PDA

View Full Version : Best Laptop for FC2


Bradlis7
25th May 2004, 06:56 PM
I am considering buying a new laptop, but I want to install Fedora Core 2 on it. I found this one that's nice and it's from a company that I like, the computer is: here (http://www.internetishop.com/product_detail.asp?main_cat_no=LT&sub_cat_no=01&item=755XPC24H). If you think this one is good, or have a better idea, please tell me. I want to spend between $800 and $1200 if possible. I'd like to have my screen size more than 1024x768 if possible, but that's a fine screen size if that's the best choice. I don't really want windows pre-installed, but it's fine. Thanks for the help.

micha
25th May 2004, 07:51 PM
I got a Dell Inspiron 8600 and Fedora Core 1/2 works great on it.
You have to take a laptop with a Pentium M, it lasts up to 6h.

cgriffin
25th May 2004, 09:49 PM
IMHO, Dells have good Linux support. I have had 2 Dells that worked very well.

Check out these sites for user contributed info on installing Linux on various laptops:

http://linux-on-laptops.com/

http://www.tuxmobile.com

stanmuffin
28th May 2004, 03:18 PM
My HP Pavilion ze4240 (XP1800+) took a fair bit of tweaking to run well in FC1, but runs fine straight out of the box in FC2. Even the PowerNow! works.

The only thing I don't get is hardware 3D (not that this $800-a-year-ago machine has spectacular 3D graphics anyhow :)

coyote4til7
28th May 2004, 04:06 PM
I've been playing with Core 2 Final on a thinkpad T23. Other than the fact I didn't realize one of the partitions was used for suspend and nuked it, it works well if a little slow.

JonR
28th May 2004, 04:20 PM
The thought of a brand new laptop to run Fedora on makes me feel kinda giddy!

Not sure if it's any help but I've installed FC1 on three laptops successfully:
Tosh Tecra 8000 (old but reliable)
IBM Thinkpad 600e (ditto)
Tosh Sat 3000-514
No real probs with any of them but I had to opt for a standard 1024x768 notebook screen on all three as FC1 didn't recognise the hardware.

shifty
28th May 2004, 06:34 PM
I've run Fedora 1/2 on my IBM T20 with no problems. Still dealing with trying to get a wifi card that recognized out of box, hmmph... maybe I'll just wait for MadWifi to go from beta to a real product.

fedora_sachinvk
30th May 2004, 08:52 AM
IBM G40 FC2 is great combination.
Excepts max resolution for i810 is still 1280x1024

LackeyLad
1st June 2004, 07:55 AM
I run a dell inspiron too, awsome for FC2. Though the modem is crap.

You will most likely have to have a win installed system first, then rewrite or partition.

I hope to work towards landing linux run hardware in stores soemday, one of my career goals for after i graduate.

jrblevin
2nd June 2004, 08:55 AM
I'm running FC2 on my Vaio 505DX without any problems. I haven't tested the modem or firewire, but everything else is great, although sometimes with a little work. I have to install the ATI drivers for the Radeon Mobile and the ipw2100 drivers for the wireless. Other than that it is pretty painless.

Thetargos
3rd June 2004, 09:29 PM
I've installed successfully FC1 onto a Compaq Presario 1211LA laptop. The installation was tricky because the system would hang at install time when detecting HW, and it turned out to be the USB bus, so I had to pass the boot parameter to not detect the USB bus (it was solved with a 2.6 kernel, though). Only problem in this PC is that it only has 128 Mb of RAM, so I may consider installing XFCE on it (to keep the GNOME look) to reduce the resource consuption. I haven't tried FC2 on it, because I fear the poor thing will be incapable of running it...

nothingface
3rd June 2004, 10:01 PM
I've run redhat6.2 -> FC2 on an ibm thinkpad T21 (my trusty company steed) and all have worked with no problem.

