PDA

View Full Version : No Ethernet in FC2, AMD64, MSI K8N Neo


mlmitton
10th August 2004, 08:16 PM
Hi all, I put together a new AMD64 system with an MSI K8N Neo Platinum motherboard. So far, it's running fine, except that I can't get the ethernet to work. I know the MB uses the nforce3 chipset, but I thought the 2.6 kernel would support this and that I wouldn't have a problem with the ethernet.

I've tried installing the nvidia nforce drivers, but both the .SRPM and the make/install from the .TAR quit with errors. But I'm not even sure, if I could get it to install, if this would solve the problem.

Also, I had a spare Linksys network card, so I tried popping that in, but that didn't work either. Kudzu recognized it, and I configured it, but when, in the boot process, it tries to bring up eth0, it fails, saying it can't find the IP address (which should be served via DHCP from my router.)

I'd be happy if either of these worked. I'm out of ideas--anyone else out there have suggestions?

imdeemvp
10th August 2004, 09:26 PM
i have a linksys on another pc and it is working find under mdk and fc2 if the one you have is integrated in the mobo go ahead and disable it

then insert the linksys pci one and power on you pc most likely it will be detected by kudzu and if it doesnt just continue and login and open terminal and issue this command: /sbin/lspci

you should see something like this:
imdeemvp@localhost imdeemvp]$ /sbin/lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8377 [KT400/KT600 AGP] Host Bridge (rev 80)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8237 PCI Bridge
00:0b.0 Multimedia audio controller: Ensoniq 5880 AudioPCI (rev 02)
00:0f.0 IDE interface: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C586A/B/VT82C686/A/B/VT823x/A/C PIPC Bus Master IDE (rev 06)
00:10.0 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 81)
00:10.1 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 81)
00:10.2 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 81)
00:10.3 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 81)
00:10.4 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. USB 2.0 (rev 86)
00:11.0 ISA bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8237 ISA bridge [K8T800 South]
00:12.0 Ethernet controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT6102 [Rhine-II] (rev 78)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon R200 QL [Radeon 8500 LE]
[imdeemvp@localhost imdeemvp]$

hope this helps :D

mlmitton
12th August 2004, 12:06 AM
OK, indeed, nforce3 motherboards are not supported by the kernel that comes with FC2 (or the most current kernel, as of this writing). You can add in a patch callled forcedeth which will add support. I didn't try doing that. Also, 2.6.8, which is currently in a release candidate so should be released soon (and hopefully packaged for easily installation into FC2!), will include the forcedeth driver, and so will support nforce3 mobos.

(I discovered that Nvidia does not open the source for its chipset drivers, so they've been back-engineered by the kernel maintainers. However, Nvidia has helped on removing bugs, adding support, on the back-engineered drivers!)

I have no idea why I couldn't get the Linksys NIC to work--it was recognized by Kudzu, and configured just fine. But, I was never able to get it to actually work. Anyway, I dropped a few bucks on a D-Link ethernet card, popped it in, and it worked no problem.

Cheers.

imdeemvp
12th August 2004, 03:11 AM
i have try to make a connection with the Linksys NIC? before you spend extra money...

triplehead
13th August 2004, 10:11 PM
on my shuttle SN85G4 and nforce3 integrated networkcard works just fine or is this just because i have older nforce3 (version 150 vs. 250)

edit: my lspci listing.

00:00.0 Host bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce3 Host Bridge (rev a4)
00:01.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce3 LPC Bridge (rev a6)
00:01.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation nForce3 SMBus (rev a4)
00:02.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation nForce3 USB 1.1 (rev a5)
00:02.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation nForce3 USB 1.1 (rev a5)
00:02.2 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation nForce3 USB 2.0 (rev a2)
00:05.0 Ethernet controller: nVidia Corporation nForce3 Ethernet (rev a5)
00:08.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation nForce3 IDE (rev a5)
00:0a.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce3 PCI Bridge (rev a2)
00:0b.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce3 AGP Bridge (rev a4)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 NorthBridge
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 NorthBridge
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 NorthBridge
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 NorthBridge
01:05.0 Multimedia audio controller: Creative Labs SB Live! EMU10k1 (rev 08)
01:05.1 Input device controller: Creative Labs SB Live! MIDI/Game Port (rev 08)
01:06.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): VIA Technologies, Inc. IEEE 1394 Host Controller ( rev 80)
01:07.0 RAID bus controller: Silicon Image, Inc. (formerly CMD Technology Inc) S ilicon Image Serial ATARaid Controller [ CMD/Sil 3512 ] (rev 01)
02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Matrox Graphics, Inc. MGA G400 AGP (rev 04)

StefSybo
15th August 2004, 06:43 PM
Nvidia has just released new nForce drivers for Linux (x86 and AMD64) and they should work with kernel 2.6, I think you should install those.
Kernel 2.6.8 also supports onchip ethernet for the nForce3 250 Gb chipset through the Forcedeth driver, so you can also install this kernel.

partthesea
23rd August 2004, 04:23 PM
I ran into this problem this weekend. I installed the latest drivers from nvidia for the nforce3 at http://www.nvidia.com/object/linux_nforce_amd64_1.0-0283.html. It works now. I hope this helps. I have a MSI K8N NEO Platinum.

