PDA

View Full Version : kernel panic with last kernel


chepioq
7th February 2010, 07:41 PM
To day there is an update for kernel (kernel-2.6.33-0.40.rc7.git0.fc13.x86_64).
When I try rebooting with this kernel I have a kernel-panic...
Have you same issue?

Here the message I see on my screen:
Kernel panic-not syncing:VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknow-block(0,0)

karo1170
7th February 2010, 09:08 PM
Same here.

I changed the kernel-bootoption root=UUID=... to root=/dev/sd..... and it worked.


Cordialement
karo

SlowJet
7th February 2010, 10:23 PM
To day there is an update for kernel (kernel-2.6.33-0.40.rc7.git0.fc13.x86_64).
When I try rebooting with this kernel I have a kernel-panic...
Have you same issue?

Here the message I see on my screen:

My kerenel update has had an rpm error ever since grub2 got installed and created a couple of lines at the end of grub.conf. I don't know it that is the real cause but will next kerenel as I deleted those 2 lines.

Anyway, the kernel has allways installed ok exxxxxcept the today's .40.rc7

I have /dev/mapper (so no uuid or dev/sd)
The initramfs was created.

Checking the grub.conf - TA-DA
no initrd line for the new kerenl 40.rc7

copy/paste the prev kernel line and change the nembers. rebooted ok into 40.rc7.

This came from yum update and most of the time I do rpm -ivh
and coincidentally, rpm updates was updated before the kernel.

So if it works next time I will not know if it was the grub lines or the need for the old/new rpm?
Any ideas on that? Is the new rpm used during the same yum for the next packages?

Other than that just some some ibus deps missing --skip-broken

Until next time,

SJ

leigh123linux
7th February 2010, 10:54 PM
My kerenel update has had an rpm error ever since grub2 got installed and created a couple of lines at the end of grub.conf. I don't know it that is the real cause but will next kerenel as I deleted those 2 lines.

Anyway, the kernel has allways installed ok exxxxxcept the today's .40.rc7

I have /dev/mapper (so no uuid or dev/sd)
The initramfs was created.

Checking the grub.conf - TA-DA
no initrd line for the new kerenl 40.rc7

copy/paste the prev kernel line and change the nembers. rebooted ok into 40.rc7.

This came from yum update and most of the time I do rpm -ivh
and coincidentally, rpm updates was updated before the kernel.

So if it works next time I will not know if it was the grub lines or the need for the old/new rpm?
Any ideas on that? Is the new rpm used during the same yum for the next packages?

Other than that just some some ibus deps missing --skip-broken

Until next time,

SJ


I had the same error, did you get a grubby update today?


