PDA

View Full Version : Just came back and I'm already peeved!

Mikecore
20th February 2010, 06:30 PM
I just erased a long rant about the dev's and making **** hard to use ( nvidia driver ) but it really don't matter! Ubuntu/Debian is always gonna kick fedora rear because of these type of policies. Ya know I been using linux as my only OS since 2003, I know what I'm doing its not like i'm a noob, the dev's here have always had this attitude with certain things, it really stupid! the only thing stupider is me for even bothering.

Dan
20th February 2010, 06:41 PM
(Moved to Reviews, Rants & Things That Make You Scream)

dmyersturnbull
20th February 2010, 06:58 PM
dev's here have always had this attitude with certain things, it really stupid!

No, itís not stupid; itís policy. Not including proprietary software 1) protects users, 2) protects Fedora and RedHat, and 3) makes a statement about the feasibility of an open‐source world.

Ubuntu/Debian is always gonna kick fedora rear

Thatís a moronic attitude. And alsoÖ Debian?!!
Debian refused to package Firefox because Firefox supported installing proprietary extensions. Debian has always been far harsher about its open‐source policy.

I consider Fedoraís policy an advantage. If you donít, youíre free to switch distros.

Dan
20th February 2010, 07:03 PM
Folks ... the guy is already obviously having a bad enough day without calling him or his attitude moronic.

Fedora is a good fit for some, but not for others. It is also an evolving target. Give MINT a try. A lot of folks who have difficulties with fedora find some comfort there.

Dies
20th February 2010, 08:36 PM
Debian refused to package Firefox because Firefox supported installing proprietary extensions. Debian has always been far harsher about its open‐source policy.