PDA

View Full Version : LiveCD wireless works fine, installed not so much

cautionbug
7th April 2009, 01:15 AM
i can run the LiveCD just fine, and connect to my WLAN with no problem. Encouraged, i went to install to hdd. After reboot to said hdd, suddenly the wireless won't connect anymore.

i'm on a Gateway FX series notebook. During the LiveCD > hdd transfer, there have been a few hiccups, some nondescript warnings asking me to submit them to kerneloops.org, but installation continues, and there doesn't appear to be anything else broken after install.

i'm downloading the DVD now to see if i get any better luck there. i'm not an expert, but i can get around ok with clear instruction. i just wanted to take Fedora for a spin on my new lappy and see if a complete switch wouldn't leave me with such a bitter taste in my mouth as prior attempts on other machines (with Fedora, Suse, etc).

bsund
7th April 2009, 02:40 PM
Do you use intel wireless?

In that case, try a 'rmmod iwlagn' then a 'modprobe iwlagn' (if it doesn't work first time try again)

then it should work, a little bug with the beta, after a yum update (--skip-broken ofc this is rawhide ) it will work properly.. :)

cautionbug
8th April 2009, 03:46 AM
Thanks for the assist bsund.

Wireless is working. :D Yay.

However, i can't seem to get yum working because the LiveCD doesn't install any repositories. i attempted an install from DVD, but that installer requires a hard-line network connection.

Just can't seem to win. Any idea if final will detect/support WiFi installation?

In the mean time, where can i get the repos for yum?

cautionbug
8th April 2009, 04:28 AM
Scratch that, at least for now. Found the software updater/manager in the menu. D'oh.

cautionbug
24th May 2009, 08:40 AM
Sorry to revive this problem, but it has returned. i installed the preview of F11 from LiveCD (DVD still doesn't install clean on my laptop), and wireless will not connect.