parez81
2nd September 2004, 07:03 AM
hi!
i have emachines m6810 and 64 bit fedora.not being able tgo get my ethernet card running.it is not gettin any offers from dhcp server. works in windows.

parez
i have a linksys on another pc and it is working find under mdk and fc2 if the one you have is integrated in the mobo go ahead and disable it

then insert the linksys pci one and power on you pc most likely it will be detected by kudzu and if it doesnt just continue and login and open terminal and issue this command: /sbin/lspci

you should see something like this:
imdeemvp@localhost imdeemvp]$ /sbin/lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8377 [KT400/KT600 AGP] Host Bridge (rev 80)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8237 PCI Bridge
00:0b.0 Multimedia audio controller: Ensoniq 5880 AudioPCI (rev 02)
00:0f.0 IDE interface: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C586A/B/VT82C686/A/B/VT823x/A/C PIPC Bus Master IDE (rev 06)
00:10.0 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 81)
00:10.1 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 81)
00:10.2 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 81)
00:10.3 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 81)
00:10.4 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. USB 2.0 (rev 86)
00:11.0 ISA bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8237 ISA bridge [K8T800 South]
00:12.0 Ethernet controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT6102 [Rhine-II] (rev 78)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon R200 QL [Radeon 8500 LE]
[imdeemvp@localhost imdeemvp]$

hope this helps :D

HJHiaatje
13th September 2004, 07:07 AM
I also have the MSI K8N Neo motherboard.
The new driver of Nvidia works fine in Kernel 2.6.5. As long as you install the kernel source files too.
How ever i do not get the driver to work in kernel 2.6.8.

The sound driver however does not install correct in both kernels :(

fljmayer
16th September 2004, 09:08 PM
I have the same problem with an ASUS K8N-E Deluxe, nForce3 250 mainboard:
No sound or ethernet with FC2, even if I intstall the latest kernel 2.6.8 or the nVidia drivers.
I alred opened another thread for that.

Dog-One
21st September 2004, 01:33 AM
I have a MSI K8N Neo-FSR (nForce3 250 GB). Sound, network and SATA all work with kernel 2.6.8-1.521 x86_64. Modprobe.conf:

alias eth0 forcedeth
alias snd-card-0 snd-intel8x0
install snd-intel8x0 /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install snd-intel8x0 && /usr/sbin/alsactl restore >/dev/null 2>&1 || :
remove snd-intel8x0 { /usr/sbin/alsactl store >/dev/null 2>&1 || : ; }; /sbin/modprobe -r --ignore-remove snd-intel8x0
alias usb-controller ehci-hcd
alias usb-controller1 ohci-hcd
alias scsi_hostadapter sata_nv

HTH

vic78000
21st September 2004, 03:19 AM
I have the same motherboard. I can't get it to see my mouse (any), a usb keyboard or the ethernet.

HELP PLEASE PLEASE.

I messed arround a bit, but no progress.
But I do feel great that others have it working!!!!!!!


.V

Linuxer12345
25th September 2004, 12:54 PM
Try the 32 bit Fedora Core2. Ethernet does not work on my computer either if I use the 64 bit version.

triplehead
25th September 2004, 06:41 PM
Try the 32 bit Fedora Core2. Ethernet does not work on my computer either if I use the 64 bit version.

works fine with my shuttle and amd x86_64 and nvidia 3 mobo.

HJHiaatje
26th September 2004, 03:09 PM
I have a MSI K8N Neo-FSR (nForce3 250 GB). Sound, network and SATA all work with kernel 2.6.8-1.521 x86_64. Modprobe.conf:

alias eth0 forcedeth
alias snd-card-0 snd-intel8x0
install snd-intel8x0 /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install snd-intel8x0 && /usr/sbin/alsactl restore >/dev/null 2>&1 || :
remove snd-intel8x0 { /usr/sbin/alsactl store >/dev/null 2>&1 || : ; }; /sbin/modprobe -r --ignore-remove snd-intel8x0
alias usb-controller ehci-hcd
alias usb-controller1 ohci-hcd
alias scsi_hostadapter sata_nv

HTH

Thank you, I see you use the forcedeth drivers and not nVidia's own drivers.

Definitly gonna try this when i get my computer back.

Dog-One
4th October 2004, 03:35 AM
It seems to work fine for 100Mb. I can't verify if gigabit Ethernet works since this is the only such device on my LAN. If you make the jump to the latest kernel Ethernet will work, but you will have to make changes for your SATA drives to work, since they will need the SCSI emulated sata_nv module. Which means you'll have to build you a custom initrd.img file or you won't be able to boot to the SATA drives anymore. My advice is to INSTALL the new kernel, DO NOT UPDATE it. That way you have a fallback incase you miss something in the transition.

Grim!
5th February 2005, 10:03 PM
hi guys


i'm new to Linux

i have the k8n neo nforce3 (ms-7030)

and i neeed to know how to get them drivers in for Iinux Red Hat Professional workstation

and a read me on how to put them in


ty guys :)