PDA

View Full Version : Anyone else having problems booting FC2?

Georgez
4th October 2004, 10:09 AM
I'm a Linux newbie and have spent some disheartening time overcoming a number of issues (hardware & bugs) to finally get FC2 to install on my old Dell PentiumPro (64MB memory 9.1 G Seagate scsii drive). The install was on a completly clean system (formatted harddrive).

However after completing the install and rebooting... nothing. The bios installs then there is a single beep, a cursor and nothing...

I have looked for a similar issues but they all seem to relate to dual boot systems. I allowed the install to automatically set up the partitions.

Anyone got any ideas on how to fix this? :eek:

imdeemvp
4th October 2004, 10:32 AM
(64MB memory)
1. 64mb?...i believe you need more memory, where did you install the bootloader? MBR?

2. dual boot? xp? win 2k? you said it was installed in clean hard drive.

3. provide more pc specs.

owakroeger
4th October 2004, 10:34 AM
I would either boot to the rescue disk or the 1st install disk to see if the install actually loaded. Then try to troublshoot from there. When you installed it, did you choose grub or lilo? It may be that the mbr didn't get installed. That would be the first thing to boot after bios.
owa

Ug
4th October 2004, 10:59 AM
Taking a quick look at your PC specs, I get the feeling that your PC may not be able to run fedora in a graphical mode. The following is taken from the release notes (http://fedora.redhat.com/docs/release-notes/) for Fedora Core 2:CPU Requirements
This section lists the CPU specifications required by Fedora Core 2.

Note
The following CPU specifications are stated in terms of Intel processors. Other processors (notably, offerings from AMD, Cyrix, and VIA) that are compatible with and equivalent to the following Intel processors may also be used with Fedora Core.

Minimum: Pentium-class