PDA

View Full Version : problem with the hash matching

ejames82
9th May 2010, 06:05 AM
i've heard alot of good things about fedora. it's hard not to notice that it's one of the most popular distros around. i'd sure like to see why so many people like it.
i tried to download an iso for fedora 12 and get the hash to match and they wouldn't (the hash was a little difficult to find as well). i went to fedoraproject and the hash wasn't available with the iso. i'm kinda new to this procedure, but i've been able to make it work a few times for other distros.
i'm sure you guys here know exactly which iso and hash to use and could point me in the right direction. i just want the regular desktop version for 32 bit.
there's probably something i am doing wrong. it would be good to have someone say "hey, you have to do this instead of this".
thanks.

CSchwangler
9th May 2010, 08:51 AM
Here's the official download site. If you click on "Download Now!", it downloads the default desktop edition (Gnome) liveCD. If you click on the link "Verify your download"

https://fedoraproject.org/en/verify

and then on the link for Live Media i386

https://fedoraproject.org/static/checksums/Fedora-12-i686-Live-CHECKSUM

it will open the checksum for your download. Hope this was clear enough.

smr54
9th May 2010, 12:15 PM
The SHA1 SUM in big letters is for the gpg signing. The hashes are actually sha256. Run sha256sum against the download, not sha1sum.

This is fixed, by the way, in F13, there is a message that the checksums for the isos are sha256.

CiaW
9th May 2010, 06:04 PM
I also just discovered a nice gui app called gtkHash that will calculate different varieties of hash against a downloaded iso for you. I downloaded the F13 live cd and looked at the -checksum but forgot the syntax to calculate the various hash types, and kept getting 'command not found'.

Then I found this package, very helpful.

ejames82
9th May 2010, 07:01 PM
CSchwangler,