[root@localhost leigh]# cat /var/log/yum.log |grep grubby
Feb 06 16:59:30 Updated: grubby-7.0.10-1.fc13.x86_64
[root@localhost leigh]# cat /var/log/yum.log |grep kernel
Jan 09 08:39:02 Installed: kernel-devel-2.6.32.2-18.fc13.x86_64
Jan 09 09:12:10 Updated: kernel-headers-2.6.32.2-18.fc13.x86_64
Jan 09 09:14:18 Installed: kernel-2.6.32.2-18.fc13.x86_64
Jan 09 09:19:18 Erased: kernel-firmware
Jan 17 11:05:02 Updated: kernel-headers-2.6.32.3-21.fc13.x86_64
Jan 17 11:10:46 Installed: kernel-devel-2.6.32.3-21.fc13.x86_64
Jan 17 11:12:28 Installed: kernel-2.6.32.3-21.fc13.x86_64
Jan 17 14:16:14 Installed: kernel-2.6.33-0.14.rc4.git3.fc13.x86_64
Jan 17 14:16:17 Updated: kernel-headers-2.6.33-0.14.rc4.git3.fc13.x86_64
Jan 23 12:20:40 Updated: abrt-addon-kerneloops-1.0.4-1.fc13.x86_64
Jan 23 13:40:11 Installed: kernel-devel-2.6.33-0.20.rc5.git0.fc13.x86_64
Jan 23 13:40:15 Updated: kernel-headers-2.6.33-0.20.rc5.git0.fc13.x86_64
Jan 23 13:41:53 Installed: kernel-2.6.33-0.20.rc5.git0.fc13.x86_64
Jan 27 20:43:58 Installed: kernel-devel-2.6.33-0.23.rc5.git1.fc13.x86_64
Jan 27 20:44:06 Updated: kernel-headers-2.6.33-0.23.rc5.git1.fc13.x86_64
Jan 27 20:46:43 Installed: kernel-2.6.33-0.23.rc5.git1.fc13.x86_64
Jan 28 20:33:11 Installed: kernel-devel-2.6.33-0.24.rc5.git1.fc13.x86_64
Jan 28 20:33:15 Updated: kernel-headers-2.6.33-0.24.rc5.git1.fc13.x86_64
Jan 28 20:34:58 Installed: kernel-2.6.33-0.24.rc5.git1.fc13.x86_64
Jan 30 05:37:53 Installed: kernel-devel-2.6.33-0.25.rc6.git0.fc13.x86_64
Jan 30 05:37:59 Updated: kernel-headers-2.6.33-0.25.rc6.git0.fc13.x86_64
Jan 30 05:39:45 Installed: kernel-2.6.33-0.25.rc6.git0.fc13.x86_64
Feb 02 13:19:05 Updated: kernel-headers-2.6.33-0.26.rc6.git1.fc13.x86_64
Feb 02 13:20:05 Installed: kernel-devel-2.6.33-0.26.rc6.git1.fc13.x86_64
Feb 02 13:21:55 Installed: kernel-2.6.33-0.26.rc6.git1.fc13.x86_64
Feb 05 11:45:20 Updated: abrt-addon-kerneloops-1.0.6-1.fc13.x86_64
Feb 05 11:47:30 Updated: kernel-headers-2.6.33-0.27.rc6.git1.fc13.x86_64
Feb 05 11:50:43 Installed: kernel-devel-2.6.33-0.27.rc6.git1.fc13.x86_64
Feb 05 11:52:36 Installed: kernel-2.6.33-0.27.rc6.git1.fc13.x86_64
Feb 07 11:25:34 Updated: kernel-headers-2.6.33-0.40.rc7.git0.fc13.x86_64
Feb 07 11:26:09 Installed: kernel-devel-2.6.33-0.40.rc7.git0.fc13.x86_64
Feb 07 11:26:28 Installed: kernel-2.6.33-0.40.rc7.git0.fc13.x86_64
[root@localhost leigh]#

SlowJet
7th February 2010, 10:59 PM
NO I did not, I have
grubby-7.0.10-1 thogh
and that is the current one from the 5th.


Does a new rpm package get used right away by yum?

SJ

leigh123linux
7th February 2010, 11:05 PM
NO I did not, I have
grubby-7.0.10-1 thogh
and that is the current one from the 5th.


Does a new rpm package get used right away by yum?

SJ


It depends where you point your rawhide repo to ;) , it normally takes about a day.

SlowJet
7th February 2010, 11:12 PM
lol, I only have one rahide.repo,
I meant during the yum process when an new rpm package is updated before the kernel, for example, does yum use the new rpm version for the kernel package or continue using the old rpm version.

SJ

leigh123linux
7th February 2010, 11:16 PM
NO I did not, I have
grubby-7.0.10-1 thogh
and that is the current one from the 5th.


Does a new rpm package get used right away by yum?

SJ


Ok, I have found the relevant Br:

https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=562514

leigh123linux
7th February 2010, 11:18 PM
lol, I only have one rahide.repo,
I meant during the yum process when an new rpm package is updated before the kernel, for example, does yum use the new rpm version for the kernel package or continue using the old rpm version.

SJ

I believe it uses the new rpm.

SlowJet
8th February 2010, 12:12 AM
Thank you,

SJ

---------- Post added at 03:12 PM CST ---------- Previous post was at 02:25 PM CST ----------

I updated to the new e2fsprogs and got another %post error so something is buggy with rpm or ?
idconfg error 1

SJ

chepioq
8th February 2010, 05:56 AM
I have the grubby-7.0.10-1.fc13.x86_64 installed and the initramfs-2.6.33-0.40.rc7.git0.fc13.x86_64.img is in my /boot.
I replace in my grub.conf root=UUID=... to root=/dev/sd and that work.

==EDIT==
with root=/dev/sd... plymouth don't work...

STEVE555
8th February 2010, 12:29 PM
Hi guys,
I've just ran a yum update this morning and I got the latest kernel as well.
I also got the same kernel panic message as well,but I still have ordinary grub 1.

I've tried to see root=UUID in my grub.conf,but I can't se it anywhere in there.
I'll attach my grub.conf for you guys to have a look,or have a suggestion to my problem.