Elfod
4th June 2004, 01:16 AM
I've got FC2 running on a compaq (hp) nx9110. It's not officially supported but it runs like the clappers - nearly everything work but to be honest I haven't paid any attention to the wireless or bluetooth yet. Had to hack around with X to get the 1280x800 resolution working, but after a bit of digging it worked very easilly.

Only major ommission is 3d, but I haven't had time to look into mesa yet - gotta get tuxracer working!

I've also got vmware running win2k (I have to in order to run Lotus Notes 6.5 and the test server builds) which runs very quickly and extremely stably.

Laptop specs are P4 3.2Ghz (desktop chip tho so power consumption sucks - 1 hr battery life), 2 Gb RAM, radeon 9000 IGP GPU (128 Mb RAM), 60G HD and 80.11a/g/bluetooth. Costs just under a grand (sterling) +VAT. Only downsides are it's massive and heavy - P4 cooling, 4Kg! - and the 1hr battery life. However it's very, very fast.

ewdi
4th June 2004, 01:55 AM
linux on thinkpad is the best i guess

andre@home
4th June 2004, 09:06 AM
what is the defenition of "working good"... as i read several remarks of that but.. modem not working, etcetera....
in my humble opinioin that is NOK. For the best impression there should be a list of what is working..... and how the installation went
lets give it a try:

system Asus L3800C, 1.8GHz, 512MB, 40GB with FC-2
- basic installation smooth
- Snd OK, alsa mixer some trouble, fixed by using Kmix
- modem: not direct, just after some searching and trying how to make slmr work
- netwerk card: ok
- ir not tested
- CD- music Ok
- CD-RW not tested yet
- ACPI: not working out of the box.
standby works but on wake up of X complete crash
- office applications seem ok
- special buttons 1-2-3-4-5 (from L -->R ) only power works...
- USB memory stick not tested yet
- firewire: have no apparatus for that
- printer: OK
- external modem: 1x ok on serial port (hardware modem...).
- USB mouse OK (even in starting mode..)
- other mouse on keyboar: OK (even in starting mode..)
- screen: 32 bits, highest colour, 1400x1050 perfect stable
- stability: quite ok (except ACPI)
- Video and voice over Gnomemeeting or GAIM: OK
I will try to update when more info i available.

Anyway: now you can choose for your self what is important or not to have or what you can mis.

Thetargos
4th June 2004, 06:46 PM
I'll follow that:

Compaq 1211LA: Athlon4 800Mhz; 128 Mb RAM; 20 Gb HDD; FC1

Installation: I had to disable the USB port. In order to get it back I had to install a 2.6 kernel with updated UHCI VIA drivers.
Sound just fine using ALSA.
Network: This computer has a conexant combo of NIC/Modem, the modem works through the linuxant driver just fine and the NIC has a rather odd behaviour with using the Tulip driver: It fails to use full 100T base speed if it generates the connection call.
Touchpad (synaptics) does not recognize tap-click.
Display: TFT @ 1024x768x32 OK, currently there are no working 3D drivers for the integrated Rage Mobility included with this computer.
USB printing OK, paralell printing OK.
ACPI and CPU scaling OK (using the CPUFREQ initscript and daemon).

mike
4th June 2004, 07:03 PM
Avoid the Toshiba M30-350. A great laptop at a good price, but took me a week to get it working with FC2. Lots of kernel and X hacking to get it usable.

Mike

Baz
9th June 2004, 03:33 PM
I have a Dell C610 with 1.2ghz p3, 256mb ram, build in modem and sound. Everything works for me w/o any special configuration. Red Hat listed this laptop as completely supported in version 8 or 9 and it seems to have persisted.

