobe-linux-i386 | 951 B 00:00
adobe-linux-i386/primary | 12 kB 00:00
fedora/metalink | 19 kB 00:02
Could not parse metalink https://mirrors.fedoraproject.org/metalink?repo=fedora-16&arch=i386 error was
No repomd file
google-chrome | 951 B 00:00
google-chrome/primary | 1.5 kB 00:00
Could not retrieve mirrorlist http://mirrors.rpmfusion.org/mirrorlist?repo=free-fedora-16&arch=i386 error was
14: curl#6 - "Couldn't resolve host"
Could not retrieve mirrorlist http://mirrors.rpmfusion.org/mirrorlist?repo=free-fedora-updates-released-16&arch=i386 error was
14: curl#6 - "Couldn't resolve host"
Could not retrieve mirrorlist http://mirrors.rpmfusion.org/mirrorlist?repo=free-fedora-updates-testing-16&arch=i386 error was
14: curl#6 - "Couldn't resolve host"
Could not retrieve mirrorlist http://mirrors.rpmfusion.org/mirrorlist?repo=nonfree-fedora-16&arch=i386 error was
14: curl#6 - "Couldn't resolve host"
Could not retrieve mirrorlist http://mirrors.rpmfusion.org/mirrorlist?repo=nonfree-fedora-updates-released-16&arch=i386 error was
14: curl#6 - "Couldn't resolve host"
Could not retrieve mirrorlist http://mirrors.rpmfusion.org/mirrorlist?repo=nonfree-fedora-updates-testing-16&arch=i386 error was
14: curl#6 - "Couldn't resolve host"
updates/metalink | 19 kB 00:01
Could not parse metalink https://mirrors.fedoraproject.org/metalink?repo=updates-released-f16&arch=i386 error was
No repomd file
updates-testing/metalink | 19 kB 00:01
Could not parse metalink https://mirrors.fedoraproject.org/metalink?repo=updates-testing-f16&arch=i386 error was
No repomd file
adobe-linux-i386 18/18
Error: Cannot retrieve repository metadata (repomd.xml) for repository: fedora. Please verify its path and try again

thanks again for your time.....

regards
ravi

JamesK
24th May 2011, 03:20 AM
extract this file and replace however you see fit:

raviainani
24th May 2011, 04:14 AM
hi JamesK,

thanks.. i followed your instruction and after replacing your files and doing yum update this is what i got... :(

[root@ravi ravi]# yum update
Loaded plugins: langpacks, presto, refresh-packagekit
fedora/metalink | 19 kB 00:00
Could not parse metalink https://mirrors.fedoraproject.org/metalink?repo=fedora-16&arch=i386 error was
No repomd file
updates/metalink | 19 kB 00:00
Could not parse metalink https://mirrors.fedoraproject.org/metalink?repo=updates-released-f16&arch=i386 error was
No repomd file
Error: Cannot retrieve repository metadata (repomd.xml) for repository: fedora. Please verify its path and try again

regards
ravi

JohnVV
24th May 2011, 04:49 AM
you might ant to reinstall with a NEW iso
if you are intent on using the not 100% done fedora 15 then here is the Rc3
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=262864
burn a new dvd and do a clean install

rc3 should auto update to the official release

JamesK
24th May 2011, 09:15 AM
after replacing your files with mine you may need to do this:
yum clean all
yum makecache
yum distribution-synchronization

this will downgrade the files from rawhide to the latest released, etc..

JohnVV , that was taken down yesterday in prep for the final release today..

raviainani
25th May 2011, 12:50 AM
@ JamesK: Tried your way... gave errors again and again....

@JohnVV: i really don't want to do a clean install again. is there any other way out.... maybe i can download the final release and do upgrade. will it solve the problem??

kindly help me out...

thanks
ravi

glennzo
25th May 2011, 01:11 AM
What about the fedora-release file?
[glenn@phenom15 ~>$ cat /etc/fedora-release
Fedora release 15 (Lovelock)
[glenn@phenom15 ~>$ cat /etc/redhat-release
Fedora release 15 (Lovelock)

raviainani, what is the result of the above commands on your system? If it doesn't show Fedora 15 but shows rawhide all the fiddling in the world isn't going to help. Can we delete that file and install the proper file using rpm? For example
rpm -ivh http://mirror.pnl.gov/fedora/linux//releases/15/Fedora/i386/os/Packages/fedora-release-15-1.noarch.rpm

raviainani
25th May 2011, 02:02 AM
hi glenzo,

i got th output as Rawhide not fedora 15..

could you please explain how can i delete this file. i know i have to run the code "rpm -ivh ....." in terminal as root but i just want to ask how do i delete the existing file (rawhide)...

thanks a lot for help
ravi

tox
25th May 2011, 02:49 AM
the problem might be that you have far to many fc16 rpms even if you remove the rawhide repo and enable the F15 one. . best way is to findout how many FC16 rpms you have installed now before you do that.

raviainani
25th May 2011, 03:44 AM
the problem might be that you have far to many fc16 rpms even if you remove the rawhide repo and enable the F15 one. . best way is to findout how many FC16 rpms you have installed now before you do that.

hi detox,

how can i find out this one... is it going through all the repo files or is there any command which can help me...

thanks
ravi

tox
25th May 2011, 03:47 AM
ok do this in Terminal

rpm -qa|grep fc16

raviainani
25th May 2011, 05:02 AM
hi detox,

the output looks like a nightmare :( everything is f16.....

can anyone pls help me.... :confused:

thanks
ravi

JohnVV
25th May 2011, 05:06 AM
everything is f16.....

reinstall is the only option at this point

it is near imposable to fix ( what we call) a Frankensteined install

put it this way 30 min to reinstall
5 more to 15 more days to "fix" and even then no guaranties.

tox
25th May 2011, 05:18 AM
reinstall from the DvD and dont tick the rawhide repo during install, just leave it as it is and once installed then remove/install stuff you dont want.

JamesK
26th May 2011, 02:50 AM
it's just a text file all you have to do is edit the file (as root) to say "Fedora release 15 (Lovelock)" instead or just extract and replace it with this one..

raviainani
26th May 2011, 03:45 PM
hi JamesK,

thanks a lot dear... but i just did a fresh install of f15... final release.....

but now the problems are gone.... thanks a lot to all for your kind help

regards
ravi

Taixing - Kholmskiy Travel Photos on Instagram - Radlin Travel Photos