Regards,
STEVE555

leigh123linux
8th February 2010, 12:36 PM
Hi guys,
I've just ran a yum update this morning and I got the latest kernel as well.
I also got the same kernel panic message as well,but I still have ordinary grub 1.

I've tried to see root=UUID in my grub.conf,but I can't se it anywhere in there.
I'll attach my grub.conf for you guys to have a look,or have a suggestion to my problem.

Regards,
STEVE555

Add the missing red line.




# grub.conf generated by anaconda
#
# Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
# NOTICE: You have a /boot partition. This means that
# all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /boot/, eg.
# root (hd0,1)
# kernel /vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/mapper/vg_mernivia-lv_root
# initrd /initrd-version.img
#boot=/dev/sda
default=0
timeout=15
splashimage=(hd0,1)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
hiddenmenu
title Fedora (2.6.33-0.40.rc7.git0.fc13.i686)
root (hd0,1)
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.33-0.40.rc7.git0.fc13.i686 ro root=/dev/mapper/vg_mernivia-lv_root rhgb quiet LANG=en_US.UTF-8 SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16 KEYBOARDTYPE=pc KEYTABLE=uk rd_plytheme=charge
initrd /initramfs-2.6.33-0.40.rc7.git0.fc13.i686.img
title Fedora (2.6.33-0.27.rc6.git1.fc13.i686)
root (hd0,1)
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.33-0.27.rc6.git1.fc13.i686 ro root=/dev/mapper/vg_mernivia-lv_root rhgb quiet LANG=en_US.UTF-8 SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16 KEYBOARDTYPE=pc KEYTABLE=uk rd_plytheme=charge
initrd /initramfs-2.6.33-0.27.rc6.git1.fc13.i686.img
title Fedora (2.6.33-0.26.rc6.git1.fc13.i686)
root (hd0,1)
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.33-0.26.rc6.git1.fc13.i686 ro root=/dev/mapper/vg_mernivia-lv_root rhgb quiet LANG=en_US.UTF-8 SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16 KEYBOARDTYPE=pc KEYTABLE=uk rd_plytheme=charge
initrd /initramfs-2.6.33-0.26.rc6.git1.fc13.i686.img
title Fedora (2.6.31-rc8)
root (hd0,1)
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.31-rc8 ro root=/dev/mapper/vg_mernivia-lv_root rhgb quiet LANG=en_US.UTF-8 SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16 KEYBOARDTYPE=pc KEYTABLE=uk rd_plytheme=charge
initrd /initrd-2.6.31-rc8.img
title Other
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
chainloader +1

STEVE555
8th February 2010, 12:42 PM
Hi Leigh123linux,
I'm sorry about that,I couldn't see where it was missing.I've added the missing line.
thanks for that.

Regards,
STEVE555

chepioq
10th February 2010, 08:51 AM
Hi
After the update off grubby two days ago, I do a test:
I remove kernel-2.6.33-0.40.rc7.git0.fc13 and re-install it, and after I have no problem with the grub.conf root=UUID=....
Just one problem:
In my grub.conf I have this line:
initrd /boot/initramfs-2.6.33-0.40.rc7.git0.fc13.x86_64.img
and with this line kernel don't boot...
I replace by:
initrd /initramfs-2.6.33-0.40.rc7.git0.fc13.x86_64.img
and that work

leigh123linux
10th February 2010, 09:41 AM
Hi
After the update off grubby two days ago, I do a test:
I remove kernel-2.6.33-0.40.rc7.git0.fc13 and re-install it, and after I have no problem with the grub.conf root=UUID=....
Just one problem:
In my grub.conf I have this line:
initrd /boot/initramfs-2.6.33-0.40.rc7.git0.fc13.x86_64.imgand with this line kernel don't boot...
I replace by:
]initrd /initramfs-2.6.33-0.40.rc7.git0.fc13.x86_64.img[/COLOR]and that work


If you have a separate /boot partition you omit the /boot from the initrd line.

chepioq
10th February 2010, 12:48 PM
I have a separate /boot partition, but with the other kernel there is no problem with installation , just with 2.6.33-0.40.rc7.git0. there is "initrd /boot/initramfs",
Is it a bug in the update? (before installing 2.6.33-0.40.rc7 I try the 2.6.33-0.36.rc7 for same result.)

Papantla de Olarte - Saidpur - Prey Veng