Carver
14th June 2004, 02:49 AM
FC2 is running great on my DELL Inspiron 5100. More info at: http://bellsouthpwp.net/c/a/carverr

Carver

dnar
14th June 2004, 03:03 AM
FC2 on HP ZE4201 2.0Ghz Celeron, 512MB, 30GB, ATI M340, DVD, no problems at all. 3d acceleration is possible following threads on this forum. Synaptics touch pad - check, DVD - check, USB - check, LAN - check, Audio - check, Suspend - NO!. Very happy.

coyote4til7
14th June 2004, 03:03 AM
Works great with a little suspend-related futzing.

k4dgw
15th June 2004, 05:09 PM
I have a Linux Certified Computer. It is available with many different OS's. Sometimes you can find some great deals there.

http://www.linuxcertified.com/

I saw this site earlier today and it looked VERY interesting.
http://elementcomputer.com/

Dave

peterskm
8th July 2004, 05:52 AM
I have a Compaq 2100Z that has been running Core 2 for a couple of months now. It runs fine after I solved the problems mentioned below. The only problem is with 3d graphics (read other ATI problem threads). PowerNow was detected/setup during install.


Synaptics touchpad worked after install, but tap-to-click and scroll features didn't. I fixed this by adding "psmouse.proto=imps" in my boot sequence (/etc/grub.conf).
My wireless card Netgear 511 needed the Prism54 (http://www.prism54.org) drivers.


System Specs:
AMD Athlon XP-M 2600+
1Gb PC2700 DDR
60Gb Hard Drive
DVD/CDRW Combo Drive
15" SXGA
ATI Mobility Radeon

nick
22nd July 2004, 11:34 PM
Installed and running Fedora FC2 on a

Mitac 8375 (http://www.search4hardware.com/5/p_5_874_MiTAC_MiNote_8375.html)

aka
Xterasys CX-8375
similar to
Acer Aspire 1310 Series
Acer Aspire 1312LC
and others.

The mitac company manufaturers basic notebooks for other companies which configure the rest of it and brand it.

The data:

MiTAC MiNote 8375:
CPU Mobile AMD Athlon XP 35/45W Processors with OPGA, 462 Socket,
Support up to Mobile AMD 45W 2200+ and future 45W product Mobile AMD Athlon 4 35W Processors 1.1/1.2/1.3/1.4 GHz Mobile AMD Duron 900/950/1000/1100/1200/1300 MHz FSB 200/266 MHz Core Logic -

VIA KN266+VT8235 L2 Cache - 256/64KB OD System BIOS Insyde 256 KB Flash EPROM (Include System BIOS and VGA BIOS) ACPI 1.0b; DMI 2.3.1 compliant Plug & Play capability

Memory Expandable up to 1024MB Expandable with combination of optional 128/256/512 MB memory 200-pin DDR 266 DRAM Memory Module x2,
PC-2100 specification ROM Drive 12.7mm Height 24X CD ROM Drive 8X DVD ROM Drive 8X8x24 CD-RW or above 16X10X8X24 Combo or above HDD 2.5" 9.5 mm height: 20/30/40 GB;

Support Ultra DMA 66/100 Changeable for Distributor FDD Support External FDD w/z USB I/F;

"XGA TFT Display; Resolution: 1024x768 15กจ XGA/ SXGA+ TFT Display;

Resolution: 1024X768 /1400x1050 Video Controller S3 Savage8 GFX Integrate in KN266 Chipset

Support Multi Monitor Support AGP 4X Sharing System Memory 16/32 MB (BIOS Setup; 32MB Default)



I think, notebooks similar to that, should have no problem to run FC2, too.

