PDA

View Full Version : Help! Wireless not working with F10 on my laptop!

adrian22
18th December 2008, 01:32 PM
I have an old IBM Thinkpad X31 and I decided to get rid of Windows for good. I currently have F9 on my desktop and it works perfectly, so I downloaded the DVD image for F10, burned it and installed it on my laptop. I formatted the whole hard drive and everything went smoothly. I connected through the ethernet cable perfectly. Then I tried to connect to my home wlan. I went to System>Preferences>Network Configuration>Wireless and added a configuration for my home network. Unlpugged the ethernet cable and rebooted. It didn't find my network, and I spent about an hour trying to solve it. Then I downloaded and installed WICD. It seemed like it was going to work because it found my network. I configured the encryption and tried to connect but SELinux was stopping it. I disabled SELinux and rebooted and it no longer finds my network.
I'm not a complete n00b but I'm not an expert either. I'm running out of ideas so any help will be much appreciated.
Thanks

Adrian

EDIT: After disabling SELinux and rebooting the led indicator light for the wireless card no longer lights up.

stoat
20th December 2008, 04:10 AM