:)

Viro
23rd July 2004, 12:08 AM
I'm using an Acer Aspire 1502LMi which are fairly cheap these days for what they provide

Athlon64 3200+ processor
1024 GB PC2700 RAM
60 GB Hitachi 7200 rpm drive
DVD+/-RW drive
Gigabit Ethernet
Bluetooth
Wireless LAN
ATI Radeon 9600
Memory card reader
Firewire
15" 1400x1050 TFT screen

Well worth the money if you ask me. Just had to mess about with the sound card settings, install the ATI drivers and play around with the modem drivers.

robopera
27th July 2004, 11:35 AM
I have a Toshiba Satellite 1415-S105 and it loves Fedora Core. It has an Nvidia Geforce 4 card that FC2 picked right up and recognized with no hitches. Wireless on this laptop was a snap as well. All in all, a great Linux laptop. I've successfully ran Red Hat 8, 9, FC1, FC2, Mandrake, Slackware, Arch, Gentoo, and FreeBSD on this laptop. Toshiba makes some of the best laptops out there. Very robust and very worth the money.

ulrich
29th July 2004, 01:10 AM
Elfod can you please post your X config file, I also have a nx9110 but failed to get any resolution working.

I've got FC2 running on a compaq (hp) nx9110. It's not officially supported but it runs like the clappers - nearly everything work but to be honest I haven't paid any attention to the wireless or bluetooth yet. Had to hack around with X to get the 1280x800 resolution working, but after a bit of digging it worked very easilly.

Only major ommission is 3d, but I haven't had time to look into mesa yet - gotta get tuxracer working!

I've also got vmware running win2k (I have to in order to run Lotus Notes 6.5 and the test server builds) which runs very quickly and extremely stably.

Laptop specs are P4 3.2Ghz (desktop chip tho so power consumption sucks - 1 hr battery life), 2 Gb RAM, radeon 9000 IGP GPU (128 Mb RAM), 60G HD and 80.11a/g/bluetooth. Costs just under a grand (sterling) +VAT. Only downsides are it's massive and heavy - P4 cooling, 4Kg! - and the 1hr battery life. However it's very, very fast.

cghubbell
29th July 2004, 02:01 PM
Works great with a little suspend-related futzing.

OOH! Do tell what futzing was required! I've got a T23 which I haven't been successful with suspend on yet...

imdeemvp
29th July 2004, 02:47 PM
found this article on a dell: http://librenix.com/?inode=4084

mikeyman
3rd August 2004, 03:54 PM
Dell D600 FC2 (also tried Debian, Mandrake, Mepis). All works well. Internal Winmodem was not tested. I used driverloader to get the broadcomm based TM1300 wifi card to work.

Nebuchadneza
9th August 2004, 04:46 PM
I've got an Inspiron 8600 running with FC1, (updated to Kernel 2.6.7) and it works very good.
But i've not tested the modem and suspend stuff. Everything else works quite fine.
The notebook came with a ATI Mobility 8600 which also works great, but needs a little patching for Fedora.

Digital Out works with the new kernel and alsa, but is a little scretchy. I ddid not have the time yet to take a look at this problem closely.

Nebu

andre@home
10th August 2004, 11:11 AM
I've got an Inspiron 8600 running with FC1, (updated to Kernel 2.6.7) and it works very good.
But i've not tested the modem and suspend stuff. Everything else works quite fine.
The notebook came with a ATI Mobility 8600 which also works great, but needs a little patching for Fedora.

Digital Out works with the new kernel and alsa, but is a little scretchy. I ddid not have the time yet to take a look at this problem closely.

NebuI humbly would like to comment that "very good" is a litte too much when you did not test the modem and the suspending .. as that migth just be the things that you would like to have working on a laptop..... unless yuou only use it as an alternative destop pc, so on ASDL or cable and using a current adapter continuously (110V-240V ~ depending upon where you live).
As other people may use it as buying info....

daveabides
20th September 2004, 04:53 PM
I have a Dell Latitude c610.
With Core 2, I just cannot get the eth0 to run
It is a 3c920. Which is supposed to run with the 3c90x driver.
I found a thing that said turn Kudzu off, that didn't to it. Help!

imdeemvp
20th September 2004, 07:12 PM
i purchase a compaq presarion 2103
amd athlon xp-m 2800+
ati mobile
256ram + i added 256 more
30gb hd
cd-burner/dvd

installation went well...:D

sayeeth
20th September 2004, 07:21 PM
Is there such a thing as a Best Laptop?Even so Best Laptop for FC2? Hmmmm....weird. Oh by the way imdeemvp, mind selling me your laptop? hehe :D

imdeemvp
21st September 2004, 04:51 AM
sayeeth,

no there is no such best laptop for fc2.....i just invent them.

btw....laptop not for sale :D and you can always get on one ebay.

zest
25th September 2004, 01:23 PM
I've instaleed Fedora on Toshiba Satelite 2410 s203 and it's grate!

sayeeth
25th September 2004, 01:38 PM
sayeeth,

no there is no such best laptop for fc2.....i just invent them.

btw....laptop not for sale :D and you can always get on one ebay.

haha ok I know. Hey what happened to your reputation? :confused:

shangyung
17th December 2004, 03:16 AM
I have installed FC2 and FC3 on IBM ThinkPad T23 and T41. No problem at all.

jpp-zoso
22nd December 2004, 02:59 AM
My Dell Inspiron 8000 (currently running Fedora Core 3, Xandros OCE & v3.0, SuSE 9.2, and Linspire) is on its last legs I believe...it apparently knows better than I do when it should be shut off, and hasn't been shy about letting me know it.

I've looked at the Dell Inspiron 9200 and XPS line since I've had good success w/ the 8000, but also keeping my options open. Really need a multi-media PC...standard notebook specs won't cut it for me.

Wondering if anyone has had any linux experience (Fedora or otherwise) with any of the following:

#1. LinuxCertified LC2430D (http://www.linuxcertified.com/linux-laptop-lc2430d.html) or LC2530 (http://www.linuxcertified.com/linux-laptop-lc2500.html)
#2. Sony Vaio A-Series (VGN-A2xx) (ttp://www.sonystyle.com/is-bin/INTERSHOP.enfinity/eCS/Store/en/-/USD/SY_BrowseCatalog-Start?CategoryName=cpu_VAIONotebookComputers_A_Ser ies&Dept=cpu_VAIONotebookComputers)
#3. Toshiba Qosmio (http://www.toshibadirect.com/td/b2c/cfam.to?seg=HHO&coid=-28283&sel=0&rcid=-26367&ccid=1291021)

Obviously the LinuxCertified would be more attractive for the simple fact they don't include the windoze tax or other software I'd never use on it, but never dealt w/ LinuxCertified before, nor seen many reviews of their reputation, service, quality, and product support.

Thanks in advance for any feedback.

buenoad
27th December 2004, 01:36 AM
I have problens in instalation a FC3
in a COMPAQ Presario 2700 (PIII 700MHz).
All instalation is ok (using: linux acpi=off resolution=800x600), but the system no start??
The boot loader, grub, not advance from stage 2!!

imdeemvp
27th December 2004, 02:30 AM
Try to remove it acpi=off and the resolution and give another try.

i1n2d3y4
27th December 2004, 02:41 AM
I am using a HP pavilion ZT3000, used to have FC2 on it (since re-installed with FC3), never had any problem, all of hardware was working (except for the built in SD card drive).

egr
27th December 2004, 03:14 AM
****! I don't have a laptop, does anyone know where I can buy a laptop without Windows? I don't want to pay for it.

Algernon
28th December 2004, 02:41 PM
****! I don't have a laptop, does anyone know where I can buy a laptop without Windows? I don't want to pay for it.

This was nice...while it was available
Lindows + Laptop from WalMart (http://www.walmart.com/catalog/product.gsp?product_id=3504708&cat=179113&type=19&dept=3944)
$498

-M

jpp-zoso
28th December 2004, 11:59 PM
I don't have a laptop, does anyone know where I can buy a laptop without Windows? I don't want to pay for it.


Linux Certified Laptops (http://www.linuxcertified.com/linux_laptops.html)

headclark
1st January 2005, 06:38 PM
I am running on a Dell Latitude D800. Works great with out having to tweak